We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel is quaint and attractive. There is a paved trail in front of the hotel that goes to the next town and makes for a beautiful walk or bike ride. The staff was wonderful and it felt more like family than employees. Great food and shopping are both near by. It was so relaxing which is just what we needed. I wish the pool was warmer.. It was actually warmer to swim in the ocean...lol
Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms.. The others dont have much of a "garden view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leaha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    71
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
23
152
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First off I generally dont stay at 5 star or even 4 star hotels and was not expecting that level of quality when I booked this hotel but I had expectations of at least adequate cleanliness, food and hospitality. I gather that most of the reviews are of "ocean front" rooms. We stayed in what is ridiculously called a garden room. There is no garden, no view, nothing but a highway that we could practically reach out and touch from our balcony. (see photot) The biggest disappointment was around the air con unit which did not work and we received 4 days worth of excuses ranging from "it is a weekend and service techs will charge $150 hr to come and fix it" to "we will call on Monday and it will be fixed". I say if there is a problem with a room the managers either 1. move the guests to another room (which was offered to us but for the highter room fee) 2. fix the problem or 3. offer a discount. None of these happened so we were forced to sleep with the balcony door open and listen to traffic all night.
The cleanliness was atrocious. We discovered the carcus of some kind of beetle/roach (?) in our bathroom vanity (see photo)and later a roach ran across the bathroom floor. The sheets were not changed in the double bed (which was advertised as a queen bed and was soft and not comfortable) in 4 days and toiletries were not replaced so by the last day we had no shampoo. The breakfast is a sorry little event with some store bought pastries, coffee (the highlight) and fruit - there is one sofa on which to sit so guests stand around trying to balance coffee cups and their food. No one used the pool while we were there- it was completely uninviting looking and cold.
Would not recommend this hotel unless you want to shell out big bucks to stay in the ocean front rooms. Really the only thing I liked was that the location made travelling to either the south or the north easy. After 4 days though we thankfully moved to a condo in Poipu which was great.

Room Tip: the garden rooms overlook a highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Courteous, casual, yet efficient, service. I had a nice oceanfront room on the second floor - Lovely to hear the waves crashing all night long. Easy to get to in Kapa'a, although the traffic can be bad. Close to restaurants and shops. They rent bikes for $5/day - there is a paved trail along waterfront. I stayed only one night and it was a bit pricey, but rates are reduced for longer stays. It is a low-key, yet attractive, property and I liked the unpretentious feel of it over a predictable resort.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are nice - all I could hear was the surf and not the traffic. Other rooms are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you're considering a stay in Kauai, search no longer! The secret is out fellow traveler.
Comfort, convenience, casual elegance. A stay here will refresh, revive and restore!
The "Aloha" spirit greets you and treats you to one of Kauai's best (little) hotels, the
Hotel Coral Reef!

Room Tip: Book the Oceanfront Rooms. They will exceed your expectations! After a busy day on island (working...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauimagnetism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here one night on a whim and the room was beautiful for an affordable price. All the workers were super nice and friendly, there are wonderful views, and the fresh local fruit for continental breakfast was refreshing. It was the perfect place to stay for an affordable but cute rest on our travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we're 65-year old couple and stayed in second floor oceanfront king room. Loved the balcony to watch sunrise, palm trees, joggers and waves washing in all day.
Con: traffic is bad in Kapaa, temporary bypass helps.
Pros: no extra fees, beautiful tropical style room, large counter with coffeemaker, microwave and refrig. Easy drive to north shore. Friendly helpful staff. Very clean. Restaurants within walking distance.
We had great stay here.

Room Tip: splurge for oceanfront room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaDduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Based on the glowing reviews here, we picked the Hotel Coral Reef for our stay in December 2012.

Apparently the glowing reviews are based on the ocean view rooms, NOT the garden view ones, which are the red-headed stepchildren of the hotel.

#1 Romantic Hotel? #1 Best Value Hotel? Newly remodeled? Not if you're staying in the garden view rooms!

The bathtub is stained, and the bathroom door doesn't close anymore because of the humidity on Kauai. The garden rooms are closer to the busy street, so you don't wake up to the pounding surf -- you're woken up by the traffic. You only get a very faint signal to the slooooow wi-fi.

Now, I don't need deluxe accommodations; I just want a place that puts some effort into cleanliness. The bathtub stain is atrocious, and there was hair in the shower drain. (See attached pictures.) I grabbed some tissue and tried to clean out the shower drain. Now, I say "tried" because that hair was STUCK in there and wasn't budging, so it's been there for a while.

When we checked in, we were told that our room may not even have a wi-fi connection because it's so far away from the signal. I asked if we could be moved to another room closer to the wi-fi since we run an online business. I would've understood if they were booked, but they didn't even acknowledge my question. We were also dissuaded from attending the "free" breakfast, since they told us, "It isn't much ...." The message was clear: You aren't paying much for your room, so we won't give you much, either.

We also couldn't get into our room twice. First, we thought our key cards were demagnetized even though we hadn't exposed them to anything aside from our pockets. When we came back on the second day and couldn't get in, though, they couldn't fix it and the entire lock mechanism had to be replaced.

We left our customary tip for housekeeping, and we were bestowed with a set of half-used toiletries. I don't know who used the first half, but I'm not using the second half of it, thanks.

This is a place where it really is "just a place to sleep."

The only redeeming factor (and reason the place doesn't get a 1/5) is George, who is very nice, and pleased as punch to help you. He really does exude Aloha.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank misangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
5.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Property: Hotel Coral Reef
Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing