We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kapaa
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,961)
Filter reviews
1,961 results
Traveler rating
741
789
284
88
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
741
789
284
88
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut marketplace ocean front pool bar oceanfront room parking lot dvd rentals fridge and microwave third floor small kitchenette partial ocean view every morning hot tub coffee maker resort fee sound of the waves central location no elevator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,961 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Can only recommend this hotel! Perfect location on beach. Nice pool area. We came in the night of a storm ,so lots of drift wood on beach. But surprisingly not garbage. Shops and amenities in walking distance. Rooms a little dated but clean and comfortable. Even garden view rooms are great views. We also found it great that we could call and get the bus to stop just by the hotel.
Good place to do the whole island from.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank leather-n-lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Aloha leather-n-lace!

Mahalo for this 5 star review, "perfect location, great staff".....Love the title and really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review to share your experience. Aston Islander on the Beach is ideally situated next to the Coconut Marketplace and with two fabulous restaurants on either side! Hope you had the opportunity to try my favorite fresh fish plate next door at Sleeping Giant Grill.

Hope to welcome you back for a return visit soon!

Mahalo,
Lori M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

We spent a week in Kauai at the Aston Islander on the Beach. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and our granddaughter’s 21st birthday. We attended a luau at Gaylords Kalamaku. Our trip was very special. We did experience a lot of rain but pleasant temperatures. This was our third time here and we still found plenty of new things to do and see.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank steve19511001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Aloha steve19511001!

Thank you for spending your Christmas in Kauai with us at Aston Islander on the Beach! And your big special 50th anniversary AND your granddaughter's 21st birthday! I think you should be with us for all your future celebrations- make it a tradition!

Happy New Year! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Hotel right on the beach in Kapaa. All the rooms have a seaview from their balcony. Very close to airport but no disturbance from it. Shopping c very near, restaurant next door on the beach (pricy) but nice. In wintertime its impossible to use the beach because of the dangerous rip currents and high waves. There is a pool(small) and a bar next to it. If you are lucky you may see the endangered Hawaiian Monk Seal resting on the beach! Rooms are ok.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kingstoffel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Aloha Kingstoffel1!

Thank you for staying with us at Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed the location of our property and the sea view from your balcony. We always enjoy having visits from our Hawaiian Monk Seal friends, glad you got to experience that.

Hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

The hotel was very nice and offered coupons for local businesses as well as for non alcoholic drinks at the poolside bar. I would stay here again. The staff was very amenable. There were dvds and games for guest use.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cooki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Aloha Cooki P!

Mahalo for posting your 5 star review of your stay at Aston Islander on the Beach! I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our amazing team! We strive to make every guest's vacation a lovely and memorable one, so glad we hit the mark with you!

We look forward to welcoming you folks back again soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

Kauai is covered with wild chickens and the grounds at Aston Islander on the Beach are no exception. The roosters will sit in the trees and crow all night. That was my first discovery. The second was that many of the units are not rented but owned; the owners make the property their long-term residence. The third discovery is that the sand at the beach is so deep and coarse that it is almost impossible to walk in. You'll get a workout trying to reach the water. All that said, I loved staying here. The view from my room was spectacular and the grounds are beautifully landscaped with exotic tropical plants. I will stay there the next time I get to Kauai.

Room tip: All rooms have an ocean view, and staying on a higher level will give you a better view.
Date of stay: May 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriM2616, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019


Aloha David C!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to complete a review. We are working diligently to relocate any roosters that try to make their home on property. All the units are individually owned here at Islander but only a few folks live here year round. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your spectacular view and our beautiful landscaping and especially that you plan to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Lori M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews