We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing retreat”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We were looking for a relaxing retreat in Kauai, and I don't think we could have found anything better. We stayed in the Garden cottage, but I believe any of the 4 homes would apply for this review. Comfortable, well-appointed cottage, lush grounds, centrally located for our explorations of beautiful Kauai. We started out our Hawaii vacation staying at a resort-style hotel in Waikiki and while it was very nice, it could not compare to this cozy cottage. This matched my image of how the Garden Isle is meant to be enjoyed. Calm, relaxing, with all the necessary amenities, and very reasonably priced. We plan on coming back, and maybe bringing the whole family to rent out the other cottages. Just wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LexiLaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Fern Grotto Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

Three generations of our family stayed here for a week (3-bedroom Ohana House). The house met all of our needs and there was plenty of room for all of us. The central location allowed us to day-trip easily around the island and it was close to shopping and restaurants. The surrounding garden was lovely and a great place for the little one to play and explore. Our only compaint was the traffic noise - which was unexpected.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nzusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We spent the majority of our honeymoon at the River Cottage (7 nights). The weekly rate was such a great deal!! The cottage was perfect for the 2 of us & felt more like a home rather than your typical, boring hotel room. We took advantage of the outside grill one night even!

The grounds are very pretty and we never actually really ran into any of the other guests much so it almost felt like we had the whole yard to ourselves. The kitchen was well stocked with all the basic staples which was a nice surprise.

I'd recommend this place in a heartbeat. Do not hesitate! Book now! :)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank k324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We spent a week at Fern Grotto Inn, in the River Cottage.

Really nice, clean and quiet. We had everything we needed.....beach chairs, boogy board, cooler, snorkeling gear, all provided nicely by the owner, who is a very cool guy and very attentive to his guests needs. The location is great because it is really centralized, providing an easy acces to both north and south shore. The cottage is at walking distance from a beach and just beside a nice river. We were really satisfied with what we got from Fern Grotto Inn and would recommend it anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dude68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We just returned from a week at the Fern Grotto Inn on Kauai and had a great time. The location (centrally located on the East side of the island) was just what we were looking for, the grounds were beautifully landscaped and the overall ambience of the place was incredibly relaxing. As we had just spent a hectic week on Oahu, we really appreciated getting away from the tourist crunch and coming home each night to our own cozy cottage. We stayed in both the River Cottage and the Garden Cottage and found them both to be delightful. The washer and dryer on the premises were very convenient and kept us from going home with a load of dirty laundry. And last but not least, our hosts were very friendly and helpful - thanks again, Paul, for rescuing me when I locked myself out! We'll definitely be staying here on any future trips to Kauai.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOnHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent five nights at the Fern Grotto Inn cottage in early October. First off, you can't beat the price, unless you plan on sleeping on the beach. Second, the location was ideal -- a central headquarters to explore the many different parts of Kauai. Third, it was not like other hotels/cottages, where your fellow guests are "part of your vacation" whether you like it or not. The cottage was excellent without "feeling like a hotel." There was a stack of boogie boards, towels and snorkel-gear to take to the beach (we did), and there was also a grill which we planned to use one night (in the end, we did not). After scouting out the the rest of the island, it is safe to say that the cottage is the best place we could have stayed. Hopefully we will be able to go back one day. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank korrysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed in the Garden Cottage at the Fern Grotto Inn and couldn't have been happier with our experience. The cottage was perfect; beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. It was exactly what I expected based on the pictures from the website. Our cottage was the perfect size for two people, and the fresh flowers were a very nice touch!

Our hosts made our stay especially enjoyable. They made us feel so welcome and gave us great tips about the island. They truly wanted us to enjoy our time on Kauai, which we really appreciated. It was great to have someone to talk to about the not-so-popular places to go on the island. And they were also very generous in sharing coolers, beach mats, snorkel gear, and boogie boards!

Our trip was incredible and we can't wait to go back. Whenever we're lucky enough and the time comes, we'll definitely be staying at the Fern Grotto Inn.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $244 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing