We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. People are so friendly and helpful. Concierge arranged everything. Very convenient to airport. Walking path next to ocean and goes for 7 miles. Large kitchen that is well stocked with essential kitchen pots, pans and utensils

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodsterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our condo management company manages but I am glad to hear you found everything you needed for your stay on Kauai. The paved beachfront path you mention is definitely a great walk or bike ride to explore!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    288
    106
    49
    33
See reviews for
182
330
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary. We stayed through a vacation exchange. We knew we could not request a specific building and were pleased when we ended up on the ground floor of building D. I enjoyed being able to walk out of our room right to the beach. Loved the walking/biking path. We did find the staff very helpful and friendly. The unit may not have had the most up to date stuff and my husband stated larger TV in the bedroom would have been nice. But seriously we were in Hawaii!!!! We did not spend a lot of time in the room. One complaint would have been the people upstairs. I did see other reviews of creaking floors. I seriously doubt that it was the floors. It was definite stomping on the floor and pounding ....resembling two teenagers wrestling then running the length of the floor. It was early in the morning and late at night Which made it hard to get a good nights sleep at times. Nothing really the resort could do about it. Especially since we didn't want to loose our condo over it and have to switch.

There was a definite musty smell. The only suggestion we would have for improvement would be finding a way to resolve that. Not sure if upgrading the air conditioning unit would help but the musty did not go away all week but being right on the ocean may be the reason. There was no way to really cross ventilate the unit while we were gone during the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineHockeymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Pono Kai through our time share and like some others were a little concerned given the reviews, however the staff were very nice and accommodating. I apparently had booked an efficiency with a murphy bed which would not have fit my husband and I , but they upgraded our room to a queen 1 bedroom which was very comfortable, very clean. The grounds were well maintained and the trail by the beach was great to walk. We stayed in Kapaa as it was between the north and south shores and we figured that it would be nice to be in the middle. I would recommend staying closer to where you are doing most of your activities given there is only 1 road around the island the traffic can sometimes be crazy. and the drive north with all the 1 lane bridges was crazy and so it took a while to get to the beaches up north.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcraig32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 21 wedding anniversary at Pono Kai, August of 2013. I was a little concern when reading some of the reviews. However, we decided to take a risk and stay at the Pono Kai. The condo was in great condition, a little outdated, but overall very clean. The view from the balcony had a great view of the ocean.

I had one incident that almost ruined my vacation. We stayed in Building B on the 3rd floor in a two bedroom unit. The master bedroom floors squeaked really bad and was loud. We tried tip toeing because we didn't want to disturb the guest below. I tried to change rooms but the views wouldn't be the same. I decided to knock on our neighbors door and just apologize for the loud noise due to the floors squeaking. Thank goodness they were kind and understanding. They acknowledge the building being old and not to worry. They understood.
I was still considered and tip toed at night.

Other than that - - the location, shops, restaurants, and beaches were great. Please make sure you do the morning breakfast which helped plan our vacation. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: I would recommended building A or C. Great ocean view rooms. However, if you stay on the lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I found Pono Kai to be a well maintained, clean and updated resort. All of the staff were very kind and helpful and went out of their way to provide great customer service. The amenities were perfect and had a large variety of beach equipment to borrow or rent. I would stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our management company manages there, but happy to hear you had a great time! We hope to see you at the Pono Kai again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the Pono Kai for 3 weeks in August. It was great. I paid for a studio in my exchange and received a 1 bedroom upgrade free. I loved the location half way around the island. It was close to everything. Night life, shaved ice, shopping, restaurants, Hula Dance competition, bicycle trail. I got up early every morning to photograph the sunrise and the sunsets are beautiful as the sun lights up all the clouds pink and purple. The pool is 8 ft. deep at one end, deep enough to tread water. The gardens and Fish pond is breath taking. I grilled almost every day on their outdoor grills that are kept immaculately clean. I received a great massage from Kimo at a reasonable price. I was at home there and did not want to leave.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. I was in K building and off my patio was the beautiful fish pond I had the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
510 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have been coming here for years. The beachfront views are incredible- sunrise is gorgeous. The beach is pleasant with welcome shade. Swimming is fine, but there is no lifeguard. They have a pool, sauna, putting green and a helpful concierge. It is an easy walk to restaurants and even a Safeway. The location works well for us- we can get to the North Shore and the South Shore. The area is not as pretentious as Poipu and there still is some local charm. The units are clean and spacious and housekeeping was very helpful. The kitchens are well stocked- we even had a rice cooker.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing