We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a week long reservation at the recommendation of a friend. Although the condo was clean and we got a great deal, unfortunately, the Aston Islander has seen its day. The pool area is small and crowded. The sand at the beach was coarse and the beach was not swimmable at least when we went (Feb). The shops area that is within walking distance was similarly run down and, quite frankly, depressing. There is laundry on-site, which was convenient. The location is also pretty decent in terms of its proximity to the airport and being able to explore the S/SW side of the island. We did, however, end up leaving our reservation early (and eating the cost of the remaining days as we were paid in full) to go to another hotel. Just don't get a nice "resorty" feel here. It reminded me of the cheap vacations to Virginia Beach I took as a kid vs. being in Hawaii for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nonsense100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Aloha & thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

The beach is rough, especially during the winter when the surf is high, making it not a swimmable beach. It's a great spot to sunbath and watch the sunrise. If you were were when the moon was full, it's breathtaking to see it come up on the horizon.

The Coconut Market Place was recently bought and it is undergoing major renovations. The great spot there is Eggberts with their wonderful banana pancakes.

I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations but do hope you were able to find a property with full service and you found many wonderful spots to see on our special island of Kauai.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutek@astonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for two weeks and this central Hotel was clean, well furnished in ideal for our self catering needs. Laundry on site very convenient and the staff extremley helpful. The beach was quiet and the pool a little cramped but if you hired a car, drive to Anini beach, Hanalei bay or Kips bay.
The cafe across the way is good, if you want to pay for breakfast each day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenHamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in an ocean front room here for 7 nights. The hotel is very charming, especially the open lobby. Our room was clean and our good-sized balcony provided plenty of room for dining and it provided a wonderful view of the ocean and Hawaiian sunrises. Unfortunately, the beach was not appropriate for swimming and pigeons were a bit of a nuisance. We felt the reception desk staff could have been a bit more friendly & helpful, and we found the $15 per night "resort" fee a bit much, especially considering it included free DVD rentals from a machine that was broken for most of the week. Nevertheless, we would stay here again, as it was very clean, comfortable, and a most convenient location to explore the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are quite reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HamiltonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The property was clean, close to the ocean and close to shopping/ dining. The Islander is not bad if you know you're not getting any frills, service or romantic setting. Probably great place to lay your head at night while you explore during the day. Most of the clientele appeared to be smoking their last cigarette and enjoying the sun for their last few days of life. So, if expecting atmosphere at the hotel, this is not your place.

We had a second floor ocean view room. The room lacked privacy. Folks walk along the trail along the beach were able to see into the entire room. There was a fixed curtain on the right side that covered about 1/3 of the view.

TIPS AND FAVORITES:
There is a nice cement trail that lines the ocean and starts about 3/4 mile to the north. The trail takes you along the ocean through Kapa'a, beaches and is a nice flat, beautiful ride. You can rent beach chairs, bikes, snorkel gear, etc. right in the parking lot of the Islander. If you like fish tacos check out Monico's about five minute walk south and/ or Tiki Tacos 15/20 minute(???) walk to the north. Starbucks is a 10 minute walk to the north.

Room Tip: The "oceanfront" rooms do not have enough privacy to leave the curtains/ door open without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaureenMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It's always great to read comments from our guests. I am sorry to read that you your stay was not to your expectations.

Yes, our ocean front units all front the jogging path. The drapery has a black out drapery that covers the entire sliding glass door and the stationary drapery over the window. We will go and check all of our ocean front units to be sure that the drapery covers that entire area.

I do hope you were able to enjoy the sunrises and the beach frontage during your stay with us.
Everyone is looking forward to the completion of the bike path that will go from Lydgate Park to and including Kealia. Come back and experience the unobstructed view of the ocean from the path that traverses the resorts in the Wailua to Kealia areas.

Should you have other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
Fax: 808 822-1947

sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms have been clean. The staff has been helpful. One of the best experiences at the Aston Islander are the conversations with a great bar tender! However, the hot tub is a touch too warm. There are construction noises and distractions at times, which is excusable.
The location is central location to island activities and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Rented a studio through the owner at this complex. The space was an older remodel, nicely decorated in Tommy Bahamas island style, and had all the necessities except a dishwasher. We had a partial ocean view, could hear the surf. The grounds were pretty, the office staff was helpful. The beach was beautiful to look at, but tough to swim, with coral reefs abundant. It was a quick walk to a nearby secluded beach for swim and snorkeling. The town was easy walking distance for groceries, trinkets, etc. Good restaurants were nearby. We traveled during a very busy week and couldn't get a rental car until the last 24 hrs of our stay. (We used the local bus, which was easy, timely and cheap.) We encountered a busy parking lot at night, but we found a place behind the local bar. There was plenty of street parking. The clientele seemed older, which added to the serenity to the place, (except during poolside happy-hour). For a moderate priced place in Hawaii, it met all my expectations and then some.

Room Tip: stayed in 216. If I go back I'd like to stay on the front oceanfront row
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We rented Unit 152 from a private owner so we didn't have to deal with the resort fees.
As far as the staff, they would hardly even speak to us once they determined we didn't rent through the resort.

Our room was literally feet away from the ocean and very comfortable, but very small. I really don't see how more than two people could share a room. We choose a 1st floor room because we knew the resort didn't have an elevator and we didn't want to have to drag bags up and down stairs. While the 1st floor room offered immediate access to the beach, it didn't have the view you would have from a higher floor. It also wasn't nearly as private since there was a walkway between your room from the beach.

Alll that being said, it was a great experience for us and the accomodations couldn't be beat for the price. People have to remember that Hawaii is very expensive and you get what you pay for. If you want to stay at a 5-star resort than be prepared to pay several hundred dollars a night. We would rather spend that extra money on helicopter tours, boating and all of the other wonderful things to do in Hawaii. We would absolutely rent this unit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 123Beachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
141 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#2 of 11 in Kapaa
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
14.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $185 - $1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a voucher for a refreshing Mango Lemonade OR Imua Coffee per paying adult, per one time per stay, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing