We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pono Kai Resort
Nearby Hotels
$273
$249
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$249
Official Website
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$361
$329
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$209
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$544
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
233
344
125
54
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
344
125
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenputting greenocean frontwalking pathliving roomthe kitchenvacation internationaletennis courtsbuilding btimeshare exchangeevery other dayshuffle boardisland orientationkoi pondono family restauranttime sharewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 790 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

These condos are well priced, very clean and if you get an ocean front unit - Fantastic. Another great thing is they are centrally located 1/2 way between both the north and south shores of Kauai. We went with a group of 4 so we decided to be in 2 condos and spread out. The 2 bedroom units are quite spacious (1300 square feet or so?) and have 2 full bathrooms as well.
The ocean front units have stunning views and the property is smack in the middle of Kapaa. That means that within a block or two there are places to rent bikes, get a shave ice, restaurants, and a great selection of shops.
On the downside, although nothing is shabby looking -the units could all stand an update/remodel including new furniture and appliances. We were told they are remodeling the bathrooms and were working on bldg. J when we were there- yay! I'd love to see a washer and dryer in each unit as it would be wonderful if you did not have to go to the laundry room (in each building).
If you are looking for a luxury vacation rental - this place is not for you head to the Hyatt or the St Regis. For the rest of us this place is Great - the staff friendly and everything in the unit was in perfect working order. Oh and since they recently replaced all the mattresses - you get a wonderful nights sleep. Pono Kai is Safe, clean and comfortable and very well located :) Aloha

Room Tip: Ocean front - especially in bldg. D :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Pono Kai resort in Kapaa provides very nice and roomy condos with lots of amenities. I have stayed there twice in the last two years and had a wonderful experience each time. The only negative is that the wireless internet- -shakanet- -is beyond worthless. You can purchase by the day or spend $19.99 for a month. If you are lucky, you may get a connection once or twice a day. Expect to be disconnected after 30 minutes. In spite of this, the resort is amazing and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All condos have a balcony, but be sure to ask for one with an ocean view. The sunrise in Kauai is amazing!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family of four traveled to the Pono Kai in June of 2012 and loved our accommodations! We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom and the staff is very encouraging of giving suggestions for meals, trips and beaches to visit. We're already planning our 2014 trip to celebrate our sons graduation....can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: We stayed in building F...loved the views and close to the pool and ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spetzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We are owners at Pono Kai. Love it. We have been owners for 8 years. Not a new resort with Spa's and restaurants and bars but it is ours. Complete condo unit with fully stocked kitchen. Grills located throughout the property and a great pool and patio area.

The rooms are slowly being updated and a new management company has us excited for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LakersFan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been going to Kauai since the early 80s and have stayed on most parts of the island. Kapaa is our favorite place to stay because of its location; close to the airport and shopping, lots of restaurants, easy to get to the north or south shore beaches. We have stayed in various condos and hotels in Kapaa and Pono Kai is our favorite. It's a lovely resort with well-tended grounds, located right on the beach. All of the units we have stayed in have been really nice and well-maintained. Most units have at least a partial ocean view. The pool and spa are nice and there are barbecues, tennis courts, shuffleboard and other amenities. Highly recommended for couples or famiilies.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the vacation rentals we manage, but I glad you enjoyed the tropical grounds, great locations, and onsite amenities. We hope to see you back at the Pono Kai in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews