We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave this place!”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We own a timeshare in Poipu area but like to try other condos/resorts on our off years. We were blown away by the rooms, beautiful, spacious, huge master baths off both bedrooms, wonderful kitchen with top of the line appliances -- never heard people around us on either side! We were on top floor in Building C -- nice building as its above the lazy river and not a lot of action going on there and you can hear the waterfall from your room. The full size washer/dryer is nice to have. You can go home with clean clothes! The pool area was wonderful -- our 12 year old son loved the water slides and spent most of his time in the pool. Not sure why they don't allow kids under 18 to be in the hot tubs though. The beach area is nice with covered tables and lounge chairs so you can relax on the beach if you want to -- the front desk was very nice and helpful and we checked in in a matter of seconds! Being able to walk to the grocery store and get coffee was wonderful. Great location for driving north or south. Traffic was pretty backed up sometimes but we just went with the flow -- just remember that when leaving for the airport to give yourself some extra time! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiibound02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    368
    96
    56
    29
See reviews for
703
472
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somers point, nj
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The hotel is wonderful as stated by everyone else. I cannot say anything bad about the room or grounds, just wonderful. The problem we had was with Connie at the activity center. We went there to book the Smith Luau which came highly reccomended. It is also located very close to the hotel, which was a plus as we were taking a taxi. When we got to the activity center where you can book trips, Connie stated that the luau in Lihue was far superior that Smith's and we would enjoy it so much more. Well, not only was it much more expensive, it was also a $50 taxi ride to get there and $50 to get back and it was terrible. They did not even have a pig with an apple in his mouth on display (they did have pork served to us but come on, it's a luau - we want a pig!). The taxi driver that took us home said that Smith's was the only Luau to go to while in Kauai and that the people at the hotel get commissions on the bookings so a more expensive luau would bring in a higher commission for the agent selling it to us.

Other than being ripped off by Connie, I have no complaints about the resort and very much enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again but would definitely avoid booking outings through the resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

did not have a chance to stay in condo but heard it was nice but we did stay in a hotel room which they have only six. The room was very nice and clean but small the bathroom very nice but there was no room to put any toilitries a small shelf would solve that problem and they did not have an ice machine for the hotel guest, over all nice place and grounds Debbie

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,277 reviews
426 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

WOW -- what a great experience at this Outrigger resort. We pulled into the resort after a long day of hiking along the Napali Coast, and we were immediately impressed. The check-in was fast and polite. The concierge immediately made a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant for dinner. We drove to our condo and parked right outside -- the parking was FREE, unlike every other hotel property we stayed at in Hawaii, all of which charged double-digit numbers for parking each day. We stepped into the condo and were SO impressed -- two huge bedrooms, a lovely and spacious living room, a kitchen with gourmet-brand appliances, full-size washer and dryer, and a great ocean view. The entire condo was decorated in a beautiful, understated way, with granite countertops and top-notch furnishings.

The pool area was also very nice -- a winding lazy river, a sand-bottom jacuzzi, and waterslides. There were also areas to do outdoor grilling. Although we didn't use them, the hotel also had a great-looking spa and a nice, ocean-side restaurant.

If there are downsides to this place, there's three: (1) there are lots of kids, which decreases the appeal for a couple. You really notice it at the pool. If you're staying here as a couple, it might be worth asking for a condo that doesn't overlook the pool, as you're likely to be awakened by loud kids in the morning. (2) The fitness center -- it is pretty lousy, in a windowless room with old equipment and no treadmill (however, on Kauai, there's plenty of opportunities for exercise that don't involve a fitness center, so this wasn't a big problem). (3) At night, at the hours the hotel had supposedly entered "quite hours," the staff would wheel large carts up and down the sidewalks outside of the condos. It'd be better if this was done during the day. But these are all small complaints.

Overall, HIGHLY recommended -- truly a stunningly lovely condo facility with great service, a good location, and great value. Not only are the condos reasonably priced to rent, but you can save a ton of money by making your own meals in the kitchen. There's a grocery store right across the street, and the Outrigger even gives you a re-useable tote for your grocery shopping. This is the way to stay in Kauai!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is an excellent condo resort to stay in in Kauai. In terms of convenience, it's wonderfully located in Kapa'a near restaurants, shops and supermarkets, and is also not too far a drive to the North and South shores. We got 2 rooms for our family of 6 - a 2 bedroom, 3 bath for 4 adults, and a one bedroom 2 bath for 2 adults. We however couldn't get rooms near each other so it was a bit of a trek from one room to another.

Each unit, is wonderfully appointed with flat panel TVs, washer/dryer, sub-zero fridge and every single high-end appliance you can think of. It's funny though, because the 2 units had different coffee makers, one of them had an electric kettle, one of them had high end cookware and the other had cheap cookware and utensils. So I guess everything is not the same in each unit but they really have everything you can think of: peelers, graters, knives, etc. We were never in need of anything, but we also didn't really cook that much.

The lazy river pool is so much fun. It's a saline pool, which really just means they use salt instead of chlorine to disinfect the water, which I guess is better for you and the environment. It's not like they just dump seawater in the pool. It was very clean and very well maintained. There are 2 water slides too which was fun. The pool is heated and is not that deep at all. Think about 3.5 ft - 4ft at the deepest. It's very large although I think the areas to lay out are not that vast. People seemed to congregate around the points where the sun shone at that time of day, and sometimes they may not have enough pool chairs at that particular area (although the shady areas would be pretty empty). But we always managed to find something for us and were happy. There is no pool bar or pool service, but we weren't really expecting that. We just brought a collapsible cooler (found in our room!) and filled it up with ice and canned/bottled drinks.

The spa and restaurants were closed when we were there, so this isn't really a full service resort. But tons of stuff are within walking distance so it's pretty convenient, and it forces you to try new things every day. We also got a lot of take-out meals, as it's fun to spend some time with family eating plate lunches on your own lanai, or watching DVDs and mixing your own drinks in the kitchen. Lot's of fun memories here.

Also, cool thing about this resort is that they dont' have key cards, they use a code to get into your unit. so you never have to remember to bring your key card (I always lose mine anyways).

Will definitely stay here again when we want luxury and convenience in Kauai! We found a great deal with airfare on expedia.com, but booking directly on the hotel website was also a great deal. I can't imagine staying in a luxury 2 bed/2 bath condo for this price in ANY city, let alone Kauai!! I think this is no longer an Outrigger property although all the amenities still say Outrigger on them. Let's hope the low prices stay as it definitely an incentive to come back one day!

Only minor complaint is that often times the roads in Kapa'a leading into Lihue have lots of traffic. We didn't experience this while we were in the hotel, only when we were outside driving to and from it. Since there is only 1 main road leading around the island, there is bound to be some heavy traffic into Lihue during rush hours anyways...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tifa2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We had never traveled to Hawaii, so the only info was from the reviews given on this site, and from people who had been here ahead of us. We could not have had a better time. The condo was incredible, with more to offer than we expected!! The kitchen's were very finely appointed, and we did use them extensivly. We stayed in unit G106, and had a great view of the ocean!! Walked down to the beach several morning's, and watched the sunrise. The beds were very comfortable,and the shower was great. The pool area has a lot to offer, and would be most inviting for people who have children with them. The only real drawback is that there are only a couple of grilles to cook on. They should have a couple more grilles.All in all we were very satisfied with this place. Will hopfully stay again sometime real soon!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srm1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Recently spent 13 nights at the Waipouli Resort on Kauai. We booked directly on VRBO with the owners of unit G302. By doing so we were able to correspond directly via phone and e-mail with Yvonne (owner). I think there are probably four types of people who would stay at this resort: someone who doesn't care about a view, who wants to overlook the pool, who wants the cheapest room and someone who wants to be oceanside. If you are considering staying at the Waipouli Resort definately take a look at G302. You will not be looking at another building, just the beach and ocean. Because the resort was not busy we always found lounge chairs by the pool. With Safeway and Foodland across the street it was easy to cook up meals either in the condo or at one of the poolside bbq's. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and an easy drive to all parts of the Island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuckonthego57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing