We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place, GREAT location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really nice place, GREAT location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Aston Islander was a really nice condo/hotel. The room was clean, the pool was nice, the beach was great, sunrise there was lovely, it was nice to have a laundramat on site, and it was really close to TONS of amenities. Kapaa was a great location for our week in Kauai. There were tons of great restaurants nearby, lots of things to do on the eastside, easy access to the north and the south.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycathdetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    657
    245
    80
    49
See reviews for
209
996
75
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in Islander on the Beach Condo 158. This condo was everything we hoped it would be. My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Kauai, and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The location is easily reached from the airport and equidistant from both west and north side attractions. Check-in was easy and the condo staff were helpful during all our interactions with them. Yes, the condo really is that close to the beach. Walking thirty seconds to the beach to watch the sunrise, then drinking our coffee on the patio = PERFECT. The room was well-stocked and comfortable, which we distinctly appreciated on our first day in, since our luggage arrived late. We saved money by eating some of our meals at home thanks to the well-supplied kitchen. The beach gear provided was a very nice touch too! The only things that might be considered downsides were not issues for us, but might be for other people. The room was perfect for the two of us but might be crowded with more folks, despite the sofa bed. The pool, hot tub and bar were low-key and spacious, but might be underwhelming for people who want the feel of a busy luxe resort chock full of tourists. We felt these were advantages, but to each his own.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We returned for our second stay at the Islander Sept 3-14 and again had a very good experience. If you read the reviews you know the basics. This is not the Hyatt, but having said that, it is a very nice, comfortable, clean, convenient place to stay. We stayed oceanfront, and you are indeed very close to the ocean. They have cleared some trees since the last time we were there and the views are very good. For that matter, all of the rooms have a pretty good view of the ocean. The staff is very nice and helpful. This place is a tremendous value.

The grounds are very nice, with beautiful tropical landscaping, and are kept up well. The beach is to look at and not swim, as it is rocky. But if you walk south down the path a block you can duck in a swimmable area. You are conveniently located just south of Kapa'a so you can get to down to Po'ipu or Waimea, or up to Princeville pretty easily.

You are next door to Coconut Marketplace, which some people say is going downhill. We didn't think it looked much worse than two years ago, and the economy is still bad. Heard that the ABC stores have become new owners, so maybe this will pick up. Fish Hut is still there, Eggberts still has those tremendous banana pancakes. You can still see Uncle Larry Rivera on Fridays and his daughter Leilani Rivera on Wednesdays for free!

But the best surprise was that the Kilauea Fish Market has opened a location right next door. The best Ahi Wraps on the island right next door. Folks it doesn't get any better than that.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Islander for 6 days, 7 nights. If there's one thing that's super important to me it's location, location, location. This hotel is right on the beach. It's rockier than the others on the east shore, but you can literally walk out to the ocean from the pool. It's directly next to the Coconut Marketplace, which is nice for a little window shopping, chachki hunting, and some general snack/sundry purchases (Whaler's, a general store, is in the marketplace).

The sunrises are amazing from the beach, and you can enjoy them with a hot cup of coffee! There's an amenity fee of $10/day for coffee, Wi-Fi (which was good and fast), and unlimited DVD rentals (PS/2 as well, but I didn't play...) which ended up being a really nice perk. My wife and I didn't rent a car during our stay, but the Kapaa Bus had a stop right at the marketplace and for $2 you can go all the way to Hanalei.

The pool bar was good. Jason, one of the resident bartenders was super nice, funny, and they had happy hour specials 4-6 on Pina Coladas, Chi Chis (The same as a colada but with vodka, Mai Tais (good and strong), and blue Hawaiians.

One thing that made this hotel a real gem and it wasn't even the hotel... it's about a mile from the Safeway and Foodmart grocery stores. I got a 6-pack of Kona pipeline porter for $7.99 and Poke (Poh-kay) which is a Kaua'i staple. We walked between 2-4 miles every day, and the grocery stores being so close was a HUGE savings.

The only reason I'm not giving an excellent rating is because our toilet did this random half flush thing every twenty minutes, even after they came and "fixed" it.

Location, location, location... and it was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a 'Garden View' which was more inexpensive and it still let us peek at the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My honey and I stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach in Kapaa, Hawaii from September 15-September 21, 2012. We had both never been to Hawaii before, so we did not really know what to expect. I found this hotel online, and the reviews were pretty nice, so we chose this hotel. What a great decision we made! This hotel was more than we expected in many different ways. We had an oceanview room on the third floor, basically above the lobby. It had a kitchenette with a sink, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes and silverware, and a fridge. It suited our needs perfectly, as we decided to shop at Costco and Foodland and buy our own groceries to save money on food. There is a small burrito/taco restaurant on property that was TO DIE FOR! Surprisingly, it was probably the best meal we had in all of Kauai. Go for the battered ono tacos.

The hotel room was very nice. It had a comfortable bed and plenty of space within the room itself, including a dinner table, a couch, a TV, and a large closet and bathroom. The shower was excellent too, very refreshing. It seemed that each of the hotel rooms were individually owned, so the amenities in each room may be different, but ours was great. There was also a lanai/patio that we sat on every night overlooking the pool and the ocean.

The hotel itself was very nice. A friendly staff seemed to always be there, even late at night. There is also a 'trip planner' onsite, so you can meet with them about different activities around the island that you can do while there. There is a coin-laundry room on site, with a DVD-rental kiosk in there as well. The hotel is also located on the east side of the island on Kapaa, which is an ideal location for traveling all over the island. It was only about a 1/2 hour drive to the north side of the island, and about 45 minutes the the south/east side of the island, so its central location was perfect for visiting the whole island. It's only about 10 minutes to the airport as well, so that was convenient. The hotel is also located across the parking lot from a shopping center that has a general store, a couple of small restaurants, and a few other clothing and souvenir stores as well.

Overall, this was the best of the three hotels that we stayed in on our vacation. I highly recommend it to anyone, and we will definitely be staying here when we come back!

Room Tip: Stay on the second or third floor to escape the sound of beach-goers walking by your room in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dutney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

such an amazing place this is the place to stay it has everything you will need so many great experiences! wonderful resturants amazing pool and bar area. all the equipment you need and al the fun in the sun you can take.

Room Tip: its all right here on this property. just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived on Sunday 12 August 2012 after a long problomatic journey of canceled flights, lost luggage to be met by the night security guard who could not have been more helpful, directing me to a car parking space and then giving us the key and directions for our room (117) ground floor in the Hawai'i block.

The room was spacious (two double beds) and a small kitchen area with coffee maker, kettle and microwave (coffee was replinished daily) and approrpiate crockery etc. A large bathroom with bath and a shower over the bath and a safe provided free of charge and access to patio area which led to the gardens and the beautiful white beach although it is not recommended to enter the sea due to strong tides.

The hotel gardens were beautiful full of orchids and very well maintained. You will see chickens roaming the grounds which you will find are a feature all over Kauai. The hotel pool is not the largest but there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols and the view of the ocean is beautiful. There is a pool bar which is staffed by a very pleasent young man who was always willing to help carry drinks back to your sunbed for you. Around the pool there are a number barbecues available for you to use and at dusk the gas lights are lit around the pool.

As I mentioned our luggage was lost by the airline and the receptionist was helpful in dirceting us to the nearest wal-mart for our emergency purchases. The location of the hotel was ideal as it was a central location there are numerous resturants near by the only thing I would say is that the resturants all seem to close quite early, but in all the resturants we ate in the menus were varied and reasonably priced. I would recommend Eggberts for breakfast very friendly staff and tasty food.

Our bags arrived at the hotel whilst we were out at a resturant and the security guard took delivery of them for us. Before we left the hotel we used the guest laundry the dvd rental machine was also to be found here. There was wi-fi available in the rooms with a code from reception however we had problem's connecting. There are PC's available in reception for a small charge.

All in all a very comfortable relaxing stay in a really beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
6.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Property: Aston Islander on the Beach
Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing