We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New managers make a difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I spend a week at this hostel. Autumn and Bill are outgoing and great and they still have a lot of work ahead to turn this place around, especially its reputation. They are helpful and make you really feel at home. This already makes a big change for this place.

Kitchen is large and there are enough fridges to store food. Sheets were clean, too.
The floors in the dorms need some serious cleaning, that was pretty uugh! In general, more attention needs to be paid to more detailed cleaning. Too many beds for just one bathroom in the girl's dorm.

Give them some time and they make this location into a great place to stay!Thank you guys for a good time. Michaela

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at this hostel in mid October. The new managers had been there for just a couple of weeks and they are just FANTASTIC!! I felt very comfortable and at home there. Autumn and Bill are great, warm and welcoming. Every night at that hostel felt like I was hanging out with old friends and family, I knew no one there till I arrived there. We had family style dinners which was great! Great atmosphere to meet new and great people. Autumn and Bill are in a transition in setting up tours throughout the Island. While I was there, Autumn took us out for the day snorkeling, which the hostel has snorkel gear!! I felt the hostel is centrally located and Kapaa is a great little town. Oh and I read somewhere that the beds were unstable, rickety and not comfy at all.. well I felt they were fantastic, I slept like a baby!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsaiahNC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos do andar de cima tem vista para o mar e as montanhas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valdi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jérôme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stta89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non consiglio stanza singola, la differenza di prezzo non è giustificata, in quanto il bagno è comun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riseebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank domsasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.9 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
96 reviews
8.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
4.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
7.5 mi away
Tip Top Motel
Tip Top Motel
#9 of 11 in Lihue
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Address: 4532 Lehua St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1750 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $25 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua'i! Our hostel has enforced quiet hours from 10pm-7am. We are not a party style hostel. We hope guests will take advantage of our low prices and quality service so that you may enjoy Kauai hikes and outdoor activities that are our premier location provides. Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai resides in the heart of Kapa'a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kauai. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. We have two dorm rooms with ten beds, women's only dorms, four private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms. All dorms have a private room and a shared bath en-suite. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. We have common areas available to all registered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, registered guests and new check ins only. *We most always have room for walk-ins 3pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing