We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for!”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We wanted to stay in a condo type place instead of a resort and I wanted to stay near Kapa'a since it's centrally located and not as touristy. We came across the Fern Grotto Inn on the web and it was exactly what we were looking for!

We stayed in the Ohana house and it looks just like the pictures. The house and all of the amenities are in great shape and the grounds are maintained very well. Paul is very nice and has thought of just about everything to make your stay enjoyable.

We will definitely try to stay here the next time we visit Kauai!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    61
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
283
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a lovely, well appointed cottage that felt very private and spacious. Beautiful grounds, great outdoor and beach gear amenities, and a great host, Paul, who was available for questions, but did not hover.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwandss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I don't really want to review this place as being so nice because I don't want everyone booking it up for when I return! However, since Paul was so nice, I'll begrudgingly give it the stellar review this place deserves...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I just returned from staying at the Wailua Hideaway (partnered with the Fern Grotto Inn). It is a lower portion of a lovely home in a residential neighborhood. David and Lynda, the owners, were great. The home has a full kitchen, large bedroom, bathroom, laundry room, living area, and a huge deck with a gorgeous view of the mountains, trees, and stream. It was a peaceful tropical paradise. I would stay again and I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Fern Grotto Inn is located in Kapaa, but it feels as if you in in a botanical garden. It is centrally located, with easy access to the north or west side of the island. I enjoyed lazy mornings on the lani of Canal B.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biglslandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is amazing! My husband and I stayed here, in Canal A, for 1 week while in Kaui. The location is great, especially for 1st timers in Kauai. The location allows for equal access to the North, South and West. In addition, there are restaurants, grocery stores, kayaking, etc all within walking distance to a a few short miles.

The Canal A cottage was perfect for the two of us. In addition, it was great to have access to a kitchenette, BBQ, beach supplies and towels, laundry facitlities, etc.

The cost is more reasonable than you will find anywhere given the quality of accomodations as well.

There are also fruit trees on the property for you to enjoy when in season!

Paul, owner and operator, is so very kind and will be sure that your stay is all you've expected!

I would recommned ear plugs if you sleep light (and this is for any place that you stay) because there are lots of roosters around the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01050897453001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved our time at the Fern Grotto Inn. We stayed in Canal Cottage A, which was just right for two people. Very comfortable, nicely decorated, private yet accessible to all our needs. Close to dining, shopping and activities, yet tucked away from traffic. It was easy to pretend we were living in our own little house under the palms. Very tranquil. Paul is very nice and accommodating to his guests. Highly recommended. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing