We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely go back to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back to this hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Our family of four (two toddlers) stayed at the Waipouli resort for 8 nights and loved it. The rooms are the cleanest and most up-to-date I've seen: granite countertops, stainless-steel appliances, soaking tubs in the bathrooms, comfy beds, and flat-screen TVs in each room. The pool's 2 water slides were a highlight for the kids, and the sandy lagoon-style pool was fun for them when we didn't go to the beach. The beach in front of the hotel isn't safe for swimming but is nice for strolling. Waipouli is a great central location for exploring the island and there are lots of conveniences across from the hotel--Safeway, Long's Drugs, a beach store, Starbucks, ice cream, etc. Our first room was a partial mt view and looked over part of the parking lot and neighboring hotel, with some view of the ocean if we were on the balcony. We didn't mind this, but would have if we were on the first floor with no view of scenery--so ask for the fourth floor. Our second room was a partial ocean view and overlooked the koi pond, pool, and ocean--stunning. The front desk was accommodating and friendly, and the housekeeping was wonderful. Lovely grounds and a quiet place to vacation.

Lydgate park/beach is a very close drive and is ideal for little ones, and for beginner snorkelers.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdcrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    368
    96
    56
    29
See reviews for
703
472
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at the resort for a little over a week for our honeymoon. We actually rented a privately owned unit through Remax (unit A206). Remax was very helpful during the booking process. We made offers on several units and ended up renting the one whose owners were most flexible on price. Remax arranged everything, and the staff I dealt with were always pleasant and easy to deal with.

The room itself was fantastic. The appliances and furnishings were top of the line, and the room was spacious and very clean. Every window and lanai had ocean views, and the pictures we saw before booking are very accurate for this unit. My only complaint with the room itself is that it contained 3 Sony HDTV's, but no HD service, just standard cable. To spend so much money to make the unit top of the line, but then have that was a little underwhelming (I am was there during football season and am an NFL addict).

The biggest complaint though was that the roman tub we loved so much from the pictures could only fill about halfway before the hot water ran out. I called the Remax office and there wasn't anything they could do. The unit does not recieve central heated water, it has its own water heater. It just isn't big enough and takes about 20 minutes to refill. Why you would build an enormous roman tub in a unit that cannot fill it with hot water is beyond me.

The resort's location was perfect for us. It is north of the airport on the east side of the island. We rented a jeep and wanted to explore the whole island. It was great to be located centrally so we could travel pretty easily to Princeville, Poipu, etc. The resort is right across the street from a strip mall with a Safeway and a Starbucks. There are several restaurants and bars within a mile of the resort. It was great for us, but not for someone that really wants to feel secluded, you definitely know you are in the middle of town.

The grounds were spotless and the pool area was very clean and very nice. The hot tubs had sand bottoms and were large, and the pool was crystal clear with a sort of lazy river and a grotto under a waterfall. There were LOTS of kids though. And even though there was an adults only area that had signs just about every parent ignored it.

The restaurant/bar was also great. The food was fairly typical bar/grill but was good and very reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and it had live music at night and strong drinks, great place to unwind after a long day in the sun.

Overall we had a great time. Because it was a honeymoon we spent more time in the room than we normally would, and it was fantastic except for the tub issue. The resort was clean, nice, and fairly small compared to the resorts at Poipu. If you want nice surroundings and accomodations in a central location this is a great place. Also good for families with children. But if you want seclusion and 5-star pampering I would advise you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthwestRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

These condos are newer so cleanliness would not be an issue. (if you're concern about smelly rooms, mildew, etc.) Amazing condos! Top notch everything! Washer and dryer in every condo so don't need to pack too much. We had detergent and softener in our condo...not sure about the other ones. My kids (15 and 19 then) loved the lazy river pool and sand bottom jacuzzi. Especially after a long day away from "home". My husband and I enjoyed relaxing at the beach in the evenings instead. Not a swimmable beach but it is great for relaxing. Sometimes it would be just us on the beach which was great! This location is centrally located so traveling is convenient. The location isn't Princeville but it was still nice. You'll appreciate the grocery store directly across the street. What traffic? It was fine. Oh, by the way, we stayed in a condo closest to the elevator and we did not have any noise. We didn't even hear the people in the other rooms. It was so quiet. We had a hard time leaving Kauai, especially with the great experiences at this place. We can't wait to go back and would definitely stay here again!

Oh right! If you know people on the island, why not invite them for a BBQ/dinner. We did and it was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shullamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Outrigger Waipouli in Kapaa, Kauai appears to be a very new resort where they paid a lot of attention to detail in the rooms. I do not believe we saw anyone in the ocean at the resort's beach and it did seem a little rough, but the pool was a lot of fun and we all liked the sand-bottom hot tubs. The Tiki Hut restaurant on site made one of the best Mai Tais we found on Kauai and Maui (and we were looking for them!) and had really good food as well. I believe it was the Curry Chicken Wrap that was not to be missed. They also have a band playing there sometimes, I think they were called the K-Town Hereos, do not miss them while you are there. Very entertaining and talented guys (have cash on you so you can purchase their cds). The rooms are ideal if you are traveling with another couple. Two very large bedrooms with even larger bathrooms attached to each one. The walls most be pretty thick as well as sound does not travel much with the doors closed. There is a large living area between the two rooms - with a pretty big kitchen with high-end appliances and a sitting area and kitchenette table. There were sliders to two small balconies and one larger balcony as well. It was relaxing to open them up in the morning or evening while eating dinner and hear the waves just a few hundred feet away. The beds and pillows were wonderful. There was also free WiFi. Another great thing about this resort was all of the friendly workers - everyone had a smile on their face and was happy to see you (we did not have this same experience while in Maui). The location was great - across the street is a shopping center with a Safeway, Long's Drug Store, ABC Store, Starbucks, and other small shops.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loisgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

First let me say my husband and I had been to Kauai seven years ago with friends and stayed in a condo in Poipu, which we loved. My sister booked this trip and found the Outrigger Waipouli Beach that she was very excited to stay at.
The rooms themselves were beautiful - the kitchen was unbelievable - but the bed in one of the rooms had a less than comfortable mattress and the hideabed couch was just a normal, rather uncomfortable place to sleep. The resort has a rather elaborate pool with a pair of water slides - very attractive for families - and you could find a quieter corner away from the kids. We were not in an ocean view unit - ours was called garden view - but what struck us was the way the buildings seem to have been designed to face the pool/garden area. The best view we saw of the beach was from the bar that fills the opening between the pool and ocean.
I think we were spoiled by the beach at Poipu - you have to be aware that the beaches on the east side of the island are not nearly as good for swimming unless you go to one that has been developed for that purpose. While I think this was a very nice unit in a nice place, I think we would opt to stay down on the south end if we go back to Kauai again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarOakMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I was very excited when my family booked a 9 day vacation at this resort. The room was fantastic and with a car rental a great central location to explore the island from. The customer service on the other hand was horrible! The staff was generally rude and unaccommodating. We had booked our trip under a "3rd night free" promotion. When we booked the trip we hadn't selected the last night in our original reservation. The day before our trip my wife called and the hotel confirmed availability for our last free night, however, once we arrived they claimed they were full that night? In fact, they had hotel rooms available but were going to charge us to move to that room for the last night. I was really surprised at the poor customer service at this resort, especially since other reviews mentioned comped rooms. Our flight back to Seattle that last day was at 10pm and we had an infant but after several attempts to negotiate our free room they were still unaccommodating. We decided to leave and booked a room in Poipu beach which turned out to be a much better location!

So if you want a nice condo resort with horrible customer service this place is for you. I on the other hand appreciate customer service above all else so I strongly recommend booking a hotel in Poipu beach - it's well worth it.

- Adam

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoothski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My fiancee and i stayed here from sep 25th until oct 1st and we wish we never had to leave!!! We had a partial ocean room (H405) and enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony every morning. The location of this resort allowed us to explore the entire island relativity easily. Your basically are inbetween the north and south shores allowing you to go in either direction to explore the island of Kauai. The hotel itself was just perfect for us and how we like to travel. The kitchen was very large and well stocked with all the pots, pans, plates, glasses and silverware you could need. The appliances were very nice and easy to operate. We made dinner a couple nights along with breakfast and packed lunches every day. It was very nice to not have to eat out every single meal and have some nice meals in a beautiful setting your room! The only complaint i have about the resort and room would be that the shower was kinda small and cramped (im 5'9" and she is 4'11") so its not like were big people. But the large tub was very nice and the bathroom all in all was great. Its kinda deceiving that they call it a 1 bed 2 bath unit its more like a 1 bed 1 1/2 bath as there is only the one shower but two toilets. All in all it wasn't something to deter us from coming back. And in fact when we get back to kauai we will definitely be coming back to this resort! Oh and if you're a coffee drinker they only give you one bag as complimentary then you have to either buy them from the concierge or get your own from Safeway. We also found Safeway to have very good prices (we're from California) and we didn't really notice drastic price hikes like we did in Maui 2 years ago. Oh and on our last day on the island we saw a monk seal on the beach right outside the resort which was pretty cool! One last thing that this resort offers is a free hospitality room for guests that have to check out but don't leave the island until later that day which we used so we got to go out and enjoy our last day on the island and then shower before dinner and our flight home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cflatt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing