We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days on Kauai Coral Reef Hotel”
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“10 days on Kauai Coral Reef Hotel”
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Nice small ocean front hotel, nice view ,walk to town. Coral reef was a nice, newly renovated place smallish rooms and pool, grounds and rooms were very clean and tidy . The managers George & Rhonda ,and all staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recomend the Coral reef for couples. It was a little small for us and teenage daughter for an extended visit but that was our own fault not hotels. The rooms were nice and enjoyed an ocean view and were quiet expect for surf noise.( not safe swimming in front). I would not reccomend the non ocean front rooms as it appears there would be no View and noisy?
Good breakfast across street at Kountry Kitchen, pre-packaged pastriesand coffee in lobby not so hot.
I would suggest negotiating room rate prior to booking as they were flexible on there $139.00 fall special price. I paid $109 and felt it was good value for $$$.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    87
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
38
214
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Jackpot! The Hotel Coral Reef was everything we could have hoped for and much, much more. After much research we decided that Kauai would be the ideal island for us to visit and that the Kapaa area would be the most centrally located area to base our daily activities. We discovered Hotel Coral Reef through Trip Adviser and noted that the guest comments were outstanding ever since the renovations were completed in 2007. After visiting their web site we booked a room for a week. It's a week that we'll never forget.

The oceanfront suite, with a lanai, was picture perfect. The room provided all the amenities we could want, from a refrigerator to a safe, from a king size bed to a jacuzzi. Waking up to a Pacific sunrise is a wonderful experience, especially with the music of the nearby surf. Our 3-mile morning walk was along the beautiful pathway that follows the ocean and provides stunning scenery. This path was mere steps from our room.

We didn't want to book in a "name" resort complex because of price, size, and the impersonal corporate environment. The Coral Reef is perfect for our kind of travel, as it has affordable rates, is relatively small (20 suites?) and has a very warm and friendly staff. The proprietors, Rhonda and George, were extremely helpful and generous in providing us with information and booking specials for various activities such as luaus and sunset catamaran cruises. Now we're privileged to consider them our friends. We exchanged many hugs at the end of our trip, including one with our wonderful housekeeper.

After driving daily to the many beautiful destinations of Kauai, it's a pleasure to return to the room and enjoy a beverage or two on the lanai. A real bonus is that there are several fine places to eat just a stroll away, making driving unnecessary. You have all the advantages of being at the edge of an historic town, but as soon as you emerge from the parking lot you become immersed in the beauty of nature on what seems to be a remote part of the island. The location is perfect. During our week of touring Kauai, we never once saw a place that we would rather stay than the Coral Reef. If you are good and friendly people who love to get the full experience of both the sites and the local people when you travel, you'll find a home at the Hotel Coral Reef.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanBobF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Coral Reef for 5 days in September. The hotel is beautiful and clean with great views. This is one of the better deals on the island and it is centrally located. Alex "three legs" the cat will be your special friend while you are there. He pays no attention to the Roosters! We really enjoyed staying here. The manager (George and his wife) are full of aloha. We arrived late and they were waiting up for us!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

From the street, it looks like a "no tell motel" which it may have been in the day, but this place has had a significant remodel in the last few years. All the furniture was top notch as were the rooms in general - super comfortable and well apportioned. They really did a wonderful job. The views are to die for - every room looks right on the ocean and being on the East side of the island allows you to watch the sunrise every morning - what a lovely treat! You are literally a stone's throw from the sea (though the beach right there isn't too great) and there's a lovely walking path right there that allows for a lovely morning or evening stroll. You are also within walking distance of Kapa'a town and some of the better restaurants (especially for breakfast) on the island (and pretty good espresso too!). The only complain I have is that the rooms had very little ventilation so leaving the window open (even at night) caused it to be a bit stuffy...but the room had A/C (quiet) and a fan so it was fine. And the price was pretty awesome too considering where you are (we got a screaming deal - recession pricing I guess!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Spent 6 nights late July. It's a small place so if you are looking for valet's and bell hops facials or massages this is not the place. If what you want is a clean upscale room within walkking distance to restaurants this is the place. Our King Ocean front room was just as it looked in the pictures on their website. There is not a lot of sand on the beach right in front of the hotel but it's better than most place on Kauai.. You won't miss the sand that much though as the pool area is very nice. It's not large but it was never crowded while I was there.
Downside house keeping seemed a little spotty. Some days they forgot to leave shampoo (we were not stashing away any full ones). Some days the new towels smelled great some days a little mildewy. The towels in the rooms were very good best hotel towels I've seen in a while. Upside Very quiet the AC had no cycle noise. There was no noise from other guests or the road. Bed was very comfortable like you would get at a starwood or Marriott property. Grounds were well maintained and made it feel like home. Parking was always available. Kountry kitchen and The Eastside were within walking distance and both were very good. The folks that own the place were always helpful and made you feel welcome. I extended my stay by 1.5 days and wish I could have stayed a month.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveMiddleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Don't bother with other reviews older than 2009. The renovations to this boutique hotel on the beach in Kapaa make it a truly enjoyable experience. Rooms are beautifully furnished, the marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub....wonderful. I can't say enough about the couple who manage this property. They were delightful during the booking process and even more charming and accommodating in person.
We will be returning to the Coral Reef for our yearly visit because of all these things as well as a convenient location on the island. Proximity to good eats is another plus.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulDSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We really enjoyed this place. The people were very friendly on the phone as well as in person. They offered suggestions of things to do and where to eat and I'm grateful we took their advice. We stayed in an ocean view room and I will say, if you stay there, pay the upgrade to stay ocean side. I was surprised at how much it really did add to our experience. The rooms are renovated and done beautifully! My husband and I were impressed with the details. They had special lighting everywhere, jacuzzi tub, travertine sink bowls, grand furniture, luxurious bedding, flat screen T.V. and plantation shutters. The room was very spacious. The property is small but there is a wonderful paved walking or biking path along the water. This place is great if you want a nice room and plan on spending your time around the island. We went straight to the north shore from there. If you want to hang out at a resort property, I suggest the Hyatt. We went there the next night and it was awesome but, we didn't want to go anywhere but hang out there! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
780 reviews
16.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Property: Hotel Coral Reef
Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing