We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple accomodation, great location, nice price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
1 review
“Simple accomodation, great location, nice price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We have stayed in the Garden Cottage twice, and while it might be very simple, it is perfect for us. Paul and Nausheen were very helpful and made us feel welcome on both trips.

The location is great for restaurants, very near a quiet beach, and within easy striking distance of almost everything on the island.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defaultgateway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
272
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

I spent a week at the Ohana House and it was ideal. The house has been renovated but keeps all the charm of the 40's planation style - while adding modern comforts. I booked on short notice - so Paul gave me an amazing rate. It's just as beautiful as the pictures show. Paul and Nausheen are the perfect hosts - they made sure every need was met - so I never had to bother them and was able to enjoy the house as if it was my own home. It's the perfect location to explore the island - or just hang out on the porch.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tims-tripped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

A lot to like. We rented Canal Cottage for eight nights recently. Nice big space with two full baths—showers, no tub. Kitchen has been improved and enlarged from what the website currently shows. No AC in Canal Cottage but lots of screened windows and two overhead fans. Comfortable beds and nice decorative touches.

Landscaped compound with a house and four cottages—the owners live in one of the cottages. Nice balance from the owners of being helpful and yet letting us be. Lots of bird sounds—chickens, of course, and thrush and unknown others. Frogs and frog sounds, but few and not the dreaded coqui as on the Big Island. Visiting duck patrols the hedge each morning. Some occasional and faint traffic sounds from Kuamo’o Road, which is not visible from the Inn. Glimpse of the Wailua River from the kitchen window.

Short drive to shopping and restaurants. Closest smimming beach is Lydgate, which is a very short drive away, with parking, facilities and Lifeguards.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikec1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
submarineaz
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

I saved a review of the Fern Grotto Inn from several years ago and chanced upon it again before booking my trip to Kauai this year so I decided to give it a try. The Fern Grotto Inn exceeded my expectations in every way. We stayed in the smallest bungalow, the "Garden Cottage" which feels surprisingly larger than it's 500 sq ft. The decor and furniture were thoughtfully chosen to give that 5 star resort feel without the several hundred dollar a night price tag. The kitchenette was well equipped with small appliances and a refrigerator, lacking only a small sink (the bathroom sink sufficed). Surprisingly it was also stocked with spices needed for cooking, plastic bags, tupperware, and plastic ware for taking meals with you on a hike or to the beach. I added to the stash some Hawaiian fish spice rub and a new kitchen knife.The bathroom was also well stocked with a selection of full size bottles of shampoo and conditioner, soaps, hair dryer, bath towels and beach towels! The living area was well equipped with a large TV with cable, DVD player, a selection of DVD's, books, and a CD mini-stereo system. It was very cozy in the bungalow but when we had to leave Paul had a shed full of coolers, boogie boards, mats for beach towels and snorkelling equipment. When it came time to do laundry there was a full size washer/dryer with detergent and dryer sheets available for use. We are experienced International travelers but felt like we had overpacked like amateurs when we saw how many things we could have left at home.
The location was excellent as the Inn is on the better , lusher side of the island in our opinion. The beach across the street was nice, but head down to the end of the road past Hanalei bay and you'll find the best beach with a nice lagoon for swimming. Head the other way and Lihue has some excellent shopping and Costco if you are there for an extended period of time!
The grounds of the Fern Grotto Inn are set up so that you feel you are the only people staying at the property. It was a very quiet location, roosters notwithstanding.
So we highly recommend the Fern Grotto Inn. It reminded us of the hospitality we have enjoyed in the pensions of Moorea. Don't waste your money being insulated at a big name resort, stay at the Fern Grotto Inn and you can pretend Kauai is your home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubmarineAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Loved the Ohana House! We travelled with small children, a teenager and our parents. There was something to like for all. Our host was available most of the time and went to great efforts to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. It was wonderful to have all the baby items that we needed provided. The house is well stocked with family games and books to read when you're not checking out the island.
The location was great. A short walk to the river and ocean. Shopping a short distance down the road. Travelling all over the island didn't seem like a large endeavor as the Fern Grotto is so centrally located.
Can't say there was anything that we didn't like about our stay at the Ohana House - Fern Grotto. The roosters were a bit noisy in the mornings but you get used to it and if you keep your a/c on you can't hear them anyway. It was a home away from home.
Oh, and you may want to bring or purchase a little bug spray as the mosquitoes were a bit bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEJAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We went to Kauai for our honeymoon and had 7 of our family members go with us. The Fern Grotto Inn was the perfect place for us to stay. We all had our own private spaces when we wanted them and we were within walking distance to eachother when we wanted to spend time together. Paul and his family were there to answer any questions we had and they made us feel as if we were at our own homes. The grounds were beautiful and it was so peaceful the entire time we were there!!! We will definelty be staying at the Fern Grotto Inn everytime we go back to Kauia.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

From the moment we arrived, we knew that we had found a hidden gem for our vacation. We were looking to get away from the resorts and wanted to find a quaint little place to spend our 10th anniversary and were pleased with the laid back atmosphere and garden like setting that Paul his wife and two darling little children provided. The canal cottage was perfect with it's kitchenette where we made fresh smoothies with the mangoes given to us by Paul from the tree in front, and small veranda where we relaxed while smelling the sweet scents of ginger and plumeria from the nearby plants. The Inn's location is perfect with its 2 minute walk to the beach/river activities and is a great home base from which to explore the entire island. If you are looking to get away from the all inclusive resorts and wish to truly relax and find the "Aloha" spirit, then the Inn at Fern's Grotto is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulbster_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing