We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Kauai Experience”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our first time to Kauai. We stayed in the Coco cottage.
We enjoyed having a full kitchen to make coffee in the morning and sitting out in our very private backyard. We appreciated how clean the cottage was, super comfortable bed and peaceful. The location was superb and we were minutes away from the airport which allowed us to have one more Banana/ Coconut cream pie at Gaylords before going home. Thank You Paul for creating such a nice oasis. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxtechCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Fern Grotto Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Really well-located cottages a couple of miles south of Kapa'a. (You will hear a hum from the road nearby). Paul is extremely friendly and laid-back and even offered to drive us to the luau a mile away as we mentioned we were going to call a cab. The complimentary equipment he offers makes the accommodation even better value, particularly the kayak, which would cost $50-80 to rent elsewhere.

We stayed in Coco cottage, which was tastefully decorated. The bed was super comfortable, with linens that are even nicer that the ones we have at home!

If you are an avid cook, you might find the hob/microwave set-up slightly awkward, but that would be my only small gripe. Paul clearly takes great pride in his rental properties and requests suggestions for improvements.

The property is easily missed so when coming from the airport, look out for the first minimum 35 miles per hour sign after the Wailua Visitors Center. This sign is directly opposite the Inn.

Room Tip: Coco Cottage is the only cottage with direct access to a parking space. This might be useful if you...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Billychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in Ohana House for 6 nights in late October 2013. Walk in the front door and the house is so warm and welcoming, you are sure to love it immediately. Tastefully appointed, it is clean, well cared-for, with plenty of amenities and impressive island art. It is a house so comfortable, it is a pleasure to return to at the end of the day, or to wake to in mornings. All three uniquely charming bedrooms have bathrooms (good water pressure in the showers, etc.). The master bedroom has windows on three sides, providing plenty of natural-air ventilation. The kitchen table seats 6-8, and there are plenty of provisions for cooking and serving. With family living nearby, the Ohana was a great place for us to convene, relax and make / enjoy meals together. Take the bikes out along the coast for a fabulous experience! The other cabins of Fern Grotto are in close proximity so in that sense it is not entirely private. Also there is road noise. As a tradeoff, it is centrally-located for all island destinations. The grounds are very nice with beautiful plants and bonsai trees, and the river is adjacent. Although a block from Kuhio Highway, Fern Grotto Inn is surprisingly secluded and is sure to please.

Room Tip: We did not see the inside of the other smaller cabins, but Ohana House is the crowning jewel. It is...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Sorry this review is way overdue ! We travelled through 3 island in Hawaii from Scotland. I absolutely loved every minute of it. Paul's cottage was our splurge stop ! He was kind enough to come around to say hi and show us around the grounds. I fell ill during my stay - It was pretty hot and seeing that I come from Scotland - and Paul came over to see how I was doing. It is a really great place to relax and unwind and thank you so so much for the tip to have dinner at Hukilau Lanai it had the BEST AHI ever ! Stay here and look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rietva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In October 2013, three families ---- our daughter's (including her husband and two sons, 10 and 12), our son's family (with wife and toddler son), and ourselves (we're grandpa and grandma!) ---- came together from Australia, Minnesota, and Montana to spend a week at the Fern Grotto Inn on Kauai... and it was just great! The Fern Grotto Inn is perfectly, ideally located on the island to provide close access to everything. It's in the middle of it all! We grandparents stayed in the River Cottage... quiet, private, tropical and old-style, yet so very comfy and complete inside. We loved the privacy, the beautiful garden plantings, the seclusion despite being in such a busy area... you'd never know it, it's so green and secluded. It's a perfect place in which to hold a three-family reunion... each with our own private cottages... especially with the no-charge, centrally located on-site washer and dryer. Each Fern Grotto Inn cottage also comes with top quality beach towels... and several "toys" are available for guests to borrow, including a kayak, various bikes, boogie boards, beach coolers, mats, toddler beach toys, two pair of snorkel flippers, several snorkel masks, even a toddler life jacket that our littlest guy used every day. The River Cottage has a complete, full kitchen, good AC, everything a guest could need.... ceiling fans, gas BBQ grills, cordless phone available for calls, Paul, our host, was so friendly and very attentive to our needs. We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: River Cottage has the most complete kitchen, aside from the much larger Ohana House.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the River Cottage for 11 days during our two-week honeymoon and absolutely loved the cottage, the grounds, and the location. We were looking for an affordable, quaint and cozy, architecturally significant option outside resort living that we could call home-base, cook meals in, and relax without a million tourists around (who wants to be in a hotel room for two weeks!?). This place filled all those squares plus more. Paul had lots of amenities I didn't believe 'til I saw including TONS of beach and snorkel gear, bikes, a laundry room with free detergent, amazing grill, and a killer Ninja blender we made smoothies and cocktails in almost every day. The cottage was fully equipped with all the basics you'd need during this long of a stay, and Paul had even sprinkled the entire place with rose petals with complimentary wine and chocolates in the fridge. Ok, maybe this was just because we were honeymooners? who knows ; ) The presentation, though, really made the place feel special.

Ok, and then there's a bit of the nitty gritty. Kauai gets HOT during the day, and these cottages are not insulated like hotel rooms. Be warned that the AC only works so far if you plan on hanging in your room during the day (and with a stay this long, sometimes we just wanted to hang around the place). And like other reviewers say, yes, roosters like to crow at all hours. But seriously, it wasn't that big of a deal. I got used to it really fast, and I barely noticed after a few days. And we did spot a couple bugs and geckos in the place, but let's be honest, we are staying in a cottage by a river. Things are bound to sneak in. Other than that, though, the place was absolutely immaculate. If you are in any way high-maintenance, this might not be the place for you, but for all us others looking for a cool Kauai experience in an amazingly unique, historic setting, this is the place to be!

I'd definitely recommend this place and would surely book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jette209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is truly a great place to stay in Kauai. My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Garden Cottage. The room is very cozy, clean, and has a good vibe about it. The property grounds are very well kept and their a fruit tress which the guests are welcome to pick. The mangoes there are some of the best I've every had! The location is really good, as the Inn is close to the all the major attractions on Kauai, being in the center of the north shore and south shore in Kappa. The owner Paul is very helpful, always available to answer any questions, and a real good person. My wife and I had a great time chatting with him while we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRP2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $244 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing