We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off 7 nights or more
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Hotel Coral Reef has a gorgeous ocean front view and very comfortable rooms. The beds are great and the private outdoor patio off the room really added to the experience. Gracious hospitality from the staff, George was especially helpful and friendly. Gorgeous waterfall swimming pool and lovely landscaping. Good location for on foot exploring...Lydegate beach has an 8 mile oceanfront walking trail that goes right by the hotel and there are lots of places to walk to swim, grab a bite, find a convenience store, shop, etc. Good location for home base if you rent a car and want to explore the island as it is right on the main road. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fridges and microwaves so ask when making reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EHWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    71
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
23
153
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After looking at lots of reviews on trip advisor decided to stay at Coral Reef and we are so pleased we did. Its a small hotel and usually we stay in much larger resorts. This place is beautiful. Had a king room with ocean view stayed for 5 nights. Room was very nice and the view was stunning. Joseph and staff were so nice, very friendly and really helpful. We are non drivers, this hotel was ideal town centre was within walking distance, walked the path in front of the hotel along the beach it was beautiful scenery. Local bus stops right outside the hotel takes you wherever you want for $2. Did the helicopter trip on Joseph's recommendation and it was amazing. This was our first time to Kauai and we loved it, such a beautiful island. Hope to return to Kauai and the Coral Reef.

Room Tip: If you can choose ocean view room worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Wa.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Incredible value across all categories
FREE parking, in room wifi access. Very clean, updated pleasant rooms. Internet booking afforded optimal pricing. Ocean front view from Lani perfect!
Pool. Aloha spirit in every staff member!
We are so glad we chose it!

Cynthia Petersen Gig Harbor, Wa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthiapetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A small, quiet hotel with great ocean view. The rooms are nice and clean, they offer good breakfast and free wifi. The pool is good and it's open until 8pm. The staff is really nice, they help you arrange any kind of activities, find the best deals for you and if you have any special request to your room, they do it without any problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We loved our stay at the Coral Reef. It is steps away from the beach. We stayed in an ocean facing room and loved listening to the ocean at night. They were helpful and it was within walking distance to food and shopping. It was convenient as Kapaa is a good starting point for seeing the island. The only thing that was only average was the continental breakfast. But there are great places to eat or shopping if a larger breakfast is wanted. They were so nice and let us borrow beach mats, beach towels, etc. so did not have purchase any.

We would stay again! Thanks to the staff for being so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: pick a king room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. Comfortable, well furnished rooms and literally right on the coast. Coastal path in front of hotel we hired bikes from them and had a lovely ride north. Staff friendly and helpful, pool good size and very refreshing. Good healthy breakfast. Well located within walking distance of all amenities of Kapaa which is a very quaint town. Would love to return here. Enjoy!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Smaller hotel than the other big resorts on the island. Located on the east side or "coconut coast" in Kapa'a town. I think every room has an ocean view and right on the coast. Excellent spot if you are looking to explore the island since it is pretty central to both north/Napali coast and south-to-west. Friendly staff. Easy access to great bike path; hotel rents bikes to guests. Towels, boogie boards, and beach chairs available to guests for beach adventures. Continental breakfast offered. We booked SCUBA through our hotel; they are very helpful in booking excursions as desired. Small pool with waterfall. Seems like a place more appropriate for couples, small groups of friends; larger resort/hotels may be more appropriate for children. FYI- lots of feral chickens on the island and they do crow a lot. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: 2 stories and no elevator. No fitness center (but isn't Hawaii a fitness center? Who wants to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
5.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Property: Hotel Coral Reef
Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing