We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Local”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Ocean Beach, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Live like a Local”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Kakalina Bed and Breakfast is set up in the hills above Kapaa. It is peaceful, beautiful. I had the downstairs unit in the guest house. It was like having my own apartment--bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, sitting room, lanai. The sitting room overlooks greenery, sloping hills. The only sounds you hear are rain, roosters, birds. Kathy provides delicious fruit, homemade muffins, coffee, juice. When you want to see the sights of Kauai, you drive down the hill. Easy. After a day of touring, traffic, other tourists, you return to your quiet refuge. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The downstairs unit is perfect if you are travelling alone or are a couple. The upstairs room accomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location was beautiful. Hard to find in the dark, but beautiful. The cottage was nicely equipped, but yes the wall were thin and you could hear the people in the adjoining unit. I have a white noise app on my phone and used it every night. I had early starts every day on my stay in Kauai. The breakfasts were nothing fancy, but just what one needs. On my last morning as I woke up I noticed a huge ant problem around my bed. They weren't there every day, only the last morning and no, I had not left any food around. I only had a bottle of water by my bed. I shook out about 30 from my laptop that I had left on the floor overnight. Gulp. Anyways yes, I would stay there again. The price was right and the overall quiet was welcome. She just needs a little Raid or ??

The bed was incredibly comfortable!! And go to Sushi Bushido for Lollipop roll in Kapaa! Unreal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60616Kathy, Owner at Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Just as easily do ants appear they disappear.
Yes I did go to the unit after my guest had left and found lots of ants that had come out during the night.
I treated them and now I can't find any in that area.
Just have to keep on top of them as it is an ongoing problem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked this trip in april of last year not knowing at the time my husband has cancer; When therewe got there it was ike stepping into the Land of Oz. Kathy was there to help before we got there by accepting UPS. Everymoning there was home baked goodies and fresh pineapple. The room could easily have been an appartment. Quite comfortable beauty is what you get. Max, the cat even comes to visit and will eat breakfast if you have food. If you want peace in this world of turmoil go stay at Kakalina's. Kathy is a friend and knows a great deal about the island. You will have fresh flowers from her garden and a beauty you will never forget from both Kathy, Max and the Graden Ilse of Hawaii. We know we were there a month.
Barb

Room Tip: Look for a person not a group of rooms owned by a cooperation. Look for someone who is willing to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We made a reservation at Kakalina's based on a friend's recommendation and we couldn't have been happier. It's the most comfortable, complete vacation rental we've ever had. Kathy, the owner, is a gem. She makes excellent bread, knew exactly how much to "help" without being intrusive, and added so much to our stay. Her recommendations for things to do were absolutely perfect, and she was so helpful when we needed it. I just wish she had a place on other islands so we could go there, but this place will definitely keep us coming back to Kauai and Kakalina's as our "base camp". Thank you, Kathy, for a fantastic week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Aloha
We were lucky enough to stay for a few weeks and had such a great experience we are already planning our next visit. Peaceful and quiet while perfectly located on the island everything is within a short drive away. The suite was perfect for us and had anything we needed from preparing meals to relaxing.
I would recommend Kakalinas to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmenjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent 7 nights at Kakalina's staying in 2 bedroom suite which she made available to us even though we were a party of just 2 total price a little over $700. When we first arrived in Kauai it was dark and raining and I could not find my GPS (did find it the next day buried in luggage) So I had to call Kathy to help us find her place so gave us directions and was waiting for us in the rain when we arrived and showed us to our room. Room was clean and looks as it did in pictures on website. A Light breakfast was left in room every night, sometimes the cake was eaten as a late night snack. Breakfast was perfect for eating on go before morning excursions. Waking up in the morning you get to see all the tropical flowers that Kathy has on her property. Short drive to beach which provides nice pictures as you come down the mountain especially in the mornings. Heavy rain one day provide a great picture of water falls coming off the mountain seen from behind the property. Yes there are rooster and they start crowing around 2:00 -3:00am and they don't let up, this is an island wide phenomena. During our stay we would have about 7-10 minutes of hot water which made for quick showers after day long hikes. Property is located about 25-30 miles to either end of island but this 25 mile drive will take about hour. On our next trip to Kauai we will stay a few nights at different points in Kauai and will definitely stay a few nights a Kakalina's when we stop over in Kapaa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venusproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, PA
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent four nights in the Hale Elua unit in January. The combination bedroom, kitchen and living area is spacious and well furnished. The price of $85 is quite reasonable, even when the $65 cleaning fee is considered. Although we missed the camaraderie of a shared breakfast, Kathy left an ample and tasty Hawaiian breakfast in the room each morning and provided snorkel and beach gear for our use throughout our stay. This B&B’s location is quiet (except for the roosters everywhere in Kauai) and convenient – about an 8-minute drive from downtown Kapaa. For us, two additional attractive features were the car rental arrangements Kathy made (at a MUCH lower rate than Hotwire offered) and the three acres of lavishly landscaped grounds surrounding the rooms. Kathy kindly provided a guided tour of those grounds.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.0 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
9.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
780 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6781 Kawaihau Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-9033
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kakalina's Bed And Breakfast Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing