We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfect location!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect location!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Mahalo again, George and Rhonda for your hospitality at the Hotel Coral Reef!!!! I love this place, it's right on the Kapaa trail, the beach, great location in town, walking distance to everything!! The rooms are so pretty, and the upgrade of the microwave and refrigerator in every room is a big plus!!!! This is my second time I've stayed here, and I will be back for sure!! A big ALOHA from Scottsdale to you in Kapaa!! Mahalo!

Room Tip: definitely go for the ocean front room upstairs so you can leave the doors open and hear the surf al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    74
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
24
162
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We REALLY loved this hotel. After an extremely disappointing stay at a bed and breakfast in Poipu, we arrived for the last 4 nights here in Kapaa. We opened the door of our room and our eyes lit up. A beautiful room with an awesome view of the ocean, comfortable bedding, air conditioning, jacuzzi tub.

Problems? 2 lights that were out when we arrived. Fixed in less than 5 minutes. Amazing... service was incredible. The innkeepers were super friendly, and invited guests to several cultural events, which were a lot of fun. They were filled with the true 'aloha spirit'.

A continental breakfast was served early every morning, with fresh fruit, juices, breads, coffee, and a smile. All of the innkeepers were friendly, talkative, and made us feel very welcome.

Oh and they have a very nice pool too, and are right next to the ocean, with a wonderful path to go for walks along the ocean for sunrise, or whenever the mood strikes.

We felt very lucky to have stayed here, and will definitely look forward to returning on our next trip...

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the ocean. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SANFRANBYNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just had to write a review saying what a wonderful time we had at the Coral Reef Hotel. We only had four days to spend on Kauai and we wanted to feel like we were living in Hawaii again. Staying at the Coral Reef allowed us to do so, and we enjoyed every minute. George, Rhonda, and Kapua were always friendly, smiling, and helpful with our every request. After watching the sun rise every morning, we would look forward to coffee and breakfast with George, talking story and sharing our plans for the day. It's easy to get anywhere on the island from Kapaa, and I love the easy and beautiful drive north from this location. If you enjoy hiking, the west trail to nearby Sleeping Giant is secluded and spectacular. Our room was excellent, we had a ground floor king and appreciated the fine linens and luxurious bedding you don't typically find in an affordable hotel. We are so appreciative for the aloha shown us and are already planning on returning as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank typingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not at all a fancy hotel but the people made up the difference. It was my birthday and my kids called at different times with different requests and Rhonda and George went out of their way with trips to the grocery store, etc. to make it a very special day. Never would get that at a large chain hotel. Good location right on beach with a jogging trail between your balconey and the beach. Several good restuarants within walking distance. Do not miss the Kountry Kitchen for breakfast (across the street). Hotel is in a good location between the north and south parts of the island if you intend to see the sights. Rooms were very nice (deluxe room comparable with many 5 star hotels) with great balconey. Hotel is very small but a great buy considering location and room.....
Had to ask for amenities a couple of times and included breakfast was minimal!
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, va
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

great hotel... loved the staff, the town (kapa'a is fantastic if you are into artsy/hippie/"granola" culture), the location (perfect if you plan to travel both north and south during your stay on kauai), the beach front access, the kauai multi-use path access, the rooms, the meat-free breakfast (esp the oatmeal when they offer it... yummy and filling!), the cute/serene pool, the funny chickens, the walkability to/within the town of kapa'a, and the front row seat for the sunrises.
can't wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdc2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent location, Excellent service. Updated rooms and furnishings. Most room have sliding glass doors with ocean view. Walking paths lead to beaches and toward the small town center of Kapaa. Family atmosphere of helpfulness and service from staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

It doesn't look like much from the road, but what an amazing location once you get into the property. Right on the water which is all coral reef with a small sandy beach. No swimming here but the sound of the water on the reef is constant and soothing. The room decor is very elegant and thought out; looks like a Newport Beach decorator's project! Loved it. Bathroom was spacious and modern. We had gone to Kauai to vacation and get married. Rhonda and George (managers) helped me get my flower head wreath and a lovely Hawaiian woman to perform the ceremony by the waterfall at the pool. They are absolutely the perfect hosts and most friendly, helpful couple. It was a perfect day! We loved the small size of the place, no kids (while we were there) or noisy pool with a water slide. The daily breakfast George and Rhonda prepared was just perfect with fresh fruit, oatmeal, coffee etc. and it was different each day. I loved seeing their cat Max hanging around the office too. We rented bikes ($5) and road the long, paved path all the way down the beach and found several swimming beaches. Excellent. We didn't want to leave and will DEFINITELY return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
5.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Property: Hotel Coral Reef
Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing