We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on a recent trip to Kauai. Found this place through tripadvisor.com. Wanted something different from the typical big chain hotels. Stayed 3 yrs ago at the Hyatt in Poipu, which was great, but overall enjoyed this stay much better. Stayed in Coco cottage which is a quite cottage off to the side with your own mini driveway where you can drive your car up right next to the entrance. The cottage itself was well furnished with kitchen and bathroom supplies. Extra towels and beach towels in the drawers. It was nice to have kitchen supplies so we could buy some things from the grocery store and eat in our cottage. Bed was soft and very easy to sleep in. Location of the grounds is what also makes this place so great. I enjoyed being in the middle of things, and drives up to the north or south were rather easy. The town of Kapaa is also great, and home to several restaurants well rated on yelp and tripadvisor. Lydgate beach is a few minute drive away. Will definitely return here if I come back to Kauai again, and if coming with a group would want to try Ohana house.

Room Tip: For couples, would definitely recommend Coco cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
272
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Of the rooms we have stayed in on the Big Island, Maui, and Kauai, our room at the Fern Grotto was definitely our favorite. The room was not only spacious and clean, but also tastefully decorated. For the price, it was a really nice layout. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, which is a standalone structure with a queen bed, loveseat, TV, mini fridge, and two-person shower. We had access to the canal and to a two-person kayak shared by all the guests at the Fern Grotto. We had a great time paddling up the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto State Park. Kapaa is also a great location to explore both the north and south coasts. The Fern Grotto is very close to the main highway and the cute downtown area, while still being private.

Room Tip: Although the Canal Cottage is a duplex, they do have a larger kitchen space (no range, but comes wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fern Grotto Inn totally exceeded our hopes and expectations. The property is quiet and ideally located, grounds are elegantly landscaped, cottage was beautifully decorated and generously and thoughtfully equipped. It is the perfect anti-resort vibe! Peaceful, secluded, private, with easy access to everything Kauai has to offer. We are already planning our return visit and we never go back to the same place twice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This January we stayed at the Fern Grotto Inn and could not have been more pleased with our choice. The cottages feel like you are transported back to old Hawaii but completely modern and delightful on the inside. The location is perfect! The cottages are located just south of main street Kapa'a so you have the choice of many restaurants and beaches. It is located only minutes from the airport and you can easily go north or south without any problems. We loved our stay here and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We recently stayed in the Canal A cottage. This was our second stay at The Fern Grotto Inn. We had previously stayed in the Garden cottage 3 years prior and had such a wonderful experience we knew we needed to contact Paul again during this stay on Kauai. The cottages are centrally located, easy drive to any of the sites on Kauai. The cottage was clean had well stocked. The area is quiet and safe. Paul has lots of beach equipment available to use and access to the washer/dryer is a bonus! We are so thankful that we found the Fern Grotto Inn and will return anytime we are on the island!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

In February Brian and I completed our 4th stay at the Coco Cabana in Kauai. And, as always, we were not disappointed. It is so wonderful to have such a nice place to stay in the lush paradise that is the North Shore of Kauai. Staying at the Coco Cabana is like being in paradise 24/7 since every window you look out the view is of tropical paradise. You won’t see other buildings or major highways or people. Your ears will be serenaded by the river, tropical birds and occasional showers. You will be only minutes away from hiking the Na Pali Coast Line, snorkeling at Tunnels or Happy Hour in Hanalei. We can’t wait to return next year!

Kathy Hostetler and Brian Ostrow

Room Tip: Coco Cabana is a house with only one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the River Cottage while on Kauai. It was perfect for two people. The cabin was clean. We enjoyed the kitchen, which came fully equipped for cooking our own meals. The use of a washing machine and dryer available to guests was greatly appreciated. We felt free to come and go at our leisure without worry go disturbing anyone. The entire property is well taken care of. Paul (the owner) is a very gracious host and it was easy to call or email him for questions. The entire experience of booking the reservation online, checking in, and checking out was easy and stress free. The property is just off of the main road for easy access to the rest of the island. We will be sure to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cainlayder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing