We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fern Grotto Inn
Nearby Hotels
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$215
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,249
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$380
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$524
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
417
69
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
69
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsohana housegarden cottagecoco cottagewailua riverthe cottagesfruit treesstar fruitbeach gearfree kayaksthe kitchenboogie boardssecret fallshome away from homeour honeymoonmangowater shoeswasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 495 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Garden house. We grilled our dinners out on the grill. The small fridge in the cottage was large enough to store a few meals, and the washer and dryer were perfect for cleaning up after a long day hiking.
Great place. Great location. Great wifi!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrico23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the River cottage for 4 nights. Excellent location in central Kapaa, about halfway between the North and South shores. We immediately felt at home here, even as the only gay couple staying during the 4 nights. Well equipped place with kitchen, stove/sink, dishes, ample supplies, stocked fridge. Beautifully upkeep of the grounds surrounding this cottage.

We were able to prepare breakfast every morning, even picking fresh herbs and chillies from the garden! Paul the innkeeper was incredibly personable, friendly, and helpful in getting us acquainted with the area. He even gave us some of his chili salt to go with the fresh green mangoes we picked from the trees nearby. We had a night flight out of Lihue and Paul was nice enough to let us put our luggage in one of the other cottages and even let us shower at the cottage before our flight. Service was exceptional.

The area was very quiet and idyllic, and we felt like our vacation was truly unique. Get away from the resorts and the highly commercial areas of Kaua'i and get the real deal here at Fern Grotto. I would without hesitation stay here again if I visit Hawaii again. Thank you so much for everything, Paul!

Room Tip: Pick the River cottage. It has everything you need for an excellent price.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage for a week, the perfect location if you're interested in a very short walk up to beach and the 2 mile bike path south along the beach through Lyndgate Park. The bike path heading north is under construction but will soon connect with the completed 4-mile path that starts at the Kapaa boat launch and heads north to Donkey Beach. Once that's complete, it'll be easy to walk from the Fern Grotto to the Wailua restaurants -- Kintaro (Japanese), Monico's Taqueria, and Cafe Coco (all just beyond the old Coco Palms site) are all quite good. The cottage had a pleasant view out to the Wailua River, was clean, well-furnished & equipped. The location is very quiet and a bit hard to find, but the owner provided detailed instructions to find the turn-off just across from the old Coco Palms site.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage has a view of the Wailua River
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TacomaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having just spent five nights at the Garden Cottage, Fern Grotto Inn, I cannot speak highly enough of the facilities and services offered by Paul, the host. This exceptionally clean, well-furnished cottage in idyllic surroundings provided my husband and I with an ideal break. Centrally located on the Wailua River in Kapa'a we enjoyed the spectacular gardens, river views, walks on the nearby beaches and serenity of the property. It is ideally situated for day trips to other parts of the island, easily accessed from the airport in Lihue and the local area provides all the daily essentials. The sound of the early morning traffic is the only negative; however, it really is just background noise and not at all intrusive. The sound from the roosters and hens is part of the charm of the island and memories of the, bring a smile to my face. For those who want an independent, low-key, relaxed holiday I have no hesitation in recommending the Fern Grotto Inn. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Garden Cottage is ideal for a couple and has wonderful views of the river.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We planned our entire trip around the Fern Grotto Inn. My wife found the website and reviews online and decided "that's where we are going". We were so pleased with that choice and the destination. We booked the Coco Cottage for a week and just got home a couple of days ago.

Paul the owner is great, very friendly and laid back. He's there if you need him, otherwise you have total privacy. He took my daughter and I around the property on a couple fruit picking trips and we tried lots of new things. He gave me great choices and directions for dining. We used the phone, the laundry machines, and the shared items like lawn chairs, boogie boards, etc. We just loved having a little house to call home and use as a base.

The location is so central to the entire island. An hour north, or south and you've reached the end of the road. Lydgate Park Beach is minutes away and great for families with protected swimming from the waves and good beginner snorkeling, and a huge playground. Smith's Tropical Paradise is across the river and offers river boat tours and a very fun luau. The famous and abandoned Coco Palms Resort from Elvis's Blue Hawaii is right across the street with it's huge overgrown palm tree grove and lagoon!

The Coco Cottage has air conditioning and ceiling fans with roof ventilation as well. We rarely needed the air conditioning as the fans and vents kept the air moving nicely and quietly. Kitchenette had everything we needed, large double door fridge and gas range. Smaller bathroom but a large roomy shower.

10 minute drive from the Lihue airport. 5 minutes to Kapaa with great shopping and dining. Safeway is great for groceries. Lot's of shopping and dining within a few minutes drive.

If I had to be critical of anything? The island chickens can be a bit noisy (i.e. roosters), but they are EVERYWHERE, so you can't really avoid them. The island has a single main highway looping around the north, east, and south sides. The road is busy, and there is some traffic noise in the early morning as commuters head to work. I think all accommodations on the island would have these complaints unless they are further inland or on large properties with a natural buffer between them and the roads. You want to drive places since walking along the highway in this area is not really safe. The Wi-Fi was weak at the Coco Cottage because it's off to the side and separated a bit from the rest of the cottages.

If you want privacy, independence, and a house rental style of experience (ie, no hotel services like housekeeping, room service, etc) then this is a great choice for you. If you are a single, a couple, or a small family with kids willing to sleep on a sofa bed, then the Coco Cottage is a great choice especially if you like the privacy of the back yard, and the private side entrance and parking.

Room Tip: The Coco Cottage has a private side entrance and driveway separated from the other cottages. It's the only one with a fenced private backyard area as well, complete with a hammock!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews