We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The property is beautiful and centrally located. Each building is named after a Hawaiian Island, and I got to stay in the Maui. The island is flooded with roosters, so each morning as sun rise is approaching you will get a wake up call. There is a general store, shopping, and eating establishments literally just feet away in the Coconut Market Place. There is coffee and pastries in the lobby in the mornings, the rooms are nice and clean. The staff is nice and very helpful. Give yourself at least a week on the island. There is so much more to see than what is advertised in the travel books.

Room Tip: All rooms will get a wake up call from the roosters. Look into the rooms that say partial ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    633
    229
    77
    48
See reviews for
198
958
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is not a place to stay if you are looking for all the amenities of a resort! It is the place to stay if you want a convenient location to get out and visit the island. It's also great because you can walk to some nice restaurants at night and not have to worry about driving after having a cocktail. You can also cook at the grills in the pool area, which is a great gathering spot at night. The pool bar has a TV and a very friendly bartender. The hot tub is hot! The beach is not raked but you can swim, even with turtles! We found some nice trees to sit under and relax when we did stay at the resort for a few hours. Not often since we were busy exploring the island. The lobby was nice but we rented our unit privately so other than picking up a parking pass we didn't use the front desk. I did use the laundry room and there were plenty of working washers and dryers. The front desk also sells small boxes of laundry detergent and softener and will give you change for the machines! Our unit, Nihau fronted the ocean and it was lovely listening to the surf. Nice lanai for breakfast or dinner. Our unit was not the cleanest but that is a problem of the owner not the condominium complex.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are great for views and surf crashing but most rooms seems to have some kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb04033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Never again will we stay at this Aston property. The front desk staff are not accommodating in the least. They need lessons on customer service. We had a late checkin and could not find a place to park. The room was not clean nor updated. The pool was nice but each night at 10 pm a rude security guard came and harassed hotel guests. We will not return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank gatorfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experiences while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. I apologize for any inconveniece which you experienced while staying with us. I have discussed this incident with my staff and am anticipating resolution to this problem immediately. I hope we have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Mahalo,

Kaniela Neves
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our greatest vacation stay of the three on Kauai. The most restfull and quiet place to stay. Met great people at the tiki bar, excellent breakfasts at Eggberts just around th corner with reasonable prices and found a few other good restaurants nearby to. Traffic is slow moving through Kapaa and nearby, but for the most part, other drivers are patient and respectful. Will certainly be back here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are awesome and near enough to hear the crashing waves. Take the second or third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Thanks to new management..Kaniela Neves, this hotel is back on track! Great continental breakfast is a welcome addition. Staff is always smiling and helpful. Resort is clean and well maintained. Met so many incredible staff and visitors while we were there. Perfect place to explore the rest of the Island. Rooms are well appointed and clean. Pool area is never overly crowded and had no problem snagging a grill to cook our evening meal..which we enjoyed while sitting on our lanai right next to the ocean. Highly recommend this property. Good value, great staff...perfect!

Room Tip: Go for ocean front room...you won't regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonomo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Though this isn't an exceptional property, we were thrilled by its location, on the ocean, its quiet convenience, its unpretentiousness and the ease of doing everything from here. Hawaii, of course, is full of overblown resorts and very pricey gated properties; this had a nice, democratic feeling, and our oceanfront room allowed us to gaze out on the sunrises and sunsets, to take walks along the beach and to drive within minutes to any number of restaurants without feeling the press of crowds or the clamor of a "Holiday Experience."

Many people come back to this resort, which is very reasonably priced, and I would do so every time I returned to Kauai.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are not much more expensive than others, but they offer a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spriyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dan O the bartender, makes the best! The view is awesome! We enjoyed them after a day at Lydgate State Beach which is a great safe and protected beach! Tell Dan O we sent you! Big tv to watch and you can walk on the beach there too! We went at happy hour and they were $6.00!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambajeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing