We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Hotel Coral Reef!”
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent an amazing 4 days at the Hotel Coral Reef in October. Everything everyone says in their reviews is true - great location, lovely rooms, and friendly staff.

The main reason for writing this review is because I wanted to thank the staff for the true kindness and generosity they showed to us, and other holiday-makers, following a tsunami evacuation. Don't worry, this doesn't happen often and luckily didn't amount to anything, but we all had to go to higher ground (a local school) when the warning was issued.

The hotel owners were brilliant and took any guests who didn't have a car - plus some other travellers from a youth hostel down the road - in their pick-up alongside the whole family. They brought us food and looked after us through the whole thing as if we were part of their family - they really went beyond supplier/customer boundaries and I wanted to thank them for looking after us all so well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 380 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

When you arrive here, George the owner is very welcoming and accomodating. Our only complaint is that the ceiling fan in our room did not work, for $225 a night we would expect it too. The small breakfast in the morning was delightful and the views here of the ocean are breathtaking. Their is a great walkway in back of the property that runs along the ocean and you are able to walk to just about anywhere in Kapaa. Very relaxing place, love the chickens all around, very Kauai.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, much better than garden view, hearing the ocean at night is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gk1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Coral Reef hotel after the B&B we booked closed due to new laws. We were very happy with our choice. From the outside it may not have been somewhere we would drive by and pick, but thanks to reviews on TA we were confident we would have a good experience. The room with the front desk /breakfast area was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our room was on the second floor oceanfront and we left the doors onto the balcony open each night to hear the waves. Amenities were sparse, we ran out of shower gel and didn't get a replacement. We could walk into Kapa'a town in a couple of minutes, we recommend Java Kai for breakfast if you want something more than what the hotel offers. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripppingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our 3rd time back, and there us no where else we would stay. We like the location in middle of island, with great restaurants, coffee shops, and chruches within walking distance. The beach is a stones throw away, and a wonderful walk and bike path right out the door. We like that the place is small with only 21 units. What makes this place so special to us is the excellent managers, Rhonda and George. They treat us with kindness, respect, and love. We consider them dear friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShalomBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a first floor room which was great that it opened right to the beach, etc. Only problems were:1) The breakfast was very poor and 2) the room was right next to the ice machine which was loud and 3) the hotel didn't have any child-sized bikes for rent. It's not cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great family run hotel. The rooms overlook the ocean and it is only a stones throw to the ocean. The rooms are great inside! Clean and recently remodeled. Everything work great, except the fridge started smelling at the end of our stay there, and the hair dryer caught on fire. They quickly repaced the hair dryer.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Phil and Alix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff here was very friendly. It was good to get to know the staff personally. The sunrise views are spectacular. The sound of the ocean is very soothing. Kappa is a nice town. It has a lot of local joints and most people are very friendly. The room was also nice. The shower was really nice. The bed a little worn but nice. The furnishings were also very nice. Jacuzzi tub was really nice also. Really enjoyed it I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
96 reviews
2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
16.7 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $163 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing