We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Islander on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
$273
$249
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$259
$249
Official Website
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$544
$344
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,796)
Filter reviews
1,796 results
Traveler rating
672
722
267
81
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
722
267
81
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut marketplaceocean frontsand barfree dvd rentalsparking lotoceanfront roomfridge and microwavetrees loungethird floorsmall kitchenetteoverflow parkinggeneral storepartial ocean viewevery morningcoffee makerhot tubhotel grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,324 - 1,329 of 1,796 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed here this last June for our first trip to Kauai.
Weve been to all of the other islands, but went her on recommendations from friends.
We were not disapointed with Kaui.
The Islander is almost right in the middle of everywhere in Kaui.
Your just a few hours drives from both ends of the island.
Parking is a challange here as the place is next door the coconut market place.
We had to park quite a ways away 2 out of 5 nights.
Grounds are very well maintaned, and the staff was very friendly.
We had a problem opeing our in roof safe one morning and maintenance was there within 30 minutes of our notifing the front desk about teh problem and had it fixed in no time.
The room is very clean and updated.
The bathroom was recently remodeled too.
The room was very quiet, and we had no problems at all.
It has small bar sindk, mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave too.
The best part was the room has air conditioning.
The only thing not giving this place a 5 was the bed was lumpy, but not to hard.
(I hate a hard matress).
I dont care what others say, but if your from a mild climate then 80 to 90 degrees is hot and you need AC!
We stayed on a ocean front room, and the view was fantastic at the least!
The pool was great, and had a outdoor bar next to it.
We booked a combination trip at Orbitz that included a rental car and 5 nights here for $600! What a deal.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rashirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Service
The Staff- The ladies at the front desk were super sweet and made us feel welcomed and relaxed. They took care of all our needs and helped us with all the questions we had about restaurants, beaches, directions, etc. They also gave us a box of chocolates!
Parking- Parking was never a problem for us, no matter what time we got in. Even if you needed to park a ways off, the Islander has a valet that will take care of you.
Location- Loved the central location. We spent a lot of time on the North, East, and South sides of the island, so the area was perfect. As far as the places close to the Islander, the Hukilau Lanai restaurant was amazing and a short walk away. It is an open restaurant with views of a pretty garden and the ocean (far in the distance). The Islander is also located right behind the Coconut Market, great shopping, shave ice, and breakfast- Eggberts. The only downside of the surroundings, is a bar is right beside the resort (apparently one of 2 on the East side that stays open late). I'm not a big fan of the trash that hangs out near the bar, so we just parked on the other side of the resort.
Landscaping- Great native plants and native birds. Great view of the ocean, nice sand with chairs to sit in and watch the sunrise (remember East Side!). Swimming on the beach is probably not the safest, but we watched a lot of people swimming there.

The Room
Benefits- AC- few places on the island have it (HUGE BENEFIT!!!), A safe for storing belongings, Big Bathroom, Free Newspaper, Hawaiian Coffee, Lots of Storage Space, Nice Big TV, Great Balcony with a View of the Beach (Oceanfront)
Disappointments- Hmmm... Pool was little dirty, Guess it could have been a little bigger

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgosnell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We booked an ocean view room through vrbo.com (vacation rental by owner) and we were very happy with the Islander. Nothing fancy but very pretty grounds and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMIE77BellinghamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Check in was very fast, less than 5 minutes. They asked if we had any questions or needs. Grounds were immaculate! Very well kept. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The AC worked almost too well. Not a bug in sight but lots of birds and chickens which we loved. The pool was small but hey, we went to Hawaii for the ocean, not to hang out around a pool. The staff were all very helpful. One man took about 30 minutes to talk to us about local restaurants. We paid about a hundred less than the rack rate for our ocean front room and were very, very satisfied with it. Check out also took less than 5 minutes.

We would love to return here and likely will if we visit Kauai again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Hotel looks fine and is reasonably priced but this is the very first hotel I have been in in my 57 years that did not provide tea for guests, they didnt provide much coffee either. They also did not mention they do not have a restaurant, no room service and the staff at the front desk are not forthcoming with information either so you are on your own. On the plus side it does have a nice location and there is a shopping centre of sorts just out the front of the property which sells overpriced food, and tourist trash and the general store there must be making a very nice profit for its owners, check your receipts before you leave though they charged me twice for some items. Hotel room is clean although I did see one jumbo sized cockroach on my first morning there. Laundry is convenient but does not tell you where you get your washing powder for a dollar. The Pool is nice, they have a happy hour bar in the pool area. If you dont have your own transport either find out before you arrive what is available or ask the nice lady at Pleasant Holidays, she has a booth just near the foyer. Staff on the front desk do not seem to know anything and seem a little offhand, they could learn a lot from the staff at pleasant holidays. i stayed at the Aston Waikiki Joy, and that was a much more pleasant experience than my stay at The Islander on the Beach. It could be good but staff let the place down and they need more information in the rooms for guests to avail themselves of outside facilities which are sadly lacking at this hotel. oh rooms are noisy too, if you have a downstairs room you better hope you dont have a noisy upstairs neighbour.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank hazfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineapplepapaya, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

We thank you for taking the time to comment on Islander on the Beach. It is a laid back quaint property with no room service or restaurant. There are BBQ grills at the pool side for all to use. We offer tea bags on request and coffee packets are replenished daily. The units are individually owned and it offers the guests a microwave, under the counter refrigerator and coffee maker.

Your comments have been shared with the staff and please be assured that every effort will be made to improve on those services that were referred to as lacking.

Once again, Thank you for your valued comments.

Aston Islander on the Beach
"Where it's always a pleasure to serve you!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews