We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G201 Amazing room and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Kentford, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“G201 Amazing room and view”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family of four stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute of it! We got a 2 bedroom suite, which was totally worth the money and gave the kids their own room, allowing the adults to be able to stay up later. G201 is a great suite with a full kitchen, living and dining room and 2 patios with outdoor dining and lounge furniture. The pool area is one of the best on the island, with 2 slides for the kids and a lazy river layout, plus several spas. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we had no issues with checking in or during our stay. It's a great central location for visiting both the northern and southern parts of the island. We loved our stay and would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top on the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    364
    96
    56
    28
See reviews for
696
469
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Used VBRO to rent D303. Was a great value. This was a perfect location to be able to go north or south to visit Kauai. The two master suites were very convenient for our party. The modern appliciances were a plus. Greg was a perfect host with tips about the island. Can see the "Sleep Giant' from the living room. Minutes from the airport. Will stay again when we come back to Kauai.

Room Tip: Use VBRO to get the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a great place to stay when on Kauai, enabling you to go both N and S. While you can rent through the Outrigger hotel chain, which manages about 100 of the 190 villas, we rented through VRBO. By doing so we knew exactly the location of the unit we would get. (D 312). In addition, you can compare prices and perhaps get a better deal. By doing this we were instructed that the onsite front desk staff would not help us, but we didn't have any issues while there and had a local contact number to call in case we needed anything. It all worked out fine.

Our unit had a nice view of the pool with the ocean in the back. All of the units have high end appliances, Wolf subzero refrigerator, induction cooktops, and washer and dryers. The bathrooms are well done, and our one bedroom had separate toilets, which was handy and allowed privacy. The unit was well done. I read some comments about the keyless entry, but it works fine, and accessing the pool is not a problem either. We liked the system.

There is a Safeway and Foodliner across the street and many restaurants closely. If you have a Costco card go there from the airport to stock up and save some $. There is also a Walmart close to the airport.

The location allows you to go north to the Princeville area one day and south to Poipu the next, depending on the weather. Surprisingly it can be very different N and S. We had previously stayed in Poipu and found the trip up north to be quite a bit of drive time. But, there are many good choices to stay all over the island; we just found this to be a convenient location. We would stay here again. Once again, I'd use VRBO or another site to get a specific unit, rather than ending up with a parking lot view.

Room Tip: Pick your unit to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcharlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view condo. The view is everything you could want. The condos are spacious and after the day at the beach the pool was perfect for the whole family. We wanted to see both the north and south shore and this was perfectly in the middle of both so the drive was never too long.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacycda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top on the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great central location on the island. 10 minutes north of the airport. Great pool for the kids with 3 different hot tubs. We stayed in A107 with another family. Total of 8 of us (4 adults and 4 kids) was just fine for the huge condo. Part of the patio faces another condo complex under construction but it does have nice direct views of the ocean. Very quite on that end of the condo complex. Very close to parking area. Condo was very clean but it didn't have a dinner table to eat at so sit down dinners were difficult. Fantastic huge beds and bathrooms. We didn't need any services at the complex and the one food place was a bit expensive for what you got. There is no pool waiter service and they have a horrible towel service. You can only check out 6 pool towels per condo per day. The condo complex is very close to the bike path that leads directly north of the complex. We rented 2 mountain bikes at the Kauai Cycles (walking distance ) and biked everyday on the path north. You can ride a good 8 or so miles north on the trail before turning around and heading back to the hotel (with the wind so you fly).

The ocean beach directly in front of the hotel is not for swimming. You can wade in it but the reef makes it difficult to get out or do any swimming / snorkel. The kids loved the pool more. You have to drive north or south to other more popular beaches.

Don't miss eating at "The Green Pig" across from the Kealia Beach. LOVED IT... Best food on Kauai.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casadelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Aloha,

The staff & I are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Waipouli Beach resort in 2 different condos and both of them were amazing. All of them have differnt owners so the first condo we had access to boogie boards, coolers and beach toys, in the second condo we did not. So if thats important to you then you might want to confirm with the agent who rents them. I loved the top of the line furnishings and how clean and new everything was. There was plenty of room for my husband and I, my in laws and my 5 year old daughter. We each had our own room and bathroom! Do you know how nice it is not to have to share a bathroom!? The pool is beautiful, my daughter loved the slides and the kid friendly jacuzzi with sand bottom. But don't think this is just a 'family friendly' resort. It would be equally amazing for a romantic couples trip. There is a beautiful beach but the water is NOT kid friendly. The grocery stores are just across the street which is very convienent if you will be cooking most of your meals. I was truly impressed with how beautiful these condos were. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sincitymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and your review! Our staff is happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on beautiful Kauai and our amazing Resort! Please come back and visit us soon! Call us direct at 1-800-688-7444.

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have been traveling to Kauai for over 20 years, and were actually married there almost 15 years ago. We've stayed in most of the larger hotel chains on the island, as well as renting several great homes. We've stayed at the Waipouli Resort 4 times over the years, and while they have made some changes to pricing, housekeeping, etc. we do come back. Why?
1) convenience--right in the heart of Kapaa, across from the grocery store and a number of decent restaurants
2) kitchens are great---high end appliances and plenty of space to cook and prepare meals
3) laundry in room
4) pool--great particularly for kids/grandkids
5) new restaurant is fabulous!

We don't like the new policy of no housekeeping and you pay an outclean fee (in other words, wash your own towels, make your own beds, and throw out the trash yourself) and the new daily resort fee of $12 (not sure what you get for that), but if you look for specials, the daily price is still a decent deal. We have always ended up working directly with the resort rather than with the timeshare owners, as you don't have to pay for your stay until you check out and only a 1 night cancellation fee if less than 7 days, which is great.

We've stayed twice here with grandkids and they practically lived in the pool! There's a nice little sand bottom pool for the tiny ones, and slides for the older ones. We also like the BBQs around the pool area for cooking up some dogs/burgers for all the kids.

We do love staying in the North Shore but by staying in town/Kapaa it's more convenient to trips to the sunnier side of the island.

Room Tip: oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your Review. We are glad yourenjoyed your stay with us and agree that our location , beautiful full service condos and fabouls amenities are worth coming back for.
Hope to see you back soon! Give us a call at 1-800-688-7444!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing