We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love Waipouli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We love Waipouli”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here in 2007, 2008, 2009 and now we just booked 8 days for 2013! We love this place. Our kids were 3 and 1 when we first went and it was fabulous! It just keeps getting better with age. When they were little, we could splash all day in the incredible pool! My youngest learned to swim in that pool, as a matter of fact! We have so many great memories of the beach, pool, restaurant, the condo, and exploring all of Kauai. I can't wait for September to come! We've missed it, something awful!

Room Tip: shop around on VRBO.com. Ask the owner for a competitive rate. I just did that, and he dropped the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    363
    96
    56
    28
See reviews for
696
469
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in E204 from May 17 to May 30, 2013. Overall the condo and the grounds are very nice. We loved the kitchen - very well equiped and having a washer/dryer is such a bonus on a longer vacation. My only cons to the stay were the following: 1) on one night our a/c went out and due to the time it broke (about 6PM on a sunday evening) we could not get it fixed and had to sleep without a/c for one night. We made due and the complex got it fixed the next day but it would have been nice if they had someone avaiable to fix it that evening. The other item was the bed. It was kind of bad in terms of the mattress - it had a large stain on it an the support level of the mattress was kind of compromised ( could just be me becuase i like a firm bed and this was extremely soft to me). However, these were two smaller items and I would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicMan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kauai is truly Paradise Found, with many waterfalls, the Grand Canyon of the Pacific (Waimea Canyon), the amazing Na Pali Coast, and lots of beautiful beaches.

The Outrigger Waipouli Beach is fitting of such a beautiful island.
We had a 2 bedroom, 3 bath Condo (H204) that was amazing!
The bedrooms were huge and the bathrooms even bigger ! We had 2 balconies that overlooked the wonderful pool and the ocean.

The kitchen was a cook's dream equipped with high end appliances and the bathrooms were fitted with whirpool tubs and huge vanities.

The pool was terrific with slides, hot tubs, waterfalls and a great twisting shape.

Across the street from the hotel was a supermarket and several eating places if you did not want to cook. There were also several barbeques one could use.

The bar/restaurant by the pool was not connected to the hotel so one could not charge the purchases to the room. It was a bit pricey and not that great. The staff, though, was super friendly and the place had you sitting just off the beach.

Room Tip: Building H room 204. Nice view close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for a whole week in late April and loved it! When we first arrived, I was anxious about spending seven nights in a quiet location, but was perfect for my husband's stress levels. D210 is a ~800 sq ft. one-bedroom partial ocean view, located in the main building of the resort; overlooks the pond, waterway, with the ocean in the distance. It was wonderfully quiet (except overhearing staff in the hallways), decor lovely, although the sofa cushions need re-stuffing...
The resort is a perfect location for multi-generational family gatherings; you can cook-in, with the subZero Fridge, Wolf Stove, and Paykel dishwasher, granite countertops, the kitchen is functional and easy to use; barbeques are available near the poolhouse, and washer and dryer easy to use (but you have to bring your own HE detergent) so you can keep your packing light!
Bed was really comfortable, bathroom very spacious and well laid-out; two balconies, ceiling fan and A/C (one of the few condos on Kauai that offers it). We were very glad for the A/C as the tradewinds left, and weather was hot and still.
It takes at least an hour to head to either Poipu or Wailea, which means that dinners usually are in Kapa'a area. There are a few good restaurants near by (Casa Verde, Kauai Pasta, Pizza place next door) and the Safeway & Longs across the street have all the basics; 9th Island Grill is a fun sports bar; on site restaurant, Oasis on the Beach offers pan-pacific cuisine with great service, and some of the BEST ever mai tais (with house-made macadamia/ginger infused orgeat syrup!)... Pool area works for all ages; adults only hot tub, and family hot tub, walking waterway with waterfall nice way to spend the day.
The only confusing point is check-in; more than once, I overheard guests asking if this really was the Outrigger Waipouli; otherwise, it's all easy and relaxed and a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dappledsunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kapaa location is very central rather than being on the far north or south. This hotel is wonderful. Have traveled a great deal, and the rooms are high-end condominium style. Two huge master suites. The staff was very helpful when we needed them, and we would definitely stay here again. The on-site restaurant was just so-so for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 wonderful days in our penthouse 2 bedroom condo at this resort located on the beach. There is a very good restaurant on the property called Oasis by the sea. We ate 2 meals here and were very pleased with both. The property has a fitness center and a spa, both were very nice amenities for our stay. Our unit was appointed comfortably and included a full kitchen with top quality appliances. The washer and dryer was a big plus also, was nice going home with clean clothes. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the balcony overlooking the pool and Pacific ocean. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mratcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed five days in D312 in May 2013. There were two adults and a toddler.

The booking, arrival and departure were handled through a service and not the resort - it all happened without an issues. They actually did a great job of providing us with a futon for my son – waiting for us when we arrived.

The resort is nice but a little worn. The rooms and corridors were very quiet. Maybe we were lucky, but we didn’t hear anything when inside our unit. The vacation experience is a timeshare and not a full service resort (but I don’t view that as a negative).

The unit is nice with an extremely well stocked kitchen and accessories for the beach (boogie board, chairs, etc). The only possible missing accessory is a cooler. The furniture is dated and the couch arms are worn (an update would be nice). The bed is a new TempurPedic and it's fantastic.

The resort is located across the street from a Safeway shopping center. Kapaa is a central location for both north and south excursions.

The resort is on the beach. The beach is good for sand castles and wave watching, but not swimming.

The pool is very nice for families. There is a shallow gravel bottom pool for toddlers which entertained my son for hours. Also there are two water slides. The slides were fun for kids of all ages and also easy for an adult and toddler to share a ride.

We didn't try the restaurant or the concierge. The gym is good for a hotel – enough cardio, free weights and cable machines – it was also clean.

We would highly recommend Hukilua Lanai for dinner. We went for the special – Five Courses/Five Wines. It was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing