We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly service!”
Review of Korean Bar-B-Q

Korean Bar-B-Q
Ranked #31 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just spent a week on Kauai & ate at this restaurant 3 times. Excellent food, bbq pork was my favorite. The same lady waited on us all 3 times, she was very friendly. I recommend giving this place a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    69
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have lived in Korea and visit Korean food everywhere I go. On this trip we took 6 friends who had never had Korean food and were nervous.

We all loved it and would return. The food is modified a little b/c it's Hawaii and they are appealing to a broader audience of American and Japanese. However, it was great. I got the lunch special for dinner and most of my friends ordered the dinner special. Everyone loved it and it was very reasonable.

Only complain is no dukpoggi and no stone bowl (have to have my bibimbap in a stone bowl!). Kalbi, Bulkogi, Munjun, were all GREAT!

Everyone also loved their potato/macaroni salad. A little bit different side, but great.

In short, not your traditional korean restaurant, but yummy food and the owner was nice and service was fast. The place was packed! If you like asian food at all, try it!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pulsifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem! SO GOOD!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We discovered this inconspicuous little restaurant in the Kinipopo shopping complex while we were walking around. The amazing smells were what drew us in the first time, and the second time we were just craving it!

The BBQ is authentic. Upon ordering, guests get kimchi and a beef & seaweed soup as an appetizer.

The main meals themselves were delicious and freshly grilled. I had the chicken bibimbap the first time we went.The chicken was fresh, juicy, and grilled with mushrooms. We also tried the combo plate (#9) which is apparently the most popular dish. You get chicken and beef as well as a side of rice, bean sprouts, a macaroni salad and salad. My husband loved the kalbi, beef short ribs, which were pricier, but he claims well worth it!

If you love BBQ, you will love this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“spicy chicken w/vegatables...ono!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

you have to try this...best! also thick kalbi is a must!..very friendly owned restaurant....gets kinda busy around 6-7pm

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kauaifireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trip advisor does it again!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I has a hankering for Korean food so looked it up on trip advisor. Convinced by the reviews and the proximity (less than half a mile) we chose to go there.

Anyone who says this is dingy has never been to finest Asian holes in the walls of New York City.

From the service to the passion behind the cooking, this is not to be missed. Pick up your beers, wine, or liquor at the Shell station next door and the food will make you smile and the bill won't make you weep.

We expect to eat there the rest of our stay in lovely Kauai.

Helpful?
Thank Jennydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korean Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Korean Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing