We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go there!”
Review of Korean Bar-B-Q

Korean Bar-B-Q
Ranked #34 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Erlangen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“go there!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

good food, friendly service and reasonably priced. We had the bbq combination plate and the steamed mandoon which are dumplings filled with beef abd veggies. Both dishes and espacially the free additions (see weed soup, kim chee and salads) were very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank tschaul
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    70
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go where the locals are”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The service alone made this worth the experience. What a bunch of sweet women. Attentive, polite and they care about their customers. And the food, pretty damn good. I loved the seaweed soup starter and Bim Bam Bop. Also, the dinner special was great. I'm not usually into fried foods, but the shrimp and meat were all so tasty!

We ate here at least four times in the two week stay. Also, the prices are quite reasonable and good portions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Off_to_see_the_w0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Roberts, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The locals eat here, should be a great sign. No frills, not a dress up event but those ribs are just amazing! Word to those with seafood allergies, they were a bit unsure of some of the ingredients and relationship to shell fish so caution - one of our group had a bit of a reaction when no shellfish was supposed to be included. Would go back in a heart beat though!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just spent a week on Kauai & ate at this restaurant 3 times. Excellent food, bbq pork was my favorite. The same lady waited on us all 3 times, she was very friendly. I recommend giving this place a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have lived in Korea and visit Korean food everywhere I go. On this trip we took 6 friends who had never had Korean food and were nervous.

We all loved it and would return. The food is modified a little b/c it's Hawaii and they are appealing to a broader audience of American and Japanese. However, it was great. I got the lunch special for dinner and most of my friends ordered the dinner special. Everyone loved it and it was very reasonable.

Only complain is no dukpoggi and no stone bowl (have to have my bibimbap in a stone bowl!). Kalbi, Bulkogi, Munjun, were all GREAT!

Everyone also loved their potato/macaroni salad. A little bit different side, but great.

In short, not your traditional korean restaurant, but yummy food and the owner was nice and service was fast. The place was packed! If you like asian food at all, try it!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pulsifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korean Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Korean Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing