We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Kauai Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kauai Experience!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We did quite a bit of research before we chose the Waipouli Beach Resort and our expectations were exceeded! First, we found that the Kapaa area is perfect for visitors who want to enjoy both the north and south sides of the island. The Waipouli Beach Resort has lovely grounds and is located right on a beautiful, but wild beach. (No swimming there, or on many beaches throughout the island. Consult the locals for the best swimming beaches.) There was also a very nice pool on the grounds which was especially enjoyed by families with younger children. Our condo (G406) was just perfect for the four of us. We were able to cook there and eat on the small patio overlooking the ocean. And finally, the resort is walking distance from boutique shopping, restaurants, grocery stores, bicycle rental and much more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha
The staff and I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to post this wonderful review of your recent visit to the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. We are very proud of the resort and when we read reviews like this we realize we are on the right track. We hope to see you and your family back with soon!
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    368
    96
    56
    29
See reviews for
703
472
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is my first review. We stayed here in August 2012 for 6 nights. (Definitely not long enough.) I traveled with my fiance, and two other couples.

We rented a 2 Bedroom condo at this resort from HomeAway.com from someone who owned the unit. (At this property you have the option to rent units from the hotel OR from someone who owns one!) I recommend looking into renting a privately owned unit. It is often cheaper and the decor is better because someone actually personally owns it and has decorated it for their taste instead of the hotel industry using ordinary/mundane hotel decor.

Location: The resort is oceanfront, but the ocean is not swim-able or suitable for snorkeling. There are calmer beaches within a 10-15 minute drive. There are many restaurants and 2 grocery stores right across the street. You can also walk about 10-15 minutes to a large outdoor marketplace with handmade trinkets and souvenirs.

I would suggest getting a rental car so you can see the entire island, especially the caves near Princeville (North) and hiking in Waimea Canyon. You will do a lot of driving when you are sightseeing around the island, but won't need the car to have dinner or get groceries when you are "home" at the resort.

The pool area is phenomenal. Complimentary pool towels can be checked out. There is a gentle lazy river with waterfall caves, three Jacuzzi areas and two water slides. There are BBQs and plenty of seating. The sun goes down rather early in Hawaii, so I would advise starting your BBQ dinner early as its hard to grill in the dark (we learned). The landscaping was impeccable.

The condo was beautiful... Gourmet kitchen, washer/dryer, two balconies, giant soaker tub, luxury bathroom. What more could you ask for? We did not travel with children. This resort seemed to be popular with families (probably because of the awesome pool) but the noise or children did not bother anyone in our group. Hopefully this review helps someone make their decision about this extraordinary resort.

Room Tip: I wouldn't spend extra money for an ocean-view room. The mountain-view is breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha
I wanted to thank you for taking the time out to post a review of the Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. It sounds like you had an excellent experience, and I along with all of those that work at the resort are thrilled when we read these reviews. I would like to take a moment point out one of the positive reasons to book with Outrigger Hotels & Resorts. If you do not like your view or wish to upgrade or change units within your category you can do this easily. This is not the case when you book directly from an individual owner.
Mahalo
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall the place was wonderful! The condo was excellent and very spacious. The unit had a great view of the ocean. We did not use the swimming pool much but it was very pretty. We did use the hot tub every night and it was great. The only draw back was it shut down at 10:00.

We booked through Kauai Exclusive Management and they were excellent! In particular, Josh was a big help n getting us a day room on our last day since we flew out so late. It was also a very nice room.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jdavidson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We loved our condo at the resort. The appliances were top of the line, the bedrooms were spacious and well appointed, and the view was fantastic. We stayed in unit 106 which may be one of the best units at the resort. It had 2 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms. We spent the majority of our time at the beach while we were at the resort, although much of our time was spent elsewhere on the beautiful island of Kauai. Our time on the beach was usually very private and provided nice views up and down the coastline. The only drawback is that swimming in the ocean is hazardous at best, but that is not unique to the resort. Follow the locals or buy a guidebook to find the best beaches for swimming.
I recommend this resort highly, but be aware it is at one of the busier locations on the island and probably the busiest intersection on the highway. Having spent 6 days at the Grand Hyatt in Poipu before moving up to Kapaa, it was quite a bit busier on the east side of the island vs the south, but a much better value at Waipouli Beach Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemistdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Perfect Location to travel around the Island. This is the second time we have stayed at this resort. They pool is picture perfect exactly as shown. Not many rooms with double beds in the second bedroom so those seem to go quick since most large family's need more than two King beds in a two bedroom. Condos are well equipped with high end stainless steel appliances, Granite counters and rich wood Cabinets. Somewhat sound proofed so even though we where right off the main entrance there where no noise issues. Unless someone is on the Balcony being loud. Location across from strip mall is very convenient Publix, Starbucks, Subway. Upper end resort with beautiful grounds, make this a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and up give you a better view, 1st floor have a walk way in front of them if facing the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DM_Realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha
I want to thank you for taking the time out to post a review regarding your recent visit to the Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. The staff and I enjoy the feedback and we are especailly excited when our guests appreciate the detail expressed in both the units and the grounds!
Mahalo
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well those that have read my review of the Lae Nani will have some idea of what this place is being compared to.

So we don't know the cost of our stay, as the Outrigger Company graciously shifted us up the road due to our dissatisfaction with Lae Nani. We initially approached a gentleman that was running the front desk (late afternoon) that was uninterested in helping, but suggested that we see someone in the morning. She was great and shuffled some room allocations to make room for us in an otherwise booked out week.

It seems that this is a group of condos that are a mixture of self owned and some managed by Outrigger. It's not a resort in the usual sense of the term, but it is a good choice in the area. So bank the ideas of daily room cleaning, room service dining, being able to parcel all your costs into the room bill.

This place was great for many reasons.
1. Awesome pool for the kids. Beach area with sand, two great watersides. We were not allowed to finish a day without a pool visit - it was 5pm and raining and my 3 year old daughter insisted on pool and water slide time before discussing showers and dinner.
2. Big units (at least ours was - D107?) with a kitchen that was a real pleasure to use. There is a Safeway across the road, so self catering is a breeze. Whilst on that point, the lack of hotel bars at the pool etc meant that most guests brought their own alcohol/beer etc - a good point when trying to shave unnecessary costs, or you just like something particular.
3. There is a bar/restaurant between the pool and beach. Whilst it is not linked to the hotel/rooms, it is essentially within the resort grounds and easy to manage a dinner/lunch there. You can't put the bill on your room tab, so take your credit card with you. They managed well with our kids.
4. Close to multiple restaurants if you wanted to eat out. We particularly enjoyed Monico's Taqueria and Cakes by Kristin, but it was a short drive there.
5. The beach area has a few large BBQs that everyone used.

Although it was not particularly close to anything, it was right in the middle between the north and south coast attractions (roughly an hour drive to either). Surfing on the east of Kauai is sketchy at best.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms actually look over the car park and Safeway across the road. Unsure how much ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha
Thank you for taking time out to post this review about your recent visit to Kauai / the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. I am thrilled the team was able to extend the necessary hospitality to ensure your vacation was a memorable one! One of the positive things when booking with Outrigger Hotels 7 Resorts is our ability to accommodate our guests, especailly if they would perfer to investigate other view categories. Unlike most of the smaller companies doing business at this resort and others we are usually able to move our guests to ensure satisfaction. We hope to see you back with us again real soon!
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A group of us stayed here the week before Memorial Day and everyone loved this place, and some probably had too much love for the pool and hot tubs. We rented 2 units C103 & D405(?) and the layout was pretty much identical with spacious rooms and a fully equipped kitchen. This room was located facing the parking lot, but there were trees planted right in front so privacy was not a problem. Noises was not a problem in this room and parking was also not a problem. It didn't matter which hour of the day we could find a parking spot in the designated lot. There were many good food places in Kapa'a and here's a few that should not be missed: shave ice at Ono Ono Shave Ice, wraps at Mermaids Cafe, lunch special at L&L and fish tacos at Paco's Taco.

Candace from Kauai Calls was very helpful with booking and gave us a great rate. We forgot our scuba certification cards in the room and she checked and checked with housekeeping and even though the cards were not found I still thank her for her efforts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing