We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The ocean view is amazing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark at Kapaa Shores
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ocean view is amazing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed hear for a vacation. Enjoyed having a huge 2 bedroom. The master is in the loft (no ocean view) but the sound of the ocean was wonderful. Our room did have an ocean view. Every morning we would wake up early to watch the sunrise.
Rooms are clean. Windows in master bedroom were very high. No elevator or air condition (don't really need them plenty of ceiling fans & nature's air).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading some the the less than stellar reviews for Kapaa Shores, our initial thoughts were we we going to be staying at a place to sleep and not to expect too much, well we were quite pleasantly surprised, so much so in fact, we now wonder if there is another place named Kapaa Shores as the facility we stayed at had absolutely no resemblance to the place mentioned in the negative reviews. the room was immaculate, the staff was kind and courteous, the grounds were well maintained and the location is perfect for those who wish to visit locales on the North and South as Kapaa Shores is directly in the middle . I would highly recommend this facility to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in Kauai.

Room Tip: While the Ocean front rooms offer a fantastic view, be aware that the the shoreline in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rcasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked a one bedroom condo through Interval as an exchange from another vacation club. The place is old, the floor was filthy (couldn't walk on it without shoes), moldy coffee grounds in coffee maker, dirt under wall bed. Every time we asked for something, they wanted to know our room number and then said we were not entitled to it: extra roll of toilet paper or box of kleenex, laundry detergent, mid-week housekeeping, etc. We ran completely out of toilet paper and even offered to pay for one but they said we could not. It seems some rooms have privileges and others don't. Felt like 2nd class citizens and the management did not try to make us feel welcome at all. We were not informed in advance that essentials would not be provided. There was construction going on in the driveway area. On the up-side, the view from the deck was nice and it was close to the ocean. TV & DVD player worked and it was close to grocery stores, shops & restaurants. No fitness room

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maryjean1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Bought my Worldmark membership over a year ago and so far this is my favorite resort. I also visited Kihei in Maui last fall which was really nice and closer to nicer beaches, but much busier. Kauai is much more relaxed and peaceful. The resort itself offers 1 and 2 bedroom units with washer and dryer in the 2 bedrooms. All 2 bedrooms are on the 3rd floor and the building has no elevators. The 2nd bedroom is an additional flight of stairs to a loft with its own bath. The staff is very nice and resort grounds are kept up very well. The beach at the resort is not swimmable, but there are swimmable beaches not far and the pool is pretty much on the beach anyways. I visited this resort twice in 2012 and intend to return again this year. If youn don't require stairs then I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All top floors are 2 bedroom so no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at this property through our time share. Some feedback:

Positive:
1. Great view from our third floor room overlooking the ocean.
2. Centrally located.
3. Easy access to some good restaurants.
4. Has all the required amenities.
5. Nice pool and hottub.

Could be improved:
1. Second bedroom is half open. No privacy.
2. Second bedroom is very noisy due to the ocean. Hard to close the windows.
3. No elevator. Carrying luggage up and down was a PAIN!
4. Gave us two beach towels for a room of five people. When we asked for towels, they said that we have to return the two we have to get two other ones.
5. Flooring bothered me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are noisy, but have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachanaMundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
350 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place is above average for many reasons and deserves more than a 3 for view of ocean and large sliding balcony doors, pleasant large yard facing the ocean, 2 flat screen new TV's, decent pool and hot tub, staff friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to many things including grocery stores, restaurants, shops etc.
It is below average for its layout. The suite could not accommodate 2 couples well. The bedroom is at the back by the parking lot and outer walkway goes right by it. The windows are high and you would never know you were in Hawaii...maybe some little town in mid America where you need a quick stop to sleep. We pulled down the Murphy bed in our living room since we are only 2 of us staying here and we had a great sleep listening to the ocean and watching the sunrise in the morning.
It does need to be updated and refurbished ..bathroom fixtures worked but are old and the shower is just weird. Outside lawn furniture definitely needs to be replaced.
All in all we are not disappointed because we have the ocean everyday and every night the way we have structured our sleeping!

Room Tip: The second floor units seem to be the best. The two bedroom upper floor aren't really that and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ResourceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was looking for a fairly inexpensive place to rent out while on our honeymoon in hawaii. This place was perfect. Good location, view of the ocean, clean cabin, great pool and hot tub. Not super luxurious, but perfect for what we were looking for. It's in Kapaa, so there is good access to both the north and south of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawnalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.1 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark at Kapaa Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Property: WorldMark at Kapaa Shores
Address: 4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Worldmark At Kapaa Shores Hotel Kapaa
WorldMark At Kapaa Shores Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing