We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hearted Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hearted Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I had originally booked an ocean veiw room for my last night in Kauai. Unfortunately I broke my ankle while hiking and had to finish my camping trip early. I called Aston islander an asked what their lowest amount was for a room.( wasn't planning on the cost of a hotel for 2 nights)
Aston islander said their garden veiw was the lowest cost. Anyways when I checked in they kindly put me in ocean veiw for a garden veiw cost so I wouldn't have to change rooms.

They were very accomadating and kind to me;)

Mahalo,

Ps the restraunt on site (fish taco) was great and they make amazing fresh salsa.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    623
    223
    76
    48
See reviews for
193
934
68
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had make reservations for our first vacation in over 20 years. I wnted a room with a view of the ocean and a king bed. I even emailed the manager in advance and stated what I wanted and I didnt want to be near alot of noise. We checked in with a very surly young lady, were informed we would be required to pay a 10.00 per day "hospitality fee" on top of our room and a 25 "towel fee". Already not happy we went to check out our room. Up three flights of stairs to our little vacation spot to find 2 twin beds and major construction going on outside our window. Needless to say we left to find something else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the error that was made on your reservation. We did have it noted to upgrade to a unit with a king bed and a view.

Upon hearing of the error, the change was made to have you in the unit as you had requested only to hear that you had selected to find other accommodations.

I do hope you were able to enjoy your vacation on Kauai by seeing the many sights and enjoying the activities - kayaking, ziplining, hiking, etc.

Wishing you a most JOYOUS HOLIDAY SEASON.

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
signal hill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Islander for 8 nights and were very pleased with the accommodations. The grounds are very beautiful and spacious with an orchid garden and reminded us of the days before the mega resorts. The unit was very clean, comfortable and had amenities such as coffee maker, microwave, mini-refrigerator, cutlery, dishes, a/c, etc., to make our stay all the more comfortable. We were able to pack picnic lunches for our outings and enjoy morning coffee on the lanai. While the hotel does not have a restaurant, it is walking distance to some very good restaurants, casual restaurants, and bakeries. It is a great starting point in that it is equi-distant to the north, south and west shore. While we were there we got in some great snorkeling at Lawai beach on the south shore. One suggestion is to go earlier in the day as the surf gets choppy as the day progresses. We have our own beach towels as it's just our preference so we don't have an issue with the towels. And while the staff is not touchy-feely, I find them pleasant and accomodating. I don't understand all the negative feedback as I've never had a negative encounter with any staff while there. While you are in Kauai I recommend the Sunday Brunch at the Kilohana Plantation. One of the better brunches I've been to and probably the best brunch on the island. After brunch it was nice to explore the grounds there and browse the wonderful artwork and jewelry. On the north shore we always enjoy the local entertainment at Tahiti Nui although it's gotten a bit touristy since 'The Descendents' movie. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Kauai and at the Islander and look forward to staying there again on our next visit to this beautiful island. In all I would highly recommend the Islander on the Beach.

Room Tip: Corner suites are best and we prefer the ground floor since there isn't elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Aston Islander on the Beach last month and we loved. The unit is well equipped, the gardens are wonderful and the location is perfect in the center of the island. The sunshine at the beach is awesome.The only flaw is that the parking lot is often full , but apart from this fact we recommend everyone looking for a hotel in Kauai to consider the Aston Islander on the Beach as a great option to stay.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are great. Just pay extra for sea view room if you intend to spend time in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arvrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were looking for a reasonably priced and centrally located hotel on Kauai and the Aston Islander on the beach didn’t disappoint. It’s close enough to the Airport for convenience (A short 15 minute drive) and almost half way between the major Kauai attractions of Waimea Canyon and the Kalalau trail.

Our room was spacious, and we had a beautiful partial view of the sea from our balcony. It was always kept spotlessly clean and was very well equipped. The grounds of the hotel were also well kept and full of colour. There was a decent sized parking lot and if you couldn’t get a spot outside the hotel there was easily accessibly overflow parking.

There were a few small issues that are worth mentioning, the first being the compulsory $10 a day ‘resort fee’, which if we’d had the choice we’d have opted out of. WiFi is useful but we’re on holiday to get away from the distraction of the internet, and dvd rental again is something which was completely unnecessary for us. Finally like most people holidaying in Hawaii we had our own beach towels, so they added little to our stay. All in all we were made to pay $10 extra a day for nothing of any worth to us and it seemed like a bit of a cheap shot way to pull in some extra revenue for the hotel.

We also had an issue with the service from the front desk, we were provided with a leaflet for the Kilohana Plantation Luau upon arrival and decided to use this to book a trip, we took the completed form to reception and were told to pick up the ticket later in the day, we did this and the hotel kept a copy for their records. Unfortunately later on in the day I misplaced the ticket and on return to reception I apologised for my lack of care and requested another copy. I was informed by a rude and stand-offish receptionist that this was impossible and that the voucher should have been treated as cash, she also said in a patronising tone ‘You should have been more careful.’ I requested to speak to a manager and after a short conversation I was provided with another voucher at no extra charge. Of course I realise that losing the voucher was my own fault, however as the hotel had their own copy of the voucher, it seemed nothing short of laziness on the receptionists part to not just provide me with another copy in the first instance.

Regardless of these two minor problems, I would not hesitate to recommend the Aston Islander on the beach and would happily stay there again should we return to Kauai in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and of a pretty good standard, it was a bonus to have cutlery and utensils so were able to have breakfast in the mornings before exploring the rest of Kauai. The hotel has beautiful grounds and a nice (smallish) swimming pool. We definitely enjoyed the spa in the evenings when it was slightly cooler. The free dvds and in-room wifi were also great.
It is a great hotel for the price (when compared to other options on the island) and is within walking distance, or very short drive to restaurants in Kapaa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pjej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani Town, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great views-right on the ocean, try to get a third floor room, great location- right on the beach and easy drive to any attraction, great clean rooms, parking is alright but also free, would absolutely stay here again. The pool is nice and has a pool bar which was cool. Didn't see a fitness center but only there 4 days so didn't really look too hard. There was construction on one building but they didn't start working too early or finish too late. Just a temporary cost in order to keep rooms updated and nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
0.8 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing