We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. Not a good pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location. Not a good pool.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were happy with the location. Walking distance to stores and restaurants. Pool was very tiny, we didn't bother going to it. No lounges or anything on the beach. Room was clean. Kitchenette includes microwave, dorm size fridge, coffee maker and sink. A toaster would have been nice. We had partial ocean view and were pleased with view. Spent time on our balcony every day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying with us.

It's wonderful to hear from our guests on their experiences during their time at the property and on Kauai.

Yes, we agree that the pool is "small" for the number of units on property. We wish there was a way to increase the size. Maybe one day in the future, the association will look to expanding the pool area.

Aloha!

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    657
    245
    80
    49
See reviews for
209
996
75
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashley, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Highly recommend the oceanfront rooms. These are nice studio rooms with granite counter tops and tile floors. There is a kitchenette. Nice sitting area and a relaxing lanai. Nice pool in view of the ocean with a poolside bar. Overall, highly recommend this property. It is within walking distance of the Coconut Marketplace, there's a lot of shopping and a good breakfast place, Eggbert's. Don't miss Hukilau Lanai for dinner, walking distance at the resort next door, just make sure to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank actoymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Overall this was a nice property. We have stayed at properties on the Big Island and Maui and they were always nicely decorated with a Hawaiian feel. This room had one picture on a 30 foot wall..one. The furniture was nice and a big perk was the bed which was very comfortable. We had a good sized refrigerator, a sink and microwave and there were utensils and plates/glasses/cups. A coffee maker was provided with two filters of coffee each day. A nice lanai overlooking the pool area was also very cool. The staff was awesome and the people keeping the grounds did a great job as the grounds were immaculate. There was the Coconut Market within 2 minutes walking distance and other shops and places to eat that made this property very comfortable. I would stay here again but would recommend that owners would do a little "decorating" to make room 242 feel like a vacationer was in a tropical room. The Tiki Bar near the pool was a very nice thing to have right there.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant at this property however, several very nice ones close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the first time I've done a review but our time spent at Islander was so great I felt I had to congratulate them in some way. Our room was perfect, anything we ever needed, from advice on where to eat to help with figuring out the DVD player, was done promptly and courteously. The property was beautiful, well-kept and peaceful. You'd never know that only a short walk away you could reach restaurants, shops and entertainment. We'd highly recommend this hotel resort to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Hawaii. P.S. Sue at the front desk and Mome in the concierge's office were exceptional and Esther did a great job taking care of our room.
Pam and Doug

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I got this resort through priceline, although after some more research found almost the same deal on normal websites. We ended up with a ocean view room on the 3rd floor. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is literally a step or two away from the property. The pool has a bar and a few BBQ's to grill your own food. The rooms have a sink, microwave, mini fridge and a few dishes/glasses/silverware for use. There is a resort fee of $15 per night in addition to whatever rate you get, however there are no other fees for parking, internet, playstation2 in the room, a movie kiosk, BBQ, newspaper. The lanai (deck) has two chairs and a table. Perfect location right in between north and south shore activities. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlarsonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before booking, I heard all of the complaints about the parking and some of customer service, but in all reality when we got there we only had to park at the adjacent lot a few nights, the security guard was a pleasure to speak with when we did have to get a pass those few nights, it was so NOT a problem! The walk was maybe an extra 25 feet from parking at the actual Islander. So please don't let that stop you. We did have a problem with our hotel keys not working, but we reported problem and door was fixed, problem came back and we were changed to another room immediately. New room did not have a single problem and keys worked every single time. Bar was great, amazing Mai Tai's from Jason who loved to share knowledge of the island. Tree's next door had great live music, would return here again and again, would recommend to friends and family. Slept Beach Front with Slider open to sounds of waves crashing every night, monk seal was beached right in front of the hotel all day one day, amazing and beautiful views. great location, Kapaa has all food and store nearby, great travel point for the island.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronnica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I travel to Kauai often and we have stayed at The Islander on a number of occasions. Each time, we have enjoyed our stay with no issues. The Aston Islander is in one of the most convenient locations on the island, but right on the beach, which is nice.

Each room has a simple, but very nice wet bar, complete with sink, fridge, microwave, and serving ware. There is no stove or hot plate, but being right next door to the Coconut Marketplace, you're within walking distance to several restaurants (including those in the hotel next door). If you can, I would recommend an ocean view room for incredible views of the water and the peace and quiet most of us want while on the island. The hotel has a nice pool (which we don't use as we prefer the ocean) and hot tub with a pool bar on the patio. The complex also has laundry facilities and several grills for guest use.

The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and comfortable AC. Amenities for the bath are provided, as is iron and ironing board. There is also an in-room safe which is nice for laptops. The office personnel have always been helpful and friendly and we have always had great luck with the friendly housekeeping staff.

The only gripe I have is that wi-fi is only available in the lobby. Some privately owned rooms do offer wi-fi in room, but often ate cost. There are, of course, the standard resortnfees, which I find annoying. Also, please note that swimming in the ocean at the hotel site can be dangerous - be very cautious if you you swim and know that there aren't ant lifeguards nearby.

But you sure can't beat the price, the location, and the views! Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing