We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place for some quality food”
Review of Korean Bar-B-Q

Korean Bar-B-Q
Ranked #30 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place for some quality food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Ate here during the week after trying to find something different. Reviews looked promising and it certainly lived up to the hype. The place is old but the food makes you forget about that very quickly. I had the mixed BBQ plate and my wife had the squid stir fry. Both were of good serving size and once we were finished nothing was left! Staff were very attentive and food was served quickly. Very affordable and would dine here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    68
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
“Korean BBQ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food was good. Large portions and flavourful meat. The service was friendly and fast. Not my favourite place on the island but it did not disappoint. Some say it is dirty, its not, the restaurant is a little older and run down maybe but not dirty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcabennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I can't remember the last time I had Korean BBQ this good”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I am still thinking about the combination plate I ordered at this restaurant...and that was nearly a week ago when I was on vacation! The food is marinated to perfection and the chicken, beef, and pork were just so tender and juicy. Even the rice was just right - fluffy and moist. Their kimchi was mediocre, but their seaweed soup was perfect. It reminded me of traditional Asian cuisine and was a refreshing change from the usual miso-based soups. Their potato salad was delicious and paired perfectly with the BBQ beef.

My mouth is still watering from the delicious food here. It's a very very simple local place. Do not come here expecting a romantic dinner with tablecloths and fancy napkins. But please, come here for the best Korean BBQ on the island and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful local eatery”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had excellent food in a local small restaurant. Meals were served on real dishes with real silverware. Great food. Order the barbecue chicken so tasty! It is sliced thin and barbecued with a flavorful, not sweet sauce. Saimin is full of nicely cooked veggies and chunks of marinated beef. Meal comes with soup and homemade kimchee. The place is hard to find... Use the street address. Driving several blocks south from downtown kapa'a, it is on the left in a small shopping center. It is just after a pagoda restaurant that is on the right side of the road.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kss740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“go there!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

good food, friendly service and reasonably priced. We had the bbq combination plate and the steamed mandoon which are dumplings filled with beef abd veggies. Both dishes and espacially the free additions (see weed soup, kim chee and salads) were very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank tschaul
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Korean Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Korean Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing