We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait To Return!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
354 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Return!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are owners of multiple weeks here and we stayed 2-14-12 to 3-1-12. One thing to keep in mine when using these reviews for this resort is that there are multiple management companies with rooms here. Vacatons International, Pacific Fantasy and many individually owned units. I own deeded weeks at the Pono Kai that are managed by Bluegreen.

We stayed two extra nights at the beginning of our stay in unit E306. A great ocean view one bedroom with a loft. After that we stay in two ocean front units. My wife and I were in B305 and my son and daughter stayed in D205. The Pono Kai is an older well maintained resort. It is not a mega resort or Mariott like but the units are clean, comfortable and spacious. In my opinion Pono Kai is in the best location for a stay on Kauai. You can't drive completely around the island so Kapaa the small town where Pono Kai is located is close to being in the center of everything Kauai has to offer. The resort offers a convenient concierge that offers good pricing. They have well maintained BBQ's around the property along with a pool, hot tub and two saunas. The kitchens are well equipped and we used the BBQ's often. Housekeeping did a great job and if needed you can always go down and get more towels,beach towels or even a robe.

We really enjoyed our stay and go back every year. Next year we will be there in December after a few weeks in Maui. Pono Kai offers great value and it's become our Kauai home.

Room Tip: Buildings A, B, C and D are all oceanfront. The first number is your floor and 01 and 09 are end uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slip213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    294
    109
    50
    33
See reviews for
189
339
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Unknown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff was very helpful. Upgraded us to a better room upon request. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. My only complaint is there was no washer and dryer in the unit, the lanai furniture was cheap and uncomfortable and there was only one bar stool at the counter. Staff was always helpful and polite. The good points were, the location, the beach front, the grounds, and the furnishings were pleasant. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not accept either the J or K building on the main street. Bad views from your room. And of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guston, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just got back from spending a wonderful week at this resort. Staff could not have been more helpful; very friendly and professional. Ready to help my hubby surprise me with helicopter ride and got us discount, directed him to the best restaurants and helped arrange flowers to be at our table on our special date nite. We had ocean front view....beach is small but very nice beaches are close enough to get to quickly by car. Nice restaurants and quaint shops just a block from resort. Grounds were immaculant, units are a little older but very well kept and clean. Special kudos to Morgan and Cyrus for all their help in making our stay even more wonderful! We will gladly use this as a timeshare exchange again. So much better than the commercialized islands.

Room Tip: call a week in advance and ask to have ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattywhack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this condo through Global Connections and got a ridiculously good deal. For the price we paid, we really should have been expecting a dump. This place, I am happy to report, is not a dump. It is also not a five star resort. If you are looking for a resort experience, the Marriott down the road is gorgeous, but you will have to pay quite a bit more.

The pros:
• We stayed in an ocean view room. The view was great, we had our own little balcony with a table and chairs and one lounge chair. The decor seemed to be updated and island theme. Imagine The Golden Girls but in 2012.
• Having a kitchen is great. There are several grocery stores near by. We found Safeway to be the cheapest. We went to another store that had cereal for $7 a box and a gallon of mild for almost $10. Ouch. But if you buy stuff that is on sale, you will save yourself a ton of money during your stay. We typically ate breakfast in our room, packed a picnic lunch, and only dined out for dinner.
• The staff is friendly and accommodating. We asked them to make us dinner reservations and for directions and they were always very nice.
• They have beach rentals on site for very inexpensive. We rented a couple beach chairs and they were nice to have. You can also check out a fresh beach towel everyday.
• There are communal BBQ's throughout the property, shuffleboard, croquet, a modest pool and a cute little koi pond. There is a computer in the lobby specifically for printing out boarding passes which is handy.
• The beds are comfy, the kitchen is fully stocked, and it is so nice to have a separate living/sleeping/dining area. It really feels like your own little island apartment.
• The location is great. You are near shops, restaurants and the ocean. The beach outside the hotel isn't GREAT. We swam in it and the water is fine. The beach itself has quite a bit of debris on it. You are in the middle of everything so anything you want to see is just a short drive away.

The cons:
• THE NOISE. This was my absolute biggest complaint the entire time. I should mention that I am a very deep sleeper and not sensitive to this sort of thing normally. The walls/floors are so paper thin, we often woke up in the night when the neighbor opened their door thinking someone had walked into our room. If you are a light sleeper - you may want to look into staying somewhere else. I can not emphasize enough how much you will hear. Be prepared.
• The cats/chickens. As I mentioned above, you will hear every noise outside your room. The first day of our vacation, a cat fight outside acted as our alarm clock. The next day, chickens. I actually don't mind the chickens since it adds to the Kauai experience but no one wants to hear a raging cat fight at 6 in the morning.
• The "Island Orientation". I don't have a huge beef with the island orientation that they will wake you up on Sunday morning to invite you to. It is a long sales pitch (but you get donuts!). My problem with the island orientation is that we sat there for an hour and a half (hoping to win a 2 for 1 special which we sadly did not), and at not point in this presentation did they warn us about what was happening on the island outside of the tours. While we were there, there was a huge fire in the Weimea Canyon. We heard on the radio it burned over 3,000 acres. Apparently this fire had been going on since the previous Thursday (the orientation was on Sunday), so you would think they would definitely know about this. They didn't mention this at all, so that same afternoon, we drove an hour to the other side of the island to find all the roads into the canyon shut down. I understand it is not their fault that there was a fire or that roads were shut down, but you think during a 90 minute "island orientation" they would mention this. Or maybe I am just bitter we didn't win a 2 for 1 Helicopter ride.

All in all, we had a great time. In my personal opinion, I don't travel for the hotel, I travel to experience the place. Pono Kai is a great place to stay and do just that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I felt so bad booking this place and let down my family. When we arrived this place, it was so obvious that I made a huge mistake. The J building that we stayed looked like a shabby old motel! All the bedroom windows of units ( J & K buildings) were facing the parking lot! There were two old washing machines right outside of my neighbor's door. I didn't want to do my laundry there. All the front doors were old, cheap and had cheap doorknobs on them. All the mats leading to the doors were so disgusting! Everything inside of my unit was terrible. We hate the old and dirty carpet so much that we didn't want to take off our shoes. The kitchen was old, banged up and had a funny smell. The bathroom had two very old ugly dirty mats ( why? it's not expensive to replace them) and the shower head was a plastic! The sink looked like it hadn't been upgraded from 70s. The beds were so uncomfortable and old. I thought we were supposed to get a queen sized bed and sofa bed....but we got twin sized beds. Those curtains were so old, dusty and had holes. The window screens were old, dusty, rusty and bent. The walls and ceiling were so thin that we could hear our neighbors! The safe was broken and there were nobody to fix it. We felt very insecure to be on the first floor since it was not a good neighborhood there. The people of the front desk were aloof and there were no ALOHA at all. After traveling more than 11 hours from home, we deserved a much nicer place than this! We had to get out of there and we did. YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MadameY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Aloha,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Pono Kai. Our condo management company only manages one unit in the J or K building, which has been recently upgraded with a flat screen TV, partial wood flooring, and clean new furniture and rugs (so it sounds like you may have rented through a different company or private owner). We also hire professional cleaners to thoroughly clean our rooms before and after each of our guest arrive, and quickly respond to any customer issues. I encourage any potential future guests to view our condo-specific photos of our Pono Kai condos we manage at crhkauai.com so there will be no surprises when you arrive.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We rented a one bedroom unit at this Resort, second floor with the ocean view from the living room and balcony overlooking the grounds, path along the ocean and a small beach just steps away. While the unit did not have air cond. the fans and open windows made the sleeping just fine and since we were gone all day - no big deal w/no air, but could have had it for the humidity which is always present.
The resort has pool, and recreational stuff - like tennis, croquet court, basketball ct. etc and the staff were very helpful about activities like catamaran excursion, the canyon directions, etc. Several rest. are in walking distance and the best that my granddaughter liked was the "shave ice" not to miss and just off the parking lot. Don't miss a trip to the lighthouse now being reconditioned for the centenial celebration next year.
The old sugar plantation that has a great restaurant Gaylords in Lihue is one place to have a great meal - the anniv. celebration was there in a "room" for our party.
Bill

Room Tip: If you like to view the ocean and have a snack/beverage overlooking the ocean, be sure to get the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank wdkloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Mahalo Bill for your review of the Pono Kai. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos we manage at the Pono Kai, but glad you and your family enjoyed the grounds (pool, croquet court, basketball, etc.), and the nearby restaurants and activities.

Keith

Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This complex is great for the price. We had a one bedroom with the ocean literally in front of us. Great little apartment with everything you need to enjoy your vacation without having to go to far. Beware the orientation talks. Sure you can get someone to plan your day trips, but make sure you research yourself. Our 2.25 hour kayak plus easy hike with lunch (as everyone in our group heard) was really 4.5 hours, moderate hike, no lunch provided and no recommended for bad backs or knees. Not to worry though, they give you 24 hours to cancel. Cyrus (guest services/trip planner) was great and we were able to plan our own trip with his help.

Nice pool area, great grounds with Koi ponds and mini golf and even a herb garden. Steps from the ocean, within walking distance to some great food and shopping, and a boardwalk for long leisurely strolls along the ocean shore For the price... This place suited us just fine.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Darcy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.5 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing