We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and exceedingly well located. Loved it all.”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Charming and exceedingly well located. Loved it all.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In October 2013, three families ---- our daughter's (including her husband and two sons, 10 and 12), our son's family (with wife and toddler son), and ourselves (we're grandpa and grandma!) ---- came together from Australia, Minnesota, and Montana to spend a week at the Fern Grotto Inn on Kauai... and it was just great! The Fern Grotto Inn is perfectly, ideally located on the island to provide close access to everything. It's in the middle of it all! We grandparents stayed in the River Cottage... quiet, private, tropical and old-style, yet so very comfy and complete inside. We loved the privacy, the beautiful garden plantings, the seclusion despite being in such a busy area... you'd never know it, it's so green and secluded. It's a perfect place in which to hold a three-family reunion... each with our own private cottages... especially with the no-charge, centrally located on-site washer and dryer. Each Fern Grotto Inn cottage also comes with top quality beach towels... and several "toys" are available for guests to borrow, including a kayak, various bikes, boogie boards, beach coolers, mats, toddler beach toys, two pair of snorkel flippers, several snorkel masks, even a toddler life jacket that our littlest guy used every day. The River Cottage has a complete, full kitchen, good AC, everything a guest could need.... ceiling fans, gas BBQ grills, cordless phone available for calls, Paul, our host, was so friendly and very attentive to our needs. We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: River Cottage has the most complete kitchen, aside from the much larger Ohana House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    61
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
286
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the River Cottage for 11 days during our two-week honeymoon and absolutely loved the cottage, the grounds, and the location. We were looking for an affordable, quaint and cozy, architecturally significant option outside resort living that we could call home-base, cook meals in, and relax without a million tourists around (who wants to be in a hotel room for two weeks!?). This place filled all those squares plus more. Paul had lots of amenities I didn't believe 'til I saw including TONS of beach and snorkel gear, bikes, a laundry room with free detergent, amazing grill, and a killer Ninja blender we made smoothies and cocktails in almost every day. The cottage was fully equipped with all the basics you'd need during this long of a stay, and Paul had even sprinkled the entire place with rose petals with complimentary wine and chocolates in the fridge. Ok, maybe this was just because we were honeymooners? who knows ; ) The presentation, though, really made the place feel special.

Ok, and then there's a bit of the nitty gritty. Kauai gets HOT during the day, and these cottages are not insulated like hotel rooms. Be warned that the AC only works so far if you plan on hanging in your room during the day (and with a stay this long, sometimes we just wanted to hang around the place). And like other reviewers say, yes, roosters like to crow at all hours. But seriously, it wasn't that big of a deal. I got used to it really fast, and I barely noticed after a few days. And we did spot a couple bugs and geckos in the place, but let's be honest, we are staying in a cottage by a river. Things are bound to sneak in. Other than that, though, the place was absolutely immaculate. If you are in any way high-maintenance, this might not be the place for you, but for all us others looking for a cool Kauai experience in an amazingly unique, historic setting, this is the place to be!

I'd definitely recommend this place and would surely book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jette209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is truly a great place to stay in Kauai. My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Garden Cottage. The room is very cozy, clean, and has a good vibe about it. The property grounds are very well kept and their a fruit tress which the guests are welcome to pick. The mangoes there are some of the best I've every had! The location is really good, as the Inn is close to the all the major attractions on Kauai, being in the center of the north shore and south shore in Kappa. The owner Paul is very helpful, always available to answer any questions, and a real good person. My wife and I had a great time chatting with him while we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRP2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in the Coco Cottage and enjoyed our time at the Fern Grotto Inn. The cottage was nice, clean and comfortable. The private backyard had a hammock, gas grill, Plumeria trees, and colorful geckos. One of the nice perks was all the gear that was available for use. We took bicycles for a ride on the Kapa'a bike path that goes along the coast. We took advantage of the beach mats, umbrella, cooler, and wet shoes for many of our trips to the beach. The kayak was great. We launched from the property (no hauling) and kayaked down the Wailua river to the secret falls. Tried out a boogie board at Kealia beach. A cordless phone was available for calls, which came in handy for us after losing our cell phone. The weather was hot and we enjoyed the fresh air without using the A/C, the ceiling fans worked well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We came to Kauai for our honeymoon and stayed three different places, the Coco Cottage at Fern Grotto was definitely our favorite place. Paul was so friendly and helpful, and the cottage was perfect. The full kitchen was so nice, great place to just relax and chill. There was plenty of privacy, good AC, and Paul let us pick the fresh fruit on the property. Only thing we didn't like were the pillows, but that was just our preference.

I definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coco Cottage and it was great. Has own private back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the River Cottage. It was spacious and clean. Very welcome to have a nice sized kitchen in the unit, and gratis washing machine/dryer on the grounds; each saved us a lot of time for maximizing rest and sight seeing. Wifi works great if you need it. Paul was helpful and patient when we had a problem with our rental car. Location on the island was perfect for us: we drove to the north, canyon, south, interior east, and west, and it was never an intolerably long trip. Would've been a chore to see bits of the whole island based elsewhere. Short walk to the beach without being in a resort complex an additional bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the River Cottage in March of 2013, and it is very convenient for 2 people. It is an open-concept cottage with kitchen, living room and bedroom combined into one room. The bathroom has a large closet with shelves for both clothes and toiletries. The grounds of the property are beautifully landscaped, and the location is very convenient to the airport. There is also a washer and dryer located in a building on the property that guests can use if needed. The only downside is the property is close to a very busy highway and there is a lot of road noise during the morning commute.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorlovers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,291 reviews
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
547 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing