We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Missouri
114
Reviewed March 24, 2005

From reading the reviews I was a bit nervous. I was there for 7 days starting on March 16. We had a beach front room. Construction is still going on and if you have a beach front room you can't hear the construction---you will only hear the crashing waves. ALL the rooms that are not being worked on are renovated. The pool opened on the last day we were there. Our room was very clean---no smells, no bugs at all. The countertops are granite and nicely tiled. We had to ask for more towels and pillows and the maid service remembered to replenish this request each day. The room is small and not big enough for more than 2 people. My only complaint was the bed. I think it was a full size---way too small for 2 people! So, that bad for some sleepless nights. There's no way to fit a king size bed in there though. The location of the Islander is perfect----it's a short drive to the airport and other sites. We never went to the beach on the Islander because it wasn't that appealing. One day we did see a Hawaiian monk seal come ashore and sunbathe on the beach all day. That was really neat. There are so many other great beaches in Kauai worth seeking out. The Marketplace across the street was very convientent: mail drop off, shops, food, etc. The price was right, but when we return I think we'll choose a different place to stay. There is a for sale sign out front and they were having open houses, so I don't think it will be an option to stay there unless we want to buy it was a condo! OUr return flight didn't leave until 10 pm and we asked for a room to change in before we left for the airport. We were told since the lobby and the rooms attached to it are still under construction, they don't have those "changing rooms." For $40 we were able to do a late check out and check out as late as we wanted to.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,724)
There are newer reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,494 - 1,500 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2005

Islander on the beach, at first i was so dissapointed when we arrived march 3, 05, because the renovations were not done. i had called them to check at least 4 weeks in advance and was told it would be done. well, equipment was out front, the office was a temporary trailer in back of the restaurant.
BUT --when we got to the room, we loved it!!! the remodel was done there already and very, very nice job. clean, fresh new furniture, bedding, tv, cd player. kitchen area and bath, tile flooring, granite counters. sliding door out to lanai, waves crashing on beach just steps away. I definately would stay there on a return visit soon. It felt very cozy and comfortable.
And out at the "sand bar" (pool bar) met some really friendly people, including great bartender/delicious drinks. We had a great time and miss it already. I think they were just finishing the main building and also the pool, even better!

16  Thank FLATLANDERZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2005

it is march 3. been here for three days. under construction. you will be awake by 8 am ,like it or not because of the hammers and saws. pool closed. room ok, but if you are not staying on the ground floor(they have several buildings,all having 3 floors)and have 4 pieces of luggage, you better start lifting weights before you go. their are no elevators. i am a jogger and lift weights and i got my workout for the day. if your not in shape, stay away!bi

9  Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
113
Reviewed February 6, 2005

We stayed there Jan. 28 - Feb 4, 2005, we knew there was construction going on but we had no idea it would be so extensive right in our faces. Our lanai faced one of the buildings being worked on and every morning they started with loud radios, beeping forklifts, spraying buckets of sheetrock mud over the top balcony which sprayed down on us...etc. We complained at the front desk and they said, "you could have stayed somewhere else", believe me, we wished we had. The room stunk so bad we had to sleep with the air off and the sliding door open (when it wasn't raining). We spent money on Lysol spray and tried to stay out of there as much as possible. Room wasn't cleaned until late in the day(changed the sheets and new thin, small towels, did not clean rest of room). There are other properties in the area that are much better. My opinion is that when 3/4 of the property is under construction all at once, the other 1/4 should be closed until finished. A very unrelaxing week.

Millers in Minnesota

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2005

The Aston Islander really is a good value. It's not super luxorious but the rooms are a decent size, clean with pretty average hotel decor. We had a balcony that looked out onto the grounds, which are well maintained. Again, not fancy but nice and well kept. On Kauai, you just need a decent place to sleep - it's not a place where you want to be stuck in your room.

The pool is actually pretty nice, warm, and there's a little tiki bar out there. The beach isn't very swimmable, maybe if you go down the shore a bit, but you shouldn't waste your time swimming at a hotel beach on Kauai anyway.

The location is great as far as getting to a variety of attractions - you're close to a lot of stuff to do in town (there are some little restaurants and gift shops at this little shopping center within walking distance - you can't see it from the hotel really, but it's right on the other side of the parking lot and is handy to have right there). Kauai in general is GREAT. I'd allot a lot of time for this island - it is really the only true tropical island left there. Definitely go kayaking and for a hike on the Na Pali trail!! Also, eat at Hamura's noodle shop.

11  Thank ny721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2005

What a fabulous hotel!! We have chosen to stay at the Islander for the past four years and am looking forward to staying there again in April '05. We have never been disappointed with our room or service. Yes, the hotel has become a bit run down, but that is to be expected with the climate of Kauai. We are very much looking forward to staying in the newly renovated buildings and for the first time an Ocean Front room. We have stayed in all room catagories and have enjoyed all of them. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful. The grounds keepers to a great job of lanscaping to create the lovely Kauai Garden Island atmosphere. The location can't be beat. The Coconut Market just across the parking lot of the hotel is wonderful. It has many shops, a quaint pub, great food outlets and a movie theatre playing the recent releases. There are lots of restaurants and a Safeway within walking distance or a car hop away. We have recommended this hotel to many friends and family and have booked our entire wedding group into the hotel for April. Everyone is looking forward to their stay and experiencing everything that's great about the Islander.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Burnaby_Folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed December 31, 2004

We were suppose to stay at the Aston 12/24 to 12/31!!!! However, when we got there, we were told that due to construction, we had been moved to the Aloha Beach Resort. This announcement made us very nervous, because we knew nothing about this resort. Before we left home, I had spent several hours reading about the Aston, both good reviews and lousy ones. We were afraid that we would be sent to a total dump. Maybe being sent away was a good thing. The Aloha Beach must be very comparable to the Aston, perhaps a little nicer. We had a pleasant stay there. Our room had a big bath, one complaint I frequently read about at the Aston.

Anyway, if you have your heart set on the Aston, be cautious, you may be placed in a different hotel. There was no additional charge, but we did have a "so-so" room, in comparison to the other rooms at the Aloha. Felt like since we were transports, we got stuck with the dumpy, sometimes noisy room, with the mechanical room next door that made noise all night.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
37 reviews
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $172 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a voucher for a refreshing Mango Lemonade OR Imua Coffee per paying adult, per one time per stay, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing