We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic accommodation and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Coral Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coral Reef
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantasic accommodation and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had a super visit at the Coral Reef in Kappa a. We had a second floor balcony room that over looked the ocean. The room had a nice Tommy Bahamas feel with a very comfortable bed. The service was always friendly and helpful. The breakfast included fresh fruit and cereal bars or pastries. If you need a big breakfast this is not for you. It was perfect for us who need a quick bite that we can take to go and head to the canyon. A few of my favorite extras were the bikes and beach chairs available for no addition cost or hassle. I would stay here again. Thanks Coral Reef for making our visit special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    85
    22
    12
    13
See reviews for
31
199
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Coral Reef is a very nice place to stay. From the road it looks like a low budget motel, but the rooms are very nice and right on the ocean. There is a bike/walking path right in front of the rooms that let you walk for miles along the ocean. the management is very good and helpful. It's family run so you meet most of them during a visit. Booking tours/trips was easy and their suggestions were great. We took their reccomendation on the open door helicopter tour. It was fantastic as was the boat tour up the Napali coast.
This is not the Hyatt, but a great place to stay if you are interested in touring the Island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was on a budget and spend most of my time on Kauai camping. When I wasn't camping I stayed at the Coral Reef Hotel. I found an online special for a garden view room. The staff was very helpful and even watched my bags while I was camping for a few days. The only downside is that in my far corner room - nearest to the road - wireless internet was not available. In the courtyard there are three different free hotel networks to choose from.

Room Tip: The cheapest room overlooks the road but is a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Excellent small, boutique hotel. Recently remodeled. On the waterfront with a 4 mile seaside walk. Great place for a second honeymoon. Staff was very attentive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in one of their King oceanfront rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and sanitary and well decorated. They were having a summer room sale so the room was a good value for what you got. Good location. They offer continental breakfast.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hidelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

we're currntly staying at the Coral Reef, and can certainly recommend it, the staff are very obliging and friendly, the room is exceptionally comfortable and has a great view, good breakfast, free Wi Fi and parking, we will certainly be back. Michael & Russel - Australia.

Room Tip: 2208 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footey053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Exceeded expectations. Stayed three nights in ocean view room with king bed. Marvelous view and nice walk path along several miles of the shore. Quiet. Neat room lighting (there are extra controls in the closet that can provide different effects). George and other staff are very helpful. You can take out beach chairs at the front desk. The rooms have been redone in recent years and were Hawaiian styled. The place doesn't look stellar from the outside but you'll be surprised inside. Nice pastries for breakfast. We booked a summer splash package and paid $145 a night. The proximity to the ocean is marvelous and provides stunning views from your room.. The beach near the hotel isn't the best for swimming do to strong currents, but you can go down to Kalapaki Beach for great swimming. There are lots of chickens on this island and they like to come near you if you eat outside your room.

Room Tip: Book a package on their website. Get the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kteacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
2.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
16.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Reef

Property: Hotel Coral Reef
Address: 4-1516 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Kauai from our centrally located OCEANFRONT Hotel! Hotel Coral Reef, built in 1956, is known to be the island's original boutique hotel. Located in the historical town of Kapa'a, which features a variety of unique stores and restaurants for visitors to enjoy, Hotel Coral Reef invites you to experience our beautiful oceanfront guest rooms located 50 steps from the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. Perched on a gorgeous coral reef area, great for snorkeling, our intimate setting allows you to connect and reflect with "The Garden Island's" natural beauty. Direct access to the Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("the path that goes by the coast") allows you to bike, walk, run, or stroll the magnificent East-side coastline. Scenic vistas offer glimpses of pounding surf, spouting whales, and if you are lucky, a visit from one of Hawaii's elusive monk seals. Our King and Double Queen rooms will allow you to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coral Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Kapaa
Hotel Coral Reef Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing