We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put ... PARADISE FOUND!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This was our 9th trip to Kauai, second stay at the Waupoli Beach Resort. We have a time share at the Marriot Beach Club and CHOSE to stay at this resort for a variety of reasons. We stayed in a 2 BR privately owned condo. We love the luxurious accomodations and I enjoy attending the local famer's markets and cooking some of the "local fare" myself. The kitchens in the condo units are AMAZING! We believe we save $$ by making many meals ourselves and the awesome kitchen actually makes it "fun" to cook on vacation! The resort staff was so friendly. My 3 year old son was up every morning to feed the koi fish and then off to the awesome pools with water slides. Although some reviewers commented that the pool area is loud, on our 8 day stay we NEVER experienced loud rowdy behavior. On two occasions, we had the pool and slides to ourselves! The grounds are well kept and you really have a feel of a "high end" establishment.

The beach area does not lend itself to snorkeling or swimming. I recommend traveling a few miles south to Lydgate Beach and enjoy those activities there.

Kapa'a is more conveniently located on the east coast of the island and you can travel to the north or south end of the island for sight seeing with ease. Some reviews commented on the bad traffic. I will agree that the Kuhio highway is busy in front of the resort, but some of this magnified by the bridge construction in Wailua Falls. The construction of the new bridge will alleviate some of the congestion in the future.

If you want to stay at a fabulous resort with awesome grounds, this is the place for you. Again, simply put, the Waipouli is Paradise Found.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KauaiATVfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

Loved the location & that you could walk to the ocean from your condo. Very clean, very nice condos. Staff was very helpful, answered our questions. Pool was great, never felt crowded even though resort was almost full. We didn't eat at the restaurant there, but some of our family did go there for drinks. Liked being able to cook there if we wanted. There were 4 gas grills that you could use in addition to the full kitchen in the condo. Cleaning staff even put our dirty dishes in the dishwasher & washed them for us. I thought it was a good value for Kauai. We had a lovely one bedroom condo which is much larger than the standard hotel room for less money. The only downside was the stoplight to leave the resort...sometimes waited what seemed like 5 minutes if you were turning left.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksjayhawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

WE stayed in your hotel for Our Daughters wedding and had a great time. your accomidations were perfect for our 1 year old granddaughter to our old folks Sarah and myself. Thank You Very Much.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gohrlybkr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed in a one-bedroom, 2 bath ocean view condo and had a great stay!

Convenient location: Located across from Safeway and Foodland and near many restaurants in Kapaa. There is a restaurant on the property itself but we did not eat there. It is central to all the attractions, as Princeville is 30 minutes northwest, Ke'e is 45 minutes northwest, Poipu/Koloa are 30 minutes southwest, and Waimea Canyon is about 45-60 minutes. Better than staying on either the North or South Side of the island and having to travel 1 hour each way to the various sites.

Great rooms: Quiet with nice views. Large kitchen with fancy appliances, washer/dryer, 2 bathrooms (one with double sinks and tub, the other with shower), comfortable queen bed, ok sofa bed). The linens and surfaces weren't very clean! There was free internet access as well!

Staff: We arrived late (around 9PM) and found the reception area empty. We had to call the receptionist to come down and help check us in.

Pool area and grounds: Saline pool is great to lounge in and has water slides. Family friendly, lots of kids in the pool area. There is beach access from the hotel. The beach is clean, pretty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahinekawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

so convient,parking,shopping,beach, rooms are AMAZING,staff is wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantesinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband & I took my mom to see her home, and we stayed here for a few days.
It was luxurious and convenient. Across the street from Safeway & a # of restaurants
& shops. Pool is outstanding. 2 bdrm/3 bath--master bath has jacuzzi & is attached
to hallway bath with shower (2nd bath). It can be shut off for guests. Very nice feature.
No security in the open lobby late at night.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyAnne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The pool was beautiful and quiet, the location was perfectly located b/w the northside and southside attractions of the island. The room was wonderful and had all the amenities and more. After traveling around the island looking for beachside restaurants/bars we came to realize that the only one that was around was here at the resort. It is really nice and the food was good. The beach is not for swimming, but we did get several monk seals laying around in front of the bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $243 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing