We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Amazing views!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
winnipeg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location! Amazing views!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom condo for 11 days- with one other couple. When we arrived we couldn't believe how gorgeous the condo was, spacious and clean and three balconies! Paid for a partial view and it was better than expected!

We got married right on the waipouli beach, it was lovely!
Only drawback is that their beach although beautiful isn't that suitable for swimming- however there are many on the island- close too!

The pool, lazy river, gratto, and three hot tubs were awesome and always clean! So we didn't mind not swimming off our beach. We brought large thermoset for pool drinks and were set- but there is a bar/ restaurant on site. The food there is beyond expectations! Excellent, but alcohol is very pricey! We bought alcohol across the street at the 24 hour Safeway and saved our money for dinners out, as we tried to cook breakfast and lunch in the condo for the most part.

If going out is your thing the town of kapaa where waipouli is is within walking distance and has all sorts of neat stores and cool restaurants, however we learned within the first day if you plan on exploring the island or have excursions you have to get to, you NEED a car or you'll spend hundreds and hundreds on cabs (not cheap).

Island car rental had cheap rates and did airport pick up and drop off, cars aren't new by any means but request AC and you'll be fine!

The resort bar had a band twice a week and sitting out on the balcony and listening and having drinks was a favourite pass time. They also have three or so large bbq s by the pool for guests to use- we did one night and it was great!

I would recommend this place to everyone and anyone- not a party place if that's what your looking for, great for chill couples and families:)


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top of the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    362
    95
    55
    28
See reviews for
690
464
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snyder, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Don't get me wrong the place is nice, location is good, but so far our experience hasn't been the best. We get to our room, H301 and as we are looking around and getting settled there is this annoying buzzing throughout the place that we can't seem to locate. We call, they send a maintenance guy, he says is it the same noise in the hallway, yes it is. He can't do anything about it we will have to wait 2 days until someone else can come check the roof a/c. Monday we ask about it and are told nothing can be done about it. Really? I walked the other buildings and I don't hear that noise. It's so annoying I can hardly hear the ocean even though I paid for an ocean room. I wore earplugs at night and could still hear it. The beds are way too soft and all you get at Outrigger is feather pillows, not good if you're allergic. Also the set up is like a hotel with indoor corridors and loud banging doors all the time rather than like a condo. The Outrigger Fairway Villas on the big island were quiet, with outside entry ands not shared walls on both sides, like I picture a condo should be. I'm so unhappy with this annoying buzz I would like to give the place 1 star, but it is nice, and close to grocery stores and shopping and restaurants. Without this horrible noise I would give it 4 stars.

Room Tip: Stay out of H building until the buzzing stops
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review. The buzzing noise in building H has since been corrected. The owners Association who handles the public areas did get the appropriate parts flown in and it is fixed. I am sorry, you were not informed that we have hypo-allergenic pillows upon request at the reception desk. We hope to see you again on Beautiful Kauai!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Unit E105 was beautiful and clean. Being a vacation rental owner ourselves, we really appreciated small details like books and games to entertain our children. Parking was easy and having grocery stores across the street was convenient.

However, it is 11 pm on my birthday, Father's Day, and our anniversary, and I am ticked off because of our pool experiences. The 1st day, we waited 25 minutes to get towels. The second, he would not give us an (yes, singular) extra towel or allow our children's "aunties"to enter. There is a maximum of 6 guests per unit, but we were a family of 5, with children who are 6,4, and 2. So he and I both left messages for Candace from Kauai Calls and when she called me back, she was very nice and apologetic. Obviously the problem was not solved. Apparently, in the 2 hours I spent frustrated, I found out I was not the only person who found it difficult to get a towel.

I am upset because we saved and made sacrifices (as I am sure many of you have) to afford this property. Then to have stupid policies and stingy attendants at a "five" star resort keep you waiting and haggle over a towel is ridiculous. Unfortunately, we have 2 nights left so we're trying to make the best of it.

I

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentford, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family of four stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute of it! We got a 2 bedroom suite, which was totally worth the money and gave the kids their own room, allowing the adults to be able to stay up later. G201 is a great suite with a full kitchen, living and dining room and 2 patios with outdoor dining and lounge furniture. The pool area is one of the best on the island, with 2 slides for the kids and a lazy river layout, plus several spas. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we had no issues with checking in or during our stay. It's a great central location for visiting both the northern and southern parts of the island. We loved our stay and would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top on the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Used VBRO to rent D303. Was a great value. This was a perfect location to be able to go north or south to visit Kauai. The two master suites were very convenient for our party. The modern appliciances were a plus. Greg was a perfect host with tips about the island. Can see the "Sleep Giant' from the living room. Minutes from the airport. Will stay again when we come back to Kauai.

Room Tip: Use VBRO to get the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a great place to stay when on Kauai, enabling you to go both N and S. While you can rent through the Outrigger hotel chain, which manages about 100 of the 190 villas, we rented through VRBO. By doing so we knew exactly the location of the unit we would get. (D 312). In addition, you can compare prices and perhaps get a better deal. By doing this we were instructed that the onsite front desk staff would not help us, but we didn't have any issues while there and had a local contact number to call in case we needed anything. It all worked out fine.

Our unit had a nice view of the pool with the ocean in the back. All of the units have high end appliances, Wolf subzero refrigerator, induction cooktops, and washer and dryers. The bathrooms are well done, and our one bedroom had separate toilets, which was handy and allowed privacy. The unit was well done. I read some comments about the keyless entry, but it works fine, and accessing the pool is not a problem either. We liked the system.

There is a Safeway and Foodliner across the street and many restaurants closely. If you have a Costco card go there from the airport to stock up and save some $. There is also a Walmart close to the airport.

The location allows you to go north to the Princeville area one day and south to Poipu the next, depending on the weather. Surprisingly it can be very different N and S. We had previously stayed in Poipu and found the trip up north to be quite a bit of drive time. But, there are many good choices to stay all over the island; we just found this to be a convenient location. We would stay here again. Once again, I'd use VRBO or another site to get a specific unit, rather than ending up with a parking lot view.

Room Tip: Pick your unit to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcharlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view condo. The view is everything you could want. The condos are spacious and after the day at the beach the pool was perfect for the whole family. We wanted to see both the north and south shore and this was perfectly in the middle of both so the drive was never too long.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacycda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top on the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing