We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We spent six nights in a Garden View room (B102) and it was exactly as shown in the photos on the Outrigger website. My husband and I each had an 80 minute massage at the Resort's spa...wonderful! Pool was awesome. Beach was nice, but not a swimming beach. Sunrise and moon-rise were beautiful. We were lucky enough to see some whales off in the distance. Had a drink in the Oasis Restaurant, but didn't eat there...a little to fancy food for our tastes. Close to shopping...love Longs Drug.

Would definitely consider staying here again...had everything we needed. We only cooked breakfast in the room, but could easily have stocked the big fridge and eaten all our meals at the condo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoLeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I and our 3 children (2,5 & 8) stayed here for 3 nights while on Kauai. The resort is beautiful and fabulous for little ones. They have a nice sand covered toddler pool and water slides for older children. The rooms are very nice and spacious but make sure to book an ocean view or ocean front room! The garden view rooms have a view of
Safeway across the street! The grounds of the resort are meticulously maintained and are gorgeous. I was very surprised by the lack of people too... It was a very quiet place. We had great service by the man who checked us in late at night, but after that, the service was terrible! Rude front desk attendant and concierge. The beach was ok.... Windy and stick-covered, but some ok tide pools for the kids. It reminded me more of the Oregon coast beach than your typical Hawaii beach. But if your not concerned about service or basking on the beach than this is a fantastic choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shydynbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The room had a wonderful kitchen with luxury appliances. The bathrooms were spacious. The bed was cozy and comfortable. Our room had a "garden view" which included a slight ocean view over the parking lot. The extras included in the room compensated for the "view", we had two flat screen tv's, washer/dryer, two patios, free wired internet access,a gorgeous pool with a lazy river for the kids and we could walk to the beach in a couple of minutes. The onsite restaurant, Oasis, served local food which was absolutely delicious! The ahi poke was prepared with sesame oil, avocado and just melted in your mouth. My husband and I will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerberdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed in a privately owned condo (D202) on the 2nd floor. Very large apartment with a/c & fans overlooking pool area. Spacious lounge with flat screen TV & large well equiped kitchen. Gorgeous king size bed in b/r with flat screen TV. The bathroom is to die for so huge with 3 hand basins, 2 toilets, 1 very large bathtub (but not spa unfortunately) & a shower. Shower & extra toilet are separate. Dryer & washer which we found invaluable for our 5night stay.As it is privately owned there is no daily housekeeping but that did not worry us there were plenty of towels, linen if needed. And you do need to BYO coffe, sugar, milk but there is plenty of other essentials ie: soap, toilet paper, detergent etc etc Grounds are beautiffuly cared for by the Outrigger but I think that name has now changed to The Courtyard. As condo privately owned we did not have a lot to do with staff but the ones that we did encounter were helpful & friendly. Unsecured car spaces out front. Shopping centre across the road with supermarket, longs drugs, small pub, subway, chinese, Starbucks etc. The most amazing restaurant just a short walk away called Lemongrass Grill & Seafood Kapaa the meals were the best we had including Honolulu. Remax Kauai look after this condo for the owner & do an excedllent job. Would return in a heartbeat & highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed here in Oct 2010. Although we had seen some really good reviews on the place we didn't expect it to be as nice as it was. The rooms are very nice with many upgraded features. Kitchens, Washer and Dryers. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view and it was beautiful. Staff at front desk was very friendly and helpful. Restraunt on site (Oasis) was good (a little pricey - but just about everything is). You can't really swim at the beach here - but there are very nice beaches just a few minutes away. Pool is nice - 2 slides - not huge but fun still. You are right across the street from a Safeway and another local grocery store (the local one is much less expensive and we received club cards when we checked in). A benefit we discovered was that this resort's exit is right by a stop light; Kauai's traffic can get very bad and if we didn't have that light we would have been waiting a very long time to get out of the hotel at times. We really had a great time and would highly recommend this place. The parking spots a not very large - so it can be a little hard to get in and out of them with a larger vehicle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucketfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. The grounds, room, staff, pool, hot tubs were EXCELLENT! It is very clean and quiet! We loved how it was centrally located and the ease of getting in and out of the resort was a plus! We will definitely be back and this time bring our kids to enjoy the resort and island too! There is shopping close by (within walking distance) for groceries and plenty of great restaurants also! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowandsun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

My four children (ages 14 - 25) and I stayed at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort for 10 great days over the Christmas Holiday this year. The location was perfect because we were across the street from 2 grocery stores, a drug store, a Starbucks and numerous other little shops. The location also allowed us to travel as far North as possible in about 40 minutes and as far West as possible in about the same amount of time. This was our first trip to Kauai and we were able to visit many beaches, dining spots and shopping areas from our location at the Outrigger. The staff was very friendly and helpful The concierge gave us advise on which Whale Watch cruise to take and we say about 12 whales and had a wonderful staff, meal and time on Capt. Andy's. We also had the best housekeeping service I think I have ever had. We had an issue with our dishwasher which maintenance responded to immediatley both times it wasnt working but when it wasnt working we left our dishes for later and went out. While we were gone Housekeeping came and cleaned or room including doing our dirty dishes! Every staff member we passed in the hallway said Hello and gave us a friendly smile. The 2 Bedroom was 5 star, luxury accomodations. I would highly reccomend the Outrigger.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ThompsonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $234 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing