We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Really enjoyed the peaceful sounds of the ocean. We rented from the owner so we knew what we were getting. It is close to the north shore and south so great location to go visit both. I didnt use the pool but i did see it - its small. But you have a whole beach right in front of the hotel to enjoy so i would recommend the beach instead. The room was great and it was peaceful to hear the waves crashing on the shore at night. This hotel enforces a non smoking rule on the lanais and property. There are designated areas for smokers though. Please refrain from coming here if you cannot follow their rules. For people like me who travel to places like kauai to breathe in the fresh air, we prefer if no smokers are around. we had some annoying loud neighbors who we saw smoke on their lanais. Its horrible because once we open the door in our room, the smoke smell will travel to our room. We didnt have a problem with parking but then again we did come back by 7 every night. There is a great fish market hole in the wall right outside the hotel. they had some great wraps if you dont feel like heading out. There are many places nearby in the coconut marketplace as well. So overall, a quiet, relaxing beautiful hotel. Get an ocean view if you can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank mslinh210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
There are newer reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2007 and decided to stay again for our vacation to Kauai from 8/30/13-9/6/13. It was pretty much exactly how we remembered it. We do not spend much time in the room or at the hotel when on vacation, so this place is great for us. The location cannot be beat. It is a great base for exploring the entire island. It is conveniently located next to the Coconut Marketplace which has a few good places to eat, a general store and some shops for souvenirs. The room has enough space and has a small kitchenette. We left most mornings before the complimentary breakfast (7-9am), but ate it on a few days. It needs to be improved, just coffee and pastries. The resort fee includes movies you can rent from a kiosk in the lobby. We rented 3 movies during our stay. It was much more crowded than during our last stay, but we did visit over Labor Day. Parking was an issue on 2 nights, where we had to park in the "overflow" lot. There were several instances where we went to the front desk to ask a question/get beach towels, and no one was there. Also, wish they had recycling bins in the rooms. Overall, we do like this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor ocean view rooms have a great view but keep in mind there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolverine_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here the first two nights of our trip to Kauai. Some good karma got us bumped from the lower end room to an ocean view room. Great views of the beach and coast. We didn't do any swimming at the beach but it was great for combing. Nice room, A/C worked well, spacious and comfortable. Small deck off the room. I agree with other posts in that parking can be a challenge. Our first night the lot was full so we had to park in the Coconut market place about a 1/4 mile away. Really not that big of deal for us.

Room Tip: Ocean view was superb.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The last 3 nights of our stay here at the Aston Islander Hotel, parking pass and all, we spend way too much time looking for open spots. The lot is always full by 7pm and then they send you to the back lot of a shopping center to park. They get $150 a night for a room but we get to park our car in the darkness of a dimly light overflow lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VRBOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your stay at the Aston Islander on the Beach. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We understand the frustration with occasional parking issues from time to time. We have our Security team members assist our guests as parking issues arise. Additionally, we have currently approved a parking restructuring project that will add a significant amount of spaces to alleviate the limited parking issue. Please join us when visiting the Island of Kauai during your next stay, we pride ourselves on continuing to improve our guest experiences and customer services to our guests.

Mahalo,

Kaniela Neves
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for just a couple of nights but was really happy with my stay! I had a second floor ocean view room and it was beautiful to look out the door. Nice to have chairs on the balcony to enjoy the view. I was skeptical about being "on the beach", however, it was only a stones throw away! I enjoyed the lounge chairs they had on the beach for us to use and watching the waves and listening to the ocean was very peaceful. My room was very clean and comfortable. It wasn't a problem for me, but there are no elevators. My only complaint would be that there is not enough parking for guests! If you are not back to the hotel by 7pm, you will have to park down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jenette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 8/23 through 8/28/2013. The hotel is a good value for the price. The lobby is very pretty and is open with a view of the pool and ocean. The rooms are spacious enough with a kitchen and large bathroom. The kitchens contain a small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. The kitchen is stocked with dishes and utensils which is handy if you want to bring in food. There is no restaurant onsite but there is a restaurant at the edge of the parking lot as well as a bar and a few other small shops. There is also a shopping center with restaurants, souveniers, clothing, a market, ice cream, etc. directly across the parking lot. The hotel has a nice pool that overlooks the ocean. There is a bar at the pool that serves drinks and snacks. The staff was friendly. The maid service was great. The rooms are steps away from the beach and you can hear the ocean from your balcony. This hotel serves a continental breakfast for free every day except Sundays. The continental breakfast is not much, but it is a nice touch. They have coffee, pastries and fruit. There are chairs lining the beach if you want to go and lay out. It is a very peaceful hotel with beautiful views from the beach. The only negatives would be that the parking is horrible at night. If you are out at night, you will find it very hard to find a parking spot at the hotel. There is a club at the edge of the parking lot and for some reason the hotel allows the patrons to park in their lot. I literally could not find any parking 3 nights of my stay. I ended up having to park in a shopping center down the road. The second negative was that there is no elevator! I was staying on the third floor and hauling my luggage up three flights of stairs in the heat was no fun! Hopefully they will work on their parking situation for future guests. The parking would be the only reason I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: The third floor is nice because you can leave your sliding glass door open at night and listen to th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scsherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect to enjoy the beach and plenty of food options within walking distance. We booked through a private owner so we can't comment on the services provided to Hoyle guests. I loved our rooms location and view of the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanna1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
577 reviews
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $172 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a voucher for a refreshing Mango Lemonade OR Imua Coffee per paying adult, per one time per stay, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing