We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Romantic Getaway right on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just spent our 28th wedding anniversary here. Could not have been more perfect. Sound of the ocean at night a few yards to walk and see the sunrise over the ocean each morning. Great hot tub, pool and bar area at night to exchange days activities with friendly guests. Great for walking and centrally located for easy access to north or south areas of the Island. Highly satisfied, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon. While the hotel and our room were not fancy, they more than met our needs for the trip.

We had reserved an oceanview room, however it was on the third floor of the hotel with open railings. As my husband doesn't do heights too well, he talked with the woman at the front desk and she was able to upgrade us to a first floor ocean front room! It was amazing to open the glass door of our room, walk off the lanai, across the grass and be on the beach is 30 seconds!

This hotel does have a pool and bar (although we did not try these), has kitcenettes (at least microwave, sink and fridge in ours) and offers free DVD rentals. We enjoyed being able to pick up some snacks at the local grocery store and come back to the room to watch movies at night. This hotel is very relaxing and laid back - the perfect combination for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMoose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

What I liked: far enough from the road that there is no car noise, close to ocean, has a hot tub, right next to a small shopping/coffee/restaurants area, pretty grounds

What was less great: no real kitchen in the rooms, not possible to swim in that ocean at all (waves too big and treacherous)

Room Tip: The ocean-front rooms are really noisy because the ocean is fierce and windy there. You might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tell-u-what-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

What I liked about the room/resort:
* super close to beach (2 min walk to beach from room)
* can hear sound of ocean
* can watch sunrise from the room/balcony
* clean room
* quiet environment (no noise from other rooms)
* no roosters!
* comfortable bed
* welcome gift (kauai DVD, candy, Tote bag, notepad etc)
* no parking/resort fee

What I didn't like about the room/resort:
* not enough parking.
* jacuzzi (in pool area) is to small
* no maid service during stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summer_LosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review.

It's great to hear from everyone and we take pride in making sure everyone has a great time on Kauai.

I am sorry to read that we missed on the housekeeping services. I will check on that as we do go to the units daily to remove trash, make the beds, clean the bathrooms and replace towels. The bed linens are changed on the 3rd day. The dishes are not done during any stay.

Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have further questions.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutek@astonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again. We booked it through Costco Travel and ordered the "ocean view" room. When we checked in, the room wasn't ready yet so they upgraded us to a "ocean front" room, which was awesome. We had a stunning view from our room on the third floor. I even saw a couple of turtles swimming along the coast one evening (at around 5pm)!

Our room was in perfect condition and had a nice kitchenette and easy to use internet access. The room was a little small, but big enough for the two of us. There is a $10 a day ammenities fee, which includes the newspaper, coffee and free access to their DVD Redbox machine. Also it gets quite windy and a little cool in the evening on the ocean, so a light jacket comes in handy.

The hotel is behind a little shopping center that has some nice places to eat and a delicious shaved ice stand. There were a lot of vacancies in this center but it had everything that our hearts desired (shaved ice, post cards, and mahi-mahi burgers!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa_sunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach; you can see the beach from most rooms. It is very clean and the landscapping is amazing. It is right beside the Coconut marketplace and walking distance to many restaurants and a grocery store. The rooms have a wet bar with a little sink, microwave and fridge. You can stay at this hotel without renting a car and that is rare for Kauai. There is also several free shows at the Marketplace. Outstanding for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nazarenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 10 days at the Islander on the Beach, it was a wonderful experience from the minute we arrived till the morning we left. all the staff from the night security to the pool bar, and reception to room cleaners were absolutely wonderful, we stayed in room 363 with a wonderful sea front veiw. If you are wondering whether to book this hotel or not trust me and book we came all the way from Scotland and have no complaints whatsoever. Hopefully we will be able to return in the near future and we will not go past the Islander it is a clean and comfortable hotel reasonably priced with excellent staff and set in beautiful well kept gardens. Gerry & Liz Paterson.

Room Tip: Book a sea front veiw its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gerryp0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
105 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#2 of 11 in Kapaa
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $190 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a voucher for a refreshing Mango Lemonade OR Imua Coffee per paying adult, per one time per stay, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing