We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay. We had a second floor oceanfront room (247). The location of the room was the reason I loved the hotel so much. Although we were gone a lot, the view from the room was fantastic. The rooms have air conditioning, a microwave, refrigerator and dishes. Coming in July, we used the air conditioning. We really enjoyed the Sand Bar (a small bar next to the pool), it was a great place for socializing. Jason and Eric were wonderful bartenders. The bar was closing for remodeling but fortunately, we were there before it closed. Everyone on the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back but only if I had an oceanfront room.

Room Tip: Splurge on the oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TirelessTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    633
    229
    77
    48
See reviews for
198
958
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two and a half years ago and had a great time. So when we returned to Kauai, we booked here again. However, it seemed that the hotel was a bit neglected over that time.Our first room that we were given was very musty. The second was better, but not great. A major renovation is going on to some of the buildings. I guess management felt the same way. The location is great - on the beach and equidistant between the north and south shore.
Hopefully, the finish the renovations soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iperelmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Kauai and first time to stay at an Aston property. I have however stayed in 3 star hotels on Maui that had so much more to offer. First of all the overall atmosphere was very nice. I liked the simple, very Hawaiian feeling lobby area that led out to the pool/bar area. The room was perfectly fine. Nothing fancy but if you're in Hawaii, you shouldn't be spending much time in your room anyway. One of the things that they offered was free dvd rental. This should have been the first clue that they don't get it. If people are having to rent dvd's, you obviously aren't offering enough entertainment. The swimming pool and the bar were the only two real social gathering places. People with kids could play at the pool, the adults could play at the bar. This leads to another "they don't get it" situation. At the beginning of the 2nd week of our stay, they closed the bar for remodeling. Why would you choose to remodel during the height of your tourism season. This is the middle of July and the bar will be closed for 3 weeks. Fortunately I met a lot of people during the one week that the bar was open and we all decided to go next door to their competitor, The Hukilau pool bar. I'm sure they appreciated The Islander's stupidity. Sadly, the bartenders at the Islander were great! Jason and Eric know how to make drinks! Aston Islander on the Beach does not understand that the bar is the place where people come together at the end of the day and discuss all the cool things they have done. I talked to some regular guests and apparently this not the first time that this has happened. Evidently they try to remodel and it took over two years for them to reopen. Besides the closed bar which they did not inform anyone about, the parking absolutely sucks! If you are out all day enjoying the island, which you should be, when you get back to the hotel you probably will be parking in B.F.E. and on someone else's property. If you do find a spot, don't forget to put your parking tag on the vehicle. Even though they have your license plate on file, they will still leave you a nasty little note telling you that you're about to be towed. Nice customer service. There's also not much beach area to speak of, so if you plan on laying on the beach and swimming in the ocean, do not stay here. You will be disappointed. If you want to stay in the area, it looks to me like the hotel next door may be a better choice. Kauai Beach Resort has more parking better area to layout and tan, better pool, a bar that is open during the busy season, and an awesome restaurant, Hukilau Lanai. If you're not a pool bar fan then this hotel probably deserves an average rating but I gave it a poor rating because of the closure and the failure to inform us that this was going to happen. I really think they just don't get it!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main building, if you can help it. You will get a lot of parking lot noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. We understand that there is never a good time to remodel and are very sensitive of our guests experience while at the property. Please know that the NEW Sand Bar will boast new cabinets, sinks, granite counter tops, bar equipment, lighting and a complete surround sound system for our guests enjoyment. Please consider visiting us in the near future and I'll be happy to assist you in your future reservation.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room on the third floor had a wonderful view...sitting on the balcony was extremely relaxing as all you heard was the waves hitting the shore. The rooms are somewhat dated but have a refrigerator, micro, sink , a/c and coffee pot. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel does not have many amenities but for the price it offers you a peaceful oceanfront room with a spectacular view. Currently, the poolside bar is being updated so it is closed. There is construction going on but our room was not near the construction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My 2nd visit to the Aston Islander in a year. My last visit was in Dec. 2012, for 3 weeks. I found it to be centrally located, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced — ideal for my purposes. It's more of a "self-drive" condominium-type bed stop than a proper resort hotel. I stayed in an ocean-front room both times. More expensive than a garden room but, given hotel prices around the world, or the Hawaiian Islands for that matter, the price is still reasonable. Note that you get a discount (a small one, calculated by percentage) if you book by the week.
"Ocean front" faces the ocean, but there is a small garden area and a walking/jogging track between your room and the ocean. The rooms are built on three floors. Which floor you prefer will depend on what you're looking for. Third floor — my choice — is better for privacy. (No elevators; you do have to haul your luggage up 2 flights of stairs.) The ground floor opens right onto the walking/jogging path, but on the other hand you have access to your own "garden," complete with table and lawn furniture. This would be the choice if you're entertaining, or simply want to sit after dark, chatting with passersby.
Now the caveat. In December, I stayed in the Nihau building, which at the time was very quiet and private and away from the pool. I checked into the same room when I arrived, late at night, but this time I switched, owing to massive renovation on the Molokai building, which is beside the Nihau and back from the beach a bit. Cyclone fences, a very aggressive "Keep Out" sign, scaffolding, an earth mover, even a Port-a-potty. Not so much renovation as full-on construction.
Worse, the workers drive their 4x4s and pickup trucks on the garden path, and park them directly in front. If you're in a ground floor ocean-front room in the wrong building, you will have workers parking their trucks right on your front porch.
The front staff are very understanding, and are as accommodating as they can be, while taking into consideration pre-bookings and the like. The problem is not with them, or with the hotel staff in general, but with hotel management, and the chain above. In my case, I asked for a change of room, and after a few hours of worry, got my wish.
Bottom line: The Aston Islander is a terrific place to stay, provided you don't expect much in the way of amenities, on-site restaurants, room service and the like. It's an ideal place to rest and relax — provided.
Provided, that is, you don't end up in the middle of the construction. The work looks to be extensive, and so is likely to be slow and take a long time. If you're planning a visit anywhere near the time this review is posted, you'll want to call ahead, just to be sure.
The hotel is wonderful, and the staff are wonderful, too.
On the other hand, Aston, as a company, should take better care of their asset and be more sensitive to the needs of the paying guests who are there right now. Allowing parking on ocean-front gardens seems to me to be unforgivable, and so are the ugly tire ruts in the grass — on the other side of the hotel! — where drivers just blow past people's rooms on their way to the site.

Room Tip: If booking in July, 2013, or any time soon after that, check ahead to make sure you avoid the constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzunguPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here on our second leg of our Island Hop as recommended by my daughter and son-in-law who stayed here in January. After Tripmasters made our reservation, I followed up by calling and asking for a room with a king bed. The Aston rep was very accommodating and we ended up with a full ocean view rather than a garden view! Location was great as we were one floor up from the lobby - easy access to front desk, DVD kiosk, beach towels and parking lot. On Saturday, there was poolside entertainment and $1 beers. We enjoyed the music from our lanai!
This property has an adjacent restaurant and is behind Coconut Marketplace - ideal location for souvenir shopping, shave ice, and Lappert's Ice Cream!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank iTinKso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary in a beachfront room - and beachfront is true! Our room was ground floor, just metres from the beach. The room was large, with a kitchenette. The bathroom could have been updated, but it wan't bad. The staff were lovely, grounds immaculate, and poolside bar fantastic!

Kauai is a lovely island, especially if you have transport. If we ever come back, it will be to here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWQ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing