We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you're getting”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Know what you're getting”
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We had a good stay here,thanx to the info on TA.There are a couple of units I would not stay in Buldings J & K at the back of the property.
the best buildings are A,B,C,D waterfront.
Bulding E corner units (where we stayed) give you an ocean view
Bulding F & G have good views.
As stated before in reviews the grounds are beautifully kept.
The rooms are a basic condo with everything you need and clean.
Th resort itself has a small pool area and jacuzzi.
No restaurant on site
Concierge service for attractions etc.
The beach area on one side of the resort is fine
Not a wow factor resort but good middle of the road place and enjoyable location,you can walk to town and drive to anywhere on the Island

  • Liked — lanai
  • Disliked — no services such as retaurant,lounge etc
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    313
    115
    51
    34
See reviews for
209
357
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

My husband & I just returned from our honeymoon in Kauai. Our condo at the Pono Kai was just beautiful. We were in the A building (unit A207) and had the most amazing view of the ocean and sunrise each morning. The room was recently renovated and the decor was tropical, tasteful and comfy. The staff was very nice and the pool/hot tub were smaller, but really just perfect for some low key, non sea-water swimming. There weren't a ton of kids, but there were lots of family friendly activities available like shuffleboard & croquet. The little village of Kaap'a was just a few blocks away and an easy walk to some delish island eateries. I would also highly suggest the Windward Market in Kaap'a for any fresh meats/seafood to grill out on one of the resorts many gas grills... their selection was great and the service top notch! I would return to Pono Kai in a heartbeat.
Mahalo for a perfect vacation!!
Aloha!!

  • Liked — Very clean, very nice & great view!
  • Disliked — No free internet access
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KCaleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California-State of Jefferson
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Our first time to Hawaii and the Pono Kai was great! We had a one bedroom unit on the beach ground floor and the room and grounds were impeccable as well as the beach which could be considered private since there were few people on it at any time. It is swim able most of the time but was pretty rough a few days. The reef offshore makes for some beautiful scenery. The wild chickens were cool and fun to watch. Service was great and the staff very friendly. Seems like everything necessary was provided in the kitchen. The Internet connection was excellent although a little pricey as was the rest of the Island. The room had a CD/DVD player and lots of rentals in the lobby although we never used that & a nice stereo that has a usb connection so you can play your favorites plus CD's. Can't think of anything bad to say about this place. It's well located so checking out the entire Island is easy but you have to have a car. Get a 4WD and get stuck in Jurassic Park like we did! Makes for fun memories! We did get to see a large sea turtle while snorkeling and took an airplane tour (Wings over Kuai'i) that was great! We'll be back and highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — cost of internet
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank martinkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Overall, we had a good experience at Pono Kai. I will list the positives and negatives:
Negatives: Pono Kai is not a 'resort', as i would define a resort. No restaurants on site. The pool is small, the size of a residential backyard pool. It's centrally located, but very small and not like the Hilton we stayed at for a night prior to arriving at Pono Kai. Secondly, the rooms had bugs - we had ants in our bathroom and bedroom. Not a lot, but noticeable. It was not enough to make us call - I realize that any warm weather place could have issues with bugs. There were not very many activities - we did the lei-making class (for $5), which was nice, however the same person who lead that did the hula class right after with no music and nothing special about it. other than that, there were no other actvities besides the bi-weekly orientation that was really a sales pitch for local businesses. The air conditioning was wall mounted units in the living room and the master bedroom. the guest room was very warm and they had to run constantly to make the room a moderate temperature. On a more minor note, the site charged for rental of a baby crib and also an incoming fax - two more items that I find different than a typical resort (that i have stayed at) or even a hotel.

On the plus side:
Kapaa is a nice location, it's close to the airport, it's close to any shopping you want to do (big box or local), and it's centrally located for trips to the north shore and south/west shore.
2. we stayed in the G building, which was not a beach-front, but we still had a great view of the ocean. the two bedroom unit (G201) had a lot of space and was updated nicely - it was more like an apartment/dwelling as opposed to a hotel room.
3. there is a 5 mile walking path right outside the hotel that accesses two different beaches and provides a great morning walking path.
4. the orientation, while "sales-ey" as i mention before, was informative because of the local companies actually showing up to introduce themselves. It's another good way to research the best companies in the area.
5. we did not use the recreation areas, but the tennis court seemed in good condition (it has a basketball hoop on one of the courts to use as well), the putting green was nice, and there was bocci ball and volleyball courts on grass.
6. the grounds are kept up nicely
7. again, the location is perfect

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank chriscox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

I stayed at the Pona Kai Resort in the first week in November. I was verry happy with the Pona Kai's 1 bedroom condo. The furnishing were above average. We had 2 tv's, dvd, vcr, cable and a stereo with a cd player. I was surprised that the kitchen had everything we needed including a blender, toaster, coffee maker and rice steamer. There is no need to bring anything for the kitchen. It's all provided. The resort was well kept, clean and quiet. We didn't have any rust on our towels or smelly closets. We stayed in building J. We did not have an oceanview, but had a nice view of the grounds and pool. You may be visited by the chickens and roosters, but you'll find that everywhere on the island. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The jacuzzi and pool were wonderful to use after a long day. Don't miss the sunrises and sunsets. They're amazing. The location is perfect. You can walk to shops and restaurants from the resort and you can drive to the north shore or the south shore in less than an hour. I recommend the Blue Dolphin 5 1/2 hr boat charter to the Napali Coast. It's beautiful and well worth the money. You'll see sea turtles, dolphins and whales (seasonal).

  • Liked — having so much space and amenities
  • Disliked — rooster awakenings
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iflyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I'll start off with the pros because theres only two.
Pros are, beach front view and cable tv.

From here, it goes downhill.
Towels have rust on them. Luckily, we brought our own towels.
CLoset smelled very bad so i never opened that.
Kitchen cabinets smelled very badly didnt really go in the kitchen cause it smelled.
Bathroom smelled like urine.
Fridge had hair inside.
Was not managed well, not maintained at all.
Everything had rust on it. from every light switch to the shower head. Did i mention the towels had rust on them?

The other condo that our friend was in had a roaches.
Highly not recommended to stay here.
Better to thoroughly do your research and read reviews than to just book it because of the inexpensive with ocean view aspect. seriously.

We decided to pack up and stay at the Marriott.
Bad part of staying in a condo is you've gotta contact the owner for guest services and not the front desk.
Very inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovecat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Pono Kai is a condo complex, not a hotel. So there is no bar or gym or restaurant - but all those things are close by, most in walking distance.

The units are basic, but clean, comfortable and fairly well arranged in lushly landscaped grounds, right on the ocean, and many have been redone recently and some (ours) have new AC units - unneeded during our stay. We stayed in Building B, about 20 paces from the water, a wonderful setting for watching sunrise every morning. Athough the noises from other units can sometimes be heard, the complex is quite calm and quiets down early each night. Units have full kitchens, high-speed cable internet ($10/day extra), and balconies facing the ocean.

There is a walkway on the ocean side that extends for several miles - great for exercise and even better for people watching. Locals use it too.

The pool is tiny. The beach in front is diminishing and never was terrific, but nice ones are a short drive away.

Know what you are getting, and you will have a wonderful stay. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Location on the ocean, proximity to village of Kapaa, shops, small restaurants, noncommercial atmosphere
  • Disliked — pool, beach
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.5 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Property: Pono Kai Resort
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing