We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience - vacation of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Waipouli Beach Resort is far and above the BEST venue for a family vacation! We celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary, along with our daughter's 7th birthday, and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations and service. The resort is located in the center of the island, so our travels to activities on either end of the island were fairly close. The only downside was the bridge expansion project that lined cars up for miles down the two-laned highway. On the night of our luau, it took 20 minutes to go 5 miles! But that has nothing to do with the resort, just a quick traffic warning for those intending to visit :)
We booked our stay through Costco a couple months ahead of time (2 bed, 3 bath condo) with a partial ocean view. My husband called two days prior to our arrival to confirm our reservation and to let them know we'd be checking in late. Having read som bad reviews prior to our trip, I was skeptical of the assistance the evening security would give us. However, we were pleasantly surprised that the actual resort staff waited around for us to check in rather than putting us off on the hotel security. AND, they had overbooked the type of room we reserved so they automatically upgraded us to the same size suite with a full ocean view - at no additional charge!
Everyone, even the housekeeping staff, was incredibly friendly and helpful. We did not ever encounter one staff member who did not have a smile on their face or who was not willing to help. AND THE POOL . . . was an amazing experience in itself. The water slides were a blast for the kids and the water falls and lazy river provided an exotic backdrop for the most beautiful vacation photos ever.
I don't usually write reviews online, but given the service and beauty of this resort, I couldn't resist. If we can ever afford a trip like this again, this will be the FIRST place we call. You won't regret your decision to stay here . . . I promise!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
There are newer reviews for Waipouli Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

We just returned from spending 12 nights at this resort. We were a group of 6 adults. We stayed in H401 (Outrigger Royal Oceanfront) We paid top dollar for what we thought would be the best unit they had to offer...The unit itself was on the 4th floor, with wonderful ocean views from the living room, master bedroom, and 2nd bedroom. It had one lanai off MBR and LR, with table and 4 chairs. Tiny lanai off other bedroom (2 double beds), fit 2 chairs. There was a table in LR which sat 3 people....kind of a strange setup, if you all want to sit down to have a meal together....

We had service each day in the unit, which amounted to emptying the garbage, and exchanging towels. We had to call at least 4x to bring more bath towels...they never left enough. It was quite annoying. BUT the most annoying thing was a whining A/C unit or some sort of fan in the "owner's unit" which is next to this unit, which never stopped. If you woke during the night, you couldn't get back to sleep due to this whining noise....we resorted to earplugs.

The location is excellent for traveling the island, especially if you plan to go to the north shore often. But we have stayed previously in Poipu, and would return there if we were to ever go back to Kauai. Poipu has beautiful beaches. Kapaa is just too congested. It's even difficult crossing the street to get to the grocery store. And don't be fooled if you think the bike path runs in front of this complex, it does NOT. You have to walk through some seedy areas to get to the bike path.

The unit itself has some nice amenities, and the beds were very comfortable. We had a wonderful time in spite of the drawbacks. The pool area is very nice, but definitely designed for families with small children.

Also, when I tried to find out which unit we would be in (as we were assigned a unit on the Big Island, for the 3 nights prior to this stay), they wouldn't assign a unit until you checked in, which I found strange. so you don't know what unit you will have until you arrive.

I did complain about the whining, and they seemed to know exactly what I was talking about, said they would check it out, but never did......also the elevator in H building needs work...it shimmers and shakes every time it stops at your floor.......they seemed very laid back about everything, but they need to attend to these things, before they start losing business.

The grills were great down near the pools, 4 large to handle the complex, but seemed ample.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We just returned from a 4-week vacation in Hawaii, and we stayed 4 nights at this Outrigger (Waipouli) and loved it. We've rented unit 401 (Royal Ocean Front Condo) for our family of 5 (including 3 children 8-10-14 years old), and it was big enough. Our 14 year old slept on the soffa bed in the living area. Ideal for family with children: the pool has water slides, and the hotel is located accross the street from restaurants and grocery stores.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieFrance70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the Outrigger Waipouli and loved the amenities of the condo! We traveled to Kauai after spending 6 nights at the Hyatt in Maui. The condo provided us with a lot of space and a place to unwind after our busy days. The pool was very nice at the condo and not crowded.

We worked with Kay Ryan in Maui to make the arrangements. She understood our needs and made a great recommendation with the Outrigger. Kay can be reached at Kay@mauikay.com. She was very helpful in making all of our travel arrangements and suggesting/scheduling activities. It's nice to get advice from someone who lives on the island and is helpful throughout your vacation.

The Outrigger was conveniently located between the northern and southern shores of the island. Grocery stores were within walking distance of the condo and many restaurants were close by as well.

Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Room was great, very modern and high end. Not like some other condo type resorts. Beds were extremely comfortable. I typically try to stay at 4 star plus place when on vacation, and this place is right there with them or better as far as the room is concerned. We had a 2 bedroom, 3 bath, oceanfront room. You will not get the same level of service as a Ritz, but this is really not that type of place anyway. Pool was beautiful, grounds were great. Staff was very friendly. I would absolutely stay here again. Great place for breakfast just a block north, Scuba Bob's a Block South (very helpful and great prices). Kapaa is a nice little town with good food. Casa Di Amici in Kapaa has very good Pizza. Olympic Cafe was pretty good as well. Safeway across the street is very convenient. We did not use the Spa because it was very overpriced, and did not eat at the restaurant onsite, so no input there. There are 4 gas grills in the pool area, so you can get some burgers or steaks at Safeway and cookout. We stayed here for a week, and absolutely loved it. If you have a late flight like we did (departing at 9 PM) ask at the front desk about the hospitality room. They will give you access to a room for an hour if you already had to check out, so you can hang by the pool all day (or do whatever), and still be able to shower before you have to go to the airport. Best vacation so far. Rent a car.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our family of 4, girls 9, and 12, stayed for 5 nights in June. We had a simply wonderful 2-bedroom condo, with a gorgeous kitchen, huge living room, and huge bedrooms. The apartment overlooked the ocean, and everything was quiet, comfortable, and restful. (The chickens on Kauai will wake you early if you leave the windows open.)

They provided use of boogie boards, beach mats, and the pool at the Waipouli was great (2 water slides.) The kids really loved it. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Enjoyed a week at the resort. The rooms were clean with up to date kitchens. Enjoyed the pool area as well as the spa. Great location right on the beach and had good food at the open air restaurant/bar next to the beach. Also received execleent recommendation on places to eat. No complaints. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $227 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing