We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Islander is a great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Islander is a great value”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We rented an oceanfront studio unit #224 from an outside property manager. It was ready, clean and well stocked when we arrived. We think the extra for ocean front is worthwhile and spent a lot of time on the lanai, at the dining table and laying on the couch reading with a view. We made our own breakfast in the mini wet bar-kitchen with a toaster, microwave and small fridge. We ate lunch out. Very comfortable and a great location for moving around on Kauai. The pool bar on the property rocks most days. The Coconut Market is across the parking lot. Trees Bar, a happy hour value and music sometimes is on property too. The lobby of the Islander offers free wi-fi. No phone service in the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    668
    248
    81
    50
See reviews for
209
1,015
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The Aston Islander in Kapaa was a great value. I purchased my vacation package through the Aston website. My 6 nts stay + flight + basic car rental cost $2000 for two ppl. The rooms aren't amazing, but they're neat, clean, and nicely decorated considering it being a mid-class hotel.

The room we were originally given faced the parking lot and was located to some loud equipment (I can't remember if it was the HVAC system or something else generating the noise). My friend has trouble sleeping through noise so we requested another room. They were nice enough to relocate us to a room facing the pool area which overlooks the beachside, however, the room ended up sharing a wall with the vending machine. Oh well, they tried.

We ended up eating elsewhere during the entire trip so I can't really comment on the restaurants. Twice, we walked over to the Hukilau Lanai (next door hotel http://www.hukilaukauai.com/) for dinner and at that time they offered a great early bird prix fixe dinner. Very tasty appetizers and fresh delicious fish.

The pool area was nice, but we didn't take advantage of that either. We did walk along the beach right behind the hotel. The beach sand itself is not suitable for walking barefoot. Lots of trees, debris, twigs and such were tough on feet.

There's a plaza courtyard nearby, easy to walk to and convenient for purchasing souvenirs/snacks/toiletries and various miscellaneous things.

In summary, I'd return to Aston Islander Makaiwa b/c of its great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dderriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We just returned from a one-week stay at the Islander in the Kauai building (oceanfront rooms). The view from this building was OUTSTANDING - gorgeous sunrises from the balcony which are even better from the beach. This is not by any means a luxury resort, but it is clean and the grounds are immaculate. My only complaints would be that the mattress/bedding is kind of cheap and the bathroom is slightly below average in decor/design. The rooms are spacious for two people and we really loved having the mini fridge and sink with dishes so that we could save money on breakfast and snacks. They give you enough coffee to make a "4-cup" pot every day, which was plenty for us. The pool area is average (clean and well-maintained, with a bar that others seemed to like...), nice to look at, but we only used the hot tub and that was only a couple of times because, in my opinion, why would you go all the way to Hawaii to sit by a pool??? There are more beaches on Kauai than we managed to see in one week's time! The parking lot IS overcrowded by early evening but they will let you park curbside overnight as along as you move your car by 9:00AM, which was not a problem for us since we went out exploring every day. The staff was friendly and helpful, though we had no issues with our room (226) so I can't comment on their troubleshooting.

They don't have a restaurant, but the Hukilau Lanai at the resort next door has great food with a great view (a little pricey though, and there was a wait). We also loved Scotty's Beachside Barbecue in downtown Kapaa. Smith's Luau was just fine, nothing special. The Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour was AMAZING and we strongly recommend Outfitters Kauai excursions and Liko Kauai Cruises (take Dramamine!!!).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDavignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyceville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I can't say enough good about this trip, the island, and the hotel. Coming from Wisconsin the weather was nice (yes, it rained a bit but it was still warm), the people are very friendly and the hotel was comfortable.

My husband and I had a garden view room yet we were still able to see and hear the ocean beautifully. If I had one complaint it would be the desk staff who really aren't as friendly as they could be nor very helpful, this includes the concierge person who didn't seem willing to help if you weren't booking something with her. The microwave and fridge in the room saved us a bunch of money on meals and allowed us to do more activities on the island itself.

I would highly recommend this island and this hotel to anyone and everyone who ask about it. Even on the rainy days we just got in the car and drove to another part of the island and sure enoug, there was the sun. We got plenty of beach time, the whale watching was amazing and seeing sea turtles and munk seals right on the beach is undescribable.

My husband says the helicopter tour is a must but I stayed on land, the DVD of the trip is enough for me. We also did a luau which was nice but I could do without ever doing again. I probably had more fun at the lighthouse watching whales and that was only $5.00 a person!

We will go back to this island but next time we are going to try another one, Oahu maybe. I must also mention, they offer free parking and their lot was often full however, they gave you passes to the hotel right next door which wasn't any farther of a walk than from their parking lot.

There isn't a whole lot of night life that we found but since we're not really into that it didn't matter to us but could to some.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emtlp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I just returned from five days here and could hardly imagine a better week in paradise. Okay, if I have to find fault than it would be the tree which exactly blocked the sun for me as it rose each morning. I still got some fine sunrise views and photos, it was just funny how that tree was situated precisely as it was. Any oceanfront view along the Pacific Ocean though, is an enviable view indeed, right?

I did book through Castle Resorts however, and I can only say they were a perfect and accomodating management company to deal with. The two instances when I had contact during my stay with the Aston folks on the other hand, were both negative. Aston's agents didn't seem to want to help or positively advise me whatsoever as soon as they realized I was a Castle customer and not one of their own. ;-(

It's true what you may have read regarding the parking situation, it is somewhat limited and if you don't return to the lot by early dinnertime you face the prospect of ending up blocks away or on the far side of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace. Speaking of which, I heartily recommend both Eggbert's and The Fish Hut at CM. Islander is a very convenient location for exploring the whole island, whether to the north or western directions.

As far as the room itself goes, the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had and the wi-fi worked perfectly. And though I got a great corporate discount, I vote for the oceanfront location every time. It is so worth it, to be able to leave the upper level patio door ajar at night and fall asleep to the ocean just steps away. Awesome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We just returned from the Islander and have nothing but great things to say about the stay. The staff we're friendly all the way around. Never a problem requesting anything.
Grounds are kept clean, and everything is within walking distance..Farmars market tuesday in am for fresh fruit. Would stay there again in a minute

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noonieof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 5 days over the New Years, although we booked through Castle Resorts not through Aston. In practice it makes very little difference as the property is the same, although both have different receptions. Price was reasonable.

We got an oceanview room on first floor, nice, spacious, comfortable and clean, although the aircon unit on the balcony was a bit rusty. The entire area of the hotel is very peaceful and quiet, sometimes the monk seals come to the beach to rest.

There are many shops and restaurants right next to the hotel, but car is needed to get around the island.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
536 reviews
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing