We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, clean”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed on the third floor and paid for an " ocean front" room. The room upgrade was my wife's idea and she says it was worth it because she could hear the ocean, but we had to look at an angle from our balcony to see much of it. No elevators and we had big bags because of airline restrictions. No bell captain that I could see, so we lugged the bags ourselves. We did arrive late. Staff was helpful and professional, but we didn't need to interact much except for parking permits.

The construction appears to be 1970's era with concrete block walls and plywood & batten siding at the gables, rough sawn trim and stairwells. Well maintained and clean. Kitchenette had a sink, mini-fridge and microwave, cupboards were well stocked with crockery, implements, church key, flatware, and glassware.

In addition to taxes, there is an "amenity fee," for things like w-ifi and parking. It was disclosed upfront, but not charged in our prepaid reservation, so we had to settle up when we left. The parking lot filled up fast, so we ended up parking in the shopping center next door with a permit that expired at 10:00 am. Lots of walking to move the car.

No food service. In room coffee maker comes with enough good Kona coffee to make 4 cups a day. Powdered creamer, so the first stop was the Safeway just up the road for some half & half. The fresh fish place in the strip mall adjacent to the parking lot is friendly and casual. Despite the seafood emphasis, I had a beef filet from New Zealand which was very well prepared and tasty. The bar in the same strip mall may be the reason for the parking shortage - we didn't go there.

All in all, a pleasant place to stay. It was a little pricey, but everything on Kauai is, and compared to the places up the road in Hanalei, it was a real bargain.

Room Tip: Not sure I'd pay for ocean front again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Jones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    668
    248
    81
    50
See reviews for
209
1,015
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed on the second floor. No elevators. Entering the room we found that the bathroom was dirty and the garbage from the previous people had not been emptied. When I called the front desk to notify them of this I was told that housekeeping had gone home already for the day. The man working at the front desk did come and empty the garbage and he did clean the bathroom. The next problem was the ants. They were crawling all over the sink and around the microwave...disgusting!! Apparently they do have a spray they use on them, but again housekeeping was gone for the day so couldn't provide us with any. The first morning we went to pour cereal into the bowl and the box of cereal was full of ants!!!!!

The closet/ cabinet with the safe and ironing board was disgusting...we couldn't put any of our suitcases or clothes in there as is stunk like urine!!! Therefore all our suitcases had to sit on the floor, and the small table which left no room at all to even move in the room! Not a pleasant experience....we will next go back there.

Parking is also an issue as others have mentioned

A complimentary room cleaning was offered at check in. We were able to choose the day we wished to have housekeeping come and clean our room. When we got back to our room that night it hadn't been done. When I called the front desk to notify them of this they told me nothing could be done about it as housekeeping had now gone for the day.

I think enough has been said as to why we would never stay here again with our family of 4

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Aloha...

Thank you so much for sharing your experience while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while staying with us. I did speak with my Housekeeping Manager regarding your experience and we will be working on our communication processes between the Front Desk and Housekeeping departments in an attempt to eliminate any future issue similar to what you experienced. Additionally, I have spoken to my Guest Service Manager regarding the response you received from the Front Desk. Please accept my apology for the lack of response and failure by my staff to extend requested services. Please keep the Aston Islander on the Beach as a potential destination if you should decide to return to Kauai. It is my intention to correct these issues and I would love the opportunity to show you "first hand" of these changes...

Mahalo,

Kaniela Neves
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our 4th stay over the last 5 years (went to the Big Island last year). This is a very quiet and relaxing resort with very friendly staff and house keepers. The rooms are adequate and have small fridge, sink, microwave, dishes and silverware. The lanai's are very roomy with a table and two chairs. There is a coin operated laundry facility on site (much cheaper than going to an offsite location). A good size pool, jacuzzi and pool bar. Nice sandy beach also.
The only negative is the lack of parking spaces. They will provide a card pass to park in the Coconut Grove Shopping area, but it is still a hassle.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for an Oceanside room. Room 232 is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice and clean resort. Staff is friendly and very professional. Right on the beach and close to restaurants shopping etc. so you can easily walk. An exceptional value for the money. Poolside bar is open until 10pm

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39dodgefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Nice central location, oceanfront, pool, hot tub, poolside bar. We stayed in a ground floor room so it was easy to walk out to the pool or beach although the beach is not swimmable. Grounds are lovely and staff is friendly. We were only here for a week so we knew we would be spending most of our time exploring the island so we were not looking for a full service resort with all the amenities. We did enjoy our free ukelele lesson with Uncle Freddy.
The rooms were small for a family--my husband and I and our 14 year old daughter. We had a queen size bed and a pull out couch. The beds were comfortable and my daughter said it was the most comfortable pull out she has slept on. The room smelled very musty, though. There is a refrigerator so we were able to pick up some food. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio enjoying the grounds and the family of chickens that would hang out with us. We were traveling with another family and we had adjoining rooms but with both pull out couches in use, there wasn't any common space to hang out except on the patio.
Parking was limited and most evenings when we would get back to the hotel we would have to park in the overflow lot.
We ate at Trees, the restaurant adjacent to the hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. Food was very good. You can also walk to small shopping area that had clothing, gifts, a general store and ice cream. There is also a Hawaiian cultural center and we watched a free hula show on Saturday afternoon before heading to the airport.
We loved Kauai and the hotel was in a great, central location for exploring the island.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Pretty average hotel. We stayed in ocean front so the view was amazing, but the room is quite out dated. The curtain didn't close, the remote for the TV didn't work, the safe wouldn't turn on and you can feel the springs on the bed. There is no food service available at the hotel so we had to drive somewhere for breakfast every morning. Also there is not enough parking at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReynaFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stumbled onto the IOB after making late reservations during peak season, but this would certainly be our first choice when we return. ...in fact, we *are* returning to Kauai next month and will stay in another condo, one unit over, simply because the IOB is full.

We chose the Kapaa area so as to be between the lush/wet northern island and the sunnier Poipu beaches, and because of this we did wind up driving one way or the other each day. Though this required a fair bit of driving, we'll repeat this plan for our next trip.

Get up early and walk along the beach each morn for the sunrise, or zip over to Lydgate park and watch then sun rise there, and then take a swim in the sheltered swimming area.

Then fuel up with a big breakfast at the awesome Eggbert's Cafe, in the adjoining mall. Great food, friendly and fast!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tandjMoscow_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
535 reviews
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing