We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great property for those on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location and great property for those on a budget”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This review is for Islander on the Beach – (ours was room 224)

We rented directly through the owner (VBRO) and Vacation Realty Hawaii, www.alohacondos.com manages. Many of the rooms can also be rented through Aston and I think another company. Some others are also owned and rented out through owners. Excellent rate for an oceanfront room with free wireless access! No problems communicating with the owner, answered all emails promptly. Room is in the Kauai building and is oceanfront, in fact, it was closer to the ocean than it looked in photos, we were very pleased! This is a studio condo and does not have a full kitchen, but does have refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, blender and coffee maker. Utensils, plates, cups, coffee cups, wine glasses, etc. for 4. Sharp knives, can opener, cutting board and wine opener. There is an iron and board and hair dryer. Paper towels, toilet tissue, dish detergent, sponge, & toiletries. Towels are thick and soft. 2 beach/pool towels provided. The bed/linens were very comfortable and the room as well. There is free wireless internet in this particular room. There is a sofa that opens to full size bed and table with 2 chairs. There is also a table with 2 chairs on the lanai. The bathroom is a very good size with a curved shower rod, which is nice. The hot water was excellent! This condo was the perfect size for us. Clean and comfortable. I think all the rooms are pretty much the same as far as furniture included and kitchen items.

As stated in other reviews and by doing research, if you are looking for it, this is not a resort with numerous amenities. We were on a tight budget this trip and room 224 fit us perfectly. There is a pool, not huge but sufficeint for cooling off when needed, and a hot tub, gas grills, beach chairs, poolside bar. You cannot take alcoholic beverages away from the pool area though, not sure what that is about since you could buy alcohol and take it to your room and make it yourself. The beach is not a swimming beach if you’re looking for that, though we did see people out there. There is a laundry on site, so you don’t have to pack a lot of clothes. We did not have daily maid service since we rented through owner, could have paid extra for that, but it is not needed. Parking is an issue at night (because of people coming to Trees bar right next door), but security assists you. We did go to the front desk for a parking pass as instructed by security, and got that with no hassle, even though we were not checking in through them (went straight to our room). Not real sure why you need the pass though, since the Trees customers can park there as well with no pass. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, people were always outside working. It is also quiet here. We saw a monk seal right outside our door on the beach the first morning here! Since we never saw another one the entire trip, we were very pleased! Sunrise was awesome the first 4 days before rain started.

The owner of this condo also owns the one next door, room 225 and both can be rented together, connecting doors. Coconut Marketplace is right across the parking lot with restaurants and shops, you can perform a search to get info on them. Many of the shops have closed and my husband I wondered if it wasn’t because many of them carry the same items. Grocery stores and other shops, drug store, etc., are about a mile away on the left side of the highway. I filled out a Safeway card form from online and took it with me, only took a minute to get my savings card. Some prices were sticker shock, others not. We got 24 bottled waters for 3.99, about what it is at home, but bread, milk, etc. about twice as much. I opened a pack of sliced cheddar cheese back at room and bottom half was covered with mold, despite 2/11 expiration date. May be good idea to inspect stuff as best you can before buying. There is a Wal-mart about 15 minutes away in Lihue. We shopped there for some candy souvenirs and they had the best prices between ABC, Longs & Whalers on those types of items.
As stated in other reviews, there is no elevator, but the stairs were not hard to climb as long as you do not have disabilities that would prevent that. The Islander does have ground floor rooms, but I assume you’d need to rent those through Aston.

The location of the Islander was ideal for us as it is central to the island and made it easier for us to drive all the way north on one day, and all the way south another day. That would have been a lot of driving if we stayed on one end of the island. We only experienced traffic issues one afternoon and it was not too bad, broke up in about 10 minutes, through Kapaa.

We would not hesitate to stay at this condo again nor to recommend it. It was ideal for us. All of the staff we encountered while walking about were friendly. The location was perfect for our needs. If you are looking for a laid back place without amenities, and with great views at a great price this is it! Please feel free to email with any questions.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bingo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    663
    246
    81
    50
See reviews for
209
1,005
77
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We were at the Islander for 9 days. The staff was ok, but didn't kill themselves to help with directions, dining tips or making sure your stay was satisfactory. The establishment is clean, grounds very well kept & a nice (but small) pool. The grounds around the building is very dark~you can't really see at night to get around unless the moon is full. They could use some landscape lighting along the walk ways. The beach directly in front of the grounds is terrible. They don't clean it & the beach is very narrow along this portion this time of year. The buildings are all 3 story & there is NO ELEVATORS~you have to climb the stairs. For us it wasn't a problem, but for older folks or people with physical disablities, you would need to request a ground floor room. There is no fitness room or equipment either~that was inconvienient for us because there are not many public fitness facilities on the island for the public.
If you asked questions, they were willing to help, but if you don't ask, they don't offer any information. When we checked out, they didn't ask if we had a nice visit, they didn't thank us, they didn't ask us anything. We are used to hotel staff asking us at the end of our stay if everything was satisfactory & inviting us to come back~not here.
The rooms were fine for what we needed it for~we didn't spend much time in the room at all. We thought the rooms were priced well for what we needed it for. There is no hotel resturant, so NO ROOM SERVICE for food. But there are some places close at the marketplace to eat. Eggberts was the best for breakfast & coffee.
We would stay there again just because we don't need the room for much other than sleeping & showering. They did have a fridge, microwave & coffee pot in the room. You have to buy their coffee for a dollar a package (makes one pot) at the front desk. Or you can do what we did, go to Walmart and buy a whole bag for 6.00.
All in all I would have to say we got our money's worth, but if it's luxury you are looking for~this hotel isn't it! The location was perfect because we were half way either direction on the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Happy Holidays,

Thank you for your comments. We will work with the front desk to have Gracious Hospitality and more information for guests. The beach front is a work in progress with the State and County, it's great to get comments from guests that we can forward to them as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on your return to Kauai. Have a Joyous Holiday Season.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I visited Kauai in November 2010. We arrived to the hotel around 7pm. Check-in was very easy. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We went to our room. It was quite nice, much better than I was expecting based on reviews I had read stating the rooms were out dated. This room was nicely maintained, had nice furniture, and a flat panel TV. There is a small kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, sink, and coffee maker. The cabinets were stocked with dishes. The only complaint is that you could hear noise coming from other rooms. The room next door to ours had an alarm set each day for 6am, so in turn, we were awoken each day at 6am!
There is no restaurant on site, but the front desk had recommended to go to the shopping center directly in front of the hotel or to the restaurant in the hotel next door. We decided to go see the options in the Coconut Plaza in front of the hotel. This was very convenient and we ended up eating several meals here during our stay. There are several dining options, all very casual. There is a pizza stand, Harley's Hawaiian BBQ, an ice cream/coffee stand, an outdoor grill, Eggbert's for breakfast, Tradewinds bar, and a few other dining options. There is also a general store in this plaza, so we picked up some soda and snacks to keep in the room during our stay.
The beach at this hotel is not really for swimming. It was pretty windy during our stay and the waves were quite large. The pool and hot tub looked nicely kept, although we did not go in them. There is also an outdoor bar by the pool, however we did not go there either.
We always managed to find a parking space, but the lot does fill up at night because the hotel shares the lot with a bar. With the hotel parking permit, you can park in the red zone if there are no spaces left, although we never had to.
The main appeal of this hotel is the centralized location for seeing the entire island. We drove to the south side of the island several days to go snorkeling, went to Kipu Ranch for ATVing, drove to Weimea Canyon on the west coast of the island one day, and drove to the north coast for some more snorkeling and site-seeing another day. All of the drives were very reasonable, none taking much longer than an hour. I would recommend this hotel for people who plan on spending days out exploring the island. It is a good "home base" to get out to any other place on the island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdlhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks in room 347 with the ocean just a few yards away. ~We can not wait to go back! Everyone was really happy to see you and help out with any questions or needs you may have. We did experience one staff person who blew us off when our room key was not functioning for the 3rd day in a row. We asked for management and Lorie solved our problem by the days end. Thank you Lorie! The cleaning staff, and grounds keepers worked very hard every day and always had a smile. Grounds were well kept and rooms were very clean! Our room and been updated recently and showed no sign of needed repairs. You will love going to sleep with the sound of the waves! The beach is long, and we had plenty of loungers. We did go into the ocean, as lots of others snorkeled and surfed at this location every day while there.

Lots of places to shop, they have the coconut market with mini shops and places to eat. Try Egbert’s for breakfast. Skip the Lemon Grass in Kapaa…The best dinners were at the resort next door, and Oasis. Oasis is tricky to find, but WAY WORTH IT!! Ask the concierge she will give you the directions! The food, the staff, and the view is totally AMAZING!

This hotel is very convenient being centrally located. North or south is a breeze!

We only did one excursion, and WOW was it a BLAST!! Kipu Ranch ATV waterfall tour. We had sooo much fun! Thank you Lumbo and Mike! You ROCK! If you like trail riding and beautiful views this is for you! You can also rent a Rhino, but I’m telling you, it’s a blast slinging mud and busting through puddles on your own 4 wheeler! Asking Santa for one this Christmas..I’m hooked now! The trip is offered 2 times a day. We did the afternoon trip. They take you on about 15-20 miles of trails, lunch is included. We seen wild pigs, movie locations etc. Fun, Fun, Fun!

Feel free to email with any questions!! Aloha!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soon2banElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We booked directly from an owner, so individual rooms may vary. After reading the reviews here, it was much better than I expected. The location is quiet, with convenient grocery store via car and casual restaurants right next door. I had a dilemma over where to stay (north, central, or south of Kauai) and this location ended up to be awesome. The pool is small. We only heard the roosters the first morning. It's tough to find a parking spot in the evening, but you can park anywhere (next to any curb) until 9am; this was no problem, as we got going every morning way before that time. The grounds and buildings are very well maintained, whereas I saw other hotels in less great shape. The beach is tiny and unsafe for swimming, so I don't consider it a beach. But you can take beautiful sunrise strolls along the shore.

The A/C is nice and quiet but was hardly needed at the end of August (we like warm temperatures). The room had a small kitchenette with a sink and hot plate, fridge, dishes, etc. which came in extremely handy. I was considering spending more for a 4-star hotel down the road and I'm glad I didn't! Sign up for Safeway rewards program if you'll be grocery shopping to save a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Great location. Amazing view. Clean, neat and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpankiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wife and I just returned and had a wonderful stay at the Aston Islander. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel then look for something else. If you are looking for a clean, economical, nothing fancy room then this place is perfect. The rooms were nice and we had an ocean front room and it was great. Yes, the air conditioner was a little rusty on the balcony, but it was nothing to get bothered about. The rooms have been updated and have a fridge and microwave. Nice small pool and a pool bar with a happy hour. Karen is a great mixer of cocktails and good service! The location is also good if you are traveling to both ends of the island since it is centrally located. There are no elevators since each unit is only three stories tall.

There is a strip mall across that has two nice plain and simple fish restaurants. There is also a great restaurant for a nightly dining next store called "Hukilau Lanai". Great fish and good service.

Again, if you are not looking for fancy, then I think you have found a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing