We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Beauty at Ohana House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Comfort and Beauty at Ohana House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband, our parents, and wily toddler had a fantastic stay in Fern Grotto's Ohana House this past April. The layout of the house accommodates larger groups with ease--an open main room, giant kitchen/dining room, three bedrooms each with its own bathroom, and a front porch/lanai. The grounds--lush gardens filled with fruit and flowering trees and good hangout spaces (lounge chairs, picnic table, grills)--function as additional living space and offer a peaceful vibe. There are three other cottages on the property, but the grounds do not feel at all crowded.

The Ohana House has a well-appointed kitchen, a massive number of windows that allow for cross-breeze galore, and sweet character (leaded-glass on the front door, hardwood throughout).

The amenities were good--laundry, crib (which was a need for us), Apple TV, and cold beer upon arrival.

We found the location convenient. Very close to the airport and Lydgate Park/Beach. Historic Kapa's is charming and offers a fantastic walking/bike path along the shore. We liked being equidistance from the north and south side of the island. Some other reviewers noted the noise of the highway, which is quite close to the property, but we didn't find vehicle noise to be an issue. There is a quiet hum, which really quiets down in the evening/overnight.

Paul is responsive and makes checking in and out simple. The gardening and housekeeping staff are friendly.

We look forward to returning to Ohana House.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
267
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The location of the Inn was perfect for us. Backed up to a river and across the street from the beach. A short drive into Lihue or Kapa'a. We stayed in the coco cottage and it was just the right size with an open arrangement, i.e, no walls. The kitchen and dining room were open to each other and the king-sized bed was at one end of the sitting room. It was like a large studio with everything we needed. A well-equipped kitchen and a big screen tv with some DVDs included. There is a kayak available with easy access to the river and lots of equipment to borrow. We borrowed a large umbrella which came in handy when we toured the Hindu temple for both the sun and the rain on the same day. Quiet and lush surroundings if you don't mind the roosters but that's everywhere on Kauai! Earplugs were provided so we were well-equipped. If you have the time, the Coco Palms Hotel tour is right across the street and is well-worth it to see where Blue Hawaii was filmed. The host had provided a book about the hotel which sparked my interest - fascinating history of the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odanata8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gif-sur-Yvette, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed 6 days at the "canal B" lodge. Just perfect and wonderful to enjoy this beautiful island with all you need : cozy and clean room, all amenities for a short stay.
Everything is well thought up to the smallest detail. What a treat for this great price !
Not to close to the roads even if you can hear them a little bit.
Endroit merveilleux pour découvrir Kauai. Ce gîte est équipé au-delà de toute attente depuis les serviettes de plage jusqu'au Kayak pour remonter la rivière située juste derrière le logement dans un jardin tropical très bien entretenu. Le rêve et le dépaysement à portée de bourse.
Sophie et Guillaume, France

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOPHIEcdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on a recent trip to Kauai. Found this place through tripadvisor.com. Wanted something different from the typical big chain hotels. Stayed 3 yrs ago at the Hyatt in Poipu, which was great, but overall enjoyed this stay much better. Stayed in Coco cottage which is a quite cottage off to the side with your own mini driveway where you can drive your car up right next to the entrance. The cottage itself was well furnished with kitchen and bathroom supplies. Extra towels and beach towels in the drawers. It was nice to have kitchen supplies so we could buy some things from the grocery store and eat in our cottage. Bed was soft and very easy to sleep in. Location of the grounds is what also makes this place so great. I enjoyed being in the middle of things, and drives up to the north or south were rather easy. The town of Kapaa is also great, and home to several restaurants well rated on yelp and tripadvisor. Lydgate beach is a few minute drive away. Will definitely return here if I come back to Kauai again, and if coming with a group would want to try Ohana house.

Room Tip: For couples, would definitely recommend Coco cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Of the rooms we have stayed in on the Big Island, Maui, and Kauai, our room at the Fern Grotto was definitely our favorite. The room was not only spacious and clean, but also tastefully decorated. For the price, it was a really nice layout. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, which is a standalone structure with a queen bed, loveseat, TV, mini fridge, and two-person shower. We had access to the canal and to a two-person kayak shared by all the guests at the Fern Grotto. We had a great time paddling up the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto State Park. Kapaa is also a great location to explore both the north and south coasts. The Fern Grotto is very close to the main highway and the cute downtown area, while still being private.

Room Tip: Although the Canal Cottage is a duplex, they do have a larger kitchen space (no range, but comes wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fern Grotto Inn totally exceeded our hopes and expectations. The property is quiet and ideally located, grounds are elegantly landscaped, cottage was beautifully decorated and generously and thoughtfully equipped. It is the perfect anti-resort vibe! Peaceful, secluded, private, with easy access to everything Kauai has to offer. We are already planning our return visit and we never go back to the same place twice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This January we stayed at the Fern Grotto Inn and could not have been more pleased with our choice. The cottages feel like you are transported back to old Hawaii but completely modern and delightful on the inside. The location is perfect! The cottages are located just south of main street Kapa'a so you have the choice of many restaurants and beaches. It is located only minutes from the airport and you can easily go north or south without any problems. We loved our stay here and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
14.2 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.5 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing