We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place We Stayed in Kauai”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We came to Kauai for our honeymoon and stayed three different places, the Coco Cottage at Fern Grotto was definitely our favorite place. Paul was so friendly and helpful, and the cottage was perfect. The full kitchen was so nice, great place to just relax and chill. There was plenty of privacy, good AC, and Paul let us pick the fresh fruit on the property. Only thing we didn't like were the pillows, but that was just our preference.

I definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coco Cottage and it was great. Has own private back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 450 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the River Cottage. It was spacious and clean. Very welcome to have a nice sized kitchen in the unit, and gratis washing machine/dryer on the grounds; each saved us a lot of time for maximizing rest and sight seeing. Wifi works great if you need it. Paul was helpful and patient when we had a problem with our rental car. Location on the island was perfect for us: we drove to the north, canyon, south, interior east, and west, and it was never an intolerably long trip. Would've been a chore to see bits of the whole island based elsewhere. Short walk to the beach without being in a resort complex an additional bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the River Cottage in March of 2013, and it is very convenient for 2 people. It is an open-concept cottage with kitchen, living room and bedroom combined into one room. The bathroom has a large closet with shelves for both clothes and toiletries. The grounds of the property are beautifully landscaped, and the location is very convenient to the airport. There is also a washer and dryer located in a building on the property that guests can use if needed. The only downside is the property is close to a very busy highway and there is a lot of road noise during the morning commute.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outdoorlovers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay in the very generous fern grotto inn. Tasteful and neutral decor inside sparkling clean and fresh cottages. Great gardens dripping with mangos and star fruit. BBQ for use and extra water sport equipment, bikes, kayak, picnic coolers, fins and body boards, deck chairs... All available for guests to use by the beach. Amazing set up and cute homey feel. I liked it very much. No nonsense communication with very chilled out owner who was not on site when we visited. We were welcomed by a very helpful cleaning lady and enjoy complimentary treats on arrival. Highly recommend but you need a car to stay here since it is mid way between beaches in north and south. Local beach is alongside busy road but once you've crossed the road it's peaceful and beach-combing opportunities are great.

Kauai is amazing!!! He most alive place in nature I've ever been, go there and stay half your time in fern grotto and half your time on a beachfront guesthouse in Hanelei.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fflashpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When you leave Paul's place and return home, you will realize how much you miss Kauai and how no supermarket mango can compare with the juicy, delicious ones found in abundance at Fern Grotto Inn. Paul's hospitality is also in ample supply, but he has also created a beautiful, restorative environment where travelers can find peace or can come and go on their adventures as they please. We stayed in the River Cottage, where we were surrounded by lush gardens and island sounds outside, while finding everything we needed for cooking, lounging, or prepping for a day at the beach inside. A week after returning home, my two-year-old has asked when we can go back to the "Hawaii house." Here's hoping we can return to Fern Grotto Inn soon!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Regina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We feel very fortunate that we got the opportunity to know your cottage.
We have appreciated Your hospitality,your passion that you dedicated at your work and for your garden.
We found the cottage clean, comfortable and fully equipped with everything we could possibly need and more.
We loved Kauai island with its color, rich gardens and beaches in particular Secret Beach.
We hope to came back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsette2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a seriously overdue review for Paul and the Fern Grotto, but one i think needs to be stated. We booked canal A with Paul for our five days in Kauai after a week on Big Island. Upon arrival Paul checked us in and offered to upgrade us to the Coco cottage as it had't been rented. Can't tell you how much i thought of this gesture. The cottage was perfectly clean, with a well outfitted kitchen, parking outside the door, backyard and if we had needed, pretty much any type of beach gear you would need....for free. The cottages are located just a short jot off of the man drag going in to Kapaa and after spending 5 days on the island, we realized how perfectly located this place was for exploring everything Kauai had to offer. Paul was a terrific host and terrific person. I would highly recommend staying here for anyone who is looking for a clean, well stocked base camp.

Room Tip: Coco cottage is spacious and well equipped for couples wanting some space. There is a couch as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartlax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
2.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Waimea Plantation Cottages
15.7 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
15.6 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $213 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing