We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Kai Beach Houses
Nearby Hotels
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$398
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$185
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
22
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
4
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 28 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We have just returned from a week at Moana Kai Beach House in Kauai. The house was beautifully furnished and the owner definately took pride in the finished product. The only real issue was with the master suite having VERY little to no ventalation due to a broken window. Also the Master Suite window looks out to the front door... so unless you feel confident that no-one will come to or walk by the front door, you have to have the blinds drawn 24/7. The layout of the house was perfect with 2 adult children (18 & 20) so that they had their own rooms and bathrooms.
It would have been nice to be given some mention of the chicken situation on the island. We were very surprised by the amount of them on the island and even more surprised to find that we had our very own Rooster alarm in the carport under our window which never failed us at 3 to 5 am every morning. Good thing we had earplugs...
The pool was really nice to have, especially when the trade winds were not really blowing.
There was no AC, however, we found that by openning both the Lanai doors and Dining room shutters there was actually quite a nice breeze.
There was plenty to see and do within walking distance, but driving is advised especially if you make any purchases.
All in all it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone who can afford it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AWS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We stayed (family of four) at the house from June 21-28. The house was very clean, roomy, and extremely comfortable.

Kristen, the property manager, was prompt and very pleasant with returning any phone calls when we had questions. (even when I called at 6am, thinking I would get a machine, Kristen answered the phone! and was very understanding!)

The backyard (between the house and beach) has a pool. The beach is a public beach; however, there were never any loud noises from people who visited the beach.

As we were still on Texas Time, it was very easy to wake up around 5 am to watch the sun rise. All I had to do was sit on my lanai with a cup of coffee and my camera, and wait for the sun. I took pictures of the sun rise every day.

It was refreshing to jump into the pool after a long day of sight-seeing and spending the day on the numerous beaches on Kauai. Every day, after a day at the beaches, we would head straight to the pool, less than 5 steps from our Lanai.

The first day, we stayed around Kapa'a, and then spent the afternoon at the beach and pool, in our backyard.

Overall, a VERY relaxing trip. We are planning to check out Jim's condos (Aloha Condos Hawaii) on the Big Island and Maui for our next vacation.

Thanks so much!
Kim Norton
Texas

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Love_Kauai-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We were two couples going to Kauai for the first time. Since both couples were paying equal amounts, we needed a place where both couples had adult bedrooms. (King or Queen beds) We also had some priorities. They were---on the ocean, and near fishing and golf courses. This house did the job. None of our friends could come to use the third bedroom, but that didn' t matter, it was still worth it. The furnishings were amazing, and had all the amentities.We had a beautiful pool we shared with 2 other units( # A and # C )
There were a few bad points about this unit. It didn't have air conditioning, something we needed desperatally. There was a nice breeze that came through in the main living area, but the bedrooms didn't get that breeze. It was cooler a night, so sleeping was good, until about 4:00AM, when the wild roosters would start to crow.The ear plugs they supplied didn't help.When we arrived there were people in # A unit, who had 2 little kids. They were in the pool constantally making lots of noise (something we were trying to escape) And we could only use the pool at night when they went to bed. There is a nice park in front of the unit, but couldn't use it because of all the men who hang out there drinking alcohol, and also our view of the ocean was hampered by an old run down house next door. The beach we liked to walk on was roped off because of errosion, and the area where the fishing would be done was being dredged. Didn't realize the house faces the wrong direction, for sunsets, but had nice sunrises. Most of the problems we had were beyond the owners control.
The house was in the middle of the island, so everything was close to get too. We found a lot of the locals were RUDE---- Boss Frogs snorkle equipement---very RUDE---also the owner of a bar and grill in the shopping center where Safeway is (can't remember the name of it) also very RUDE.
But the golf courses were some of the most beautiful we had ever seen. And the activities--Zip-line, and Tubing and Luau was good. We had a nice vacation in this house, but probably won't go back to Kauai. Hawaii, the big island, and Maui are still our favorites.
Suggestion to the owner-----take our the spa tub in the master bedroom (couldn't use it anyway because it was too hot in the room) and extend the bathroom in the master bathroom, it was way too small, with no shelving for toiletries, and woman stuff.
Nancy + 3

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Our stay at the beach house was one of our best in Hawaii, Located only steps from the beach, it offers a wonderful outdoor experience and a beautifully decorated interior. Coffee on the lanai with the sun rising is a special time. The continuous ocean breeze made the house very comfortable day and night.
This is the third time we've booked a stay through alohacondos.com and we've never been disappointed. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aloha_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Unit B was the best choice we made our whole vacation. It was everthing that was advertised and the owner never hesitated to give us any and all info we asked for. We went to all the sites during the day as the home is centrally located on the island and the locals are friendly and polite both to deal with and in the traffic. Not your Honolulu but instead a pleasant unhectic vacation. The pool was delightful in the evening on the lania and the home has all the cooking, BBQ and amenities. There are lots of local restaurants and clubs as well as grocery stores if you like it your way. We ate at two of the local lua's but our favorite meal was just up the street at the Kountry Kitchen where the pancakes had a unique taste with cane sugar syrup and different flavors. So many uncrowded beaches that you can go from one to another all day.. Go see it and what a perfect place to call home each night. Moana Kai in the middle unit. (B) My whole family had a blast.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dacotahkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews