We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“NICE NICE Condo 214” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NICE NICE Condo 214”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay.Convenient to Kapaa and other points on the island.Many restaurants and eateries closeby.Everything you need is right there at the Resort.We rented direct through the owner,our condo was very well maintained.The grounds were well maintained and you are right on the beach.Price was fair and we would stay again.Thank You for letting us stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    633
    229
    77
    48
See reviews for
198
958
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, we had room 205 with a garden/pool and ocean view, best view we have had from our balcony for a long time. Room smelt a bit musty when we walked in and the furniture had seen better days.Pool area could also do with a bit of work.
We had a complimentary breakfast while we were there, a nice place to meet other people and to have a coffee and pastry, with a lovely view.
We had to walk along the main road to find somewhere to eat, we struggled a bit without a car as there aren't any restaurants as such near the hotel. Two great supermarkets tho about 20 mins walk.
We found a nice local bar and an Italian restaurant where you could take yr own drinks.
There were a lot of rocks along the beach and not advisable for swimming.
A nice relaxing place to stay.
Think we would stay again if we came back.

Room Tip: pool/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equestrian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nicely equipped owner condo, typical hotel sized room -- I stayed here for 3 nights before my wedding. Condo included many kitchen appliances (blender, toaster oven, microwave, utensils, fridge) and was tastefully decorated. Lots of pillows, well run A/C unit and clean/modern overall. Manager was very prompt when contacted regarding any issues (a/c remote needed batteries, hair dryer replacement, etc). My only suggestion is to update the showerhead/shower as the fixture seemed to be moving out of the wall; it also had a very strong bleach smell when I first arrived -- at least I knew it was clean! Towels could also use upgrading. 10am check out is a little early but worked fine for me since I was continuing my trip elsewhere on the island. Also included plenty of beach equipment: chairs, towels, beach bag, etc.

Be warned: the parking is tough at night but if you see the night guards, they will help you with overflow parking. Please note this specific room was located on the second floor (corner unit) of the "main building" (where the lobby is located). Not the best location but you can still see the ocean. Centrally located on the island and great price!

Room Tip: Kauai and Nihau buildings have the best views of the ocean but we also liked Molokai
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkchompsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very beautiful. Wonderful rooms. It is a bit far to walk to kapaa town though. Not many places to dine around so difficult to plan dinners. Would be lovely if this resort had a restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked an ocean front room for a stay in Kauai for a family wedding. The view was amazing! Pretty standard room; bed, bathroom, tv, mini fridge, balcony. We loved sleeping with the balcony door open and listening to the waves. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was a pain, the lot was always crowded and it was a bit of a walk to our room but overall we enjoyed our stay. Be sure to visit the coconut marketplace nearby!

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room! FRONT, not oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackJack6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room on the first floor. The ocean is so close and there's a nice breeze. There's also not too much foot traffic along the beach path so it is nice and quiet. The room was very clean and was as advertised. The larger mini fridge was perfect to keep the week's essentials in.

The grounds are kept up nicely. There's a beautiful orchid garden by the lobby. The pool and hot tub were great; especially loved the bungalows on the side of the pool. We also grilled out here a few nights. The Sand Bar was a ton of fun. The bartenders were easy to talk to and very attentive. Every employee we saw greeted us and were friendly & warm. The only complaint that I have about this place is the parking. It's great if you can get back in mid-afternoon but during/after dinner time, forget it. Trees Lounge and the fabulous restaurant next door (Hukilau Lanai) take up most of the parking at this time. Then you have to park at the Coconut Marketplace with a pass provided by the security guard. You do have to move your care by 10 AM the next morning. Inconvenient.

If you are planning on staying in Kauai and exploring every inch like we did, Kapaa is the town to stay in. It's in between the north shore and the south shore. The drive is about the same to the furthest point of each. If you want to stay at the hotel and walk out to sit on the beach every day, it's probably not the hotel for you. The water is a little rougher here than in Poipu. You are able to swim at this beach though. The town is a short drive to the airport too. The Coconut Marketplace directly behind the hotel offers great shopping and a variety store. This is also close to two supermarkets if you're planning a longer stay. Overall, great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I read many of the reviews before booking this hotel and it exceeded my expectations. As suggested by another reviewer, I booked a garden view room, hoping for an upgrade since we were visiting in September. Sure enough, we were offered an ocean front room for only $15 more a night than the room I had booked. We chose a ground level room and It was WONDERFUL to wake up to the sound of the waves. The hotel is beautifully landscaped, very clean, and the rooms are very nice with a kitchenette, love seat, and a table and 2 chairs in addition to the bed. We had an AC unit in ours but no fan. Personally, I would have preferred a fan (the temps were only in the mid 80's) because the AC unit was right on the lanai and was pretty loud. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ocean front. And if you don't need AC, make sure the room has a fan. The AC unit is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing